BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In Too Deep

Average Rating 3.5
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

In Too Deep

Thank you Kathryn Shay!!!!

posted by 10217578 on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This is TRASH!!!

As a former IAFF member, full time firefighter & a female I was really looking forward to reading this book. It is nothing but TRASH and only amplifies the stereotypes that I had to battle against my entire career. This is degrading to ALL firefighters as it depicts the...
As a former IAFF member, full time firefighter & a female I was really looking forward to reading this book. It is nothing but TRASH and only amplifies the stereotypes that I had to battle against my entire career. This is degrading to ALL firefighters as it depicts them as being focused on sex, each other and personal matters instead of the job they are trained to do. If I could rate this a ZERO, I would.

posted by 7906042 on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    This is TRASH!!!

    As a former IAFF member, full time firefighter & a female I was really looking forward to reading this book. It is nothing but TRASH and only amplifies the stereotypes that I had to battle against my entire career. This is degrading to ALL firefighters as it depicts them as being focused on sex, each other and personal matters instead of the job they are trained to do. If I could rate this a ZERO, I would.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    I stopped reading this book within the first chapter due to the

    I stopped reading this book within the first chapter due to the language. What a shame I was really looking forward to reading this series it looked good.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Thanks for warning

    I do not like bad language it's a sign of ignorance. Where is the romance in that, all I have to do is go outside for that. I want my fantasy to be clean. Deleting without reading

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Did not Like

    I deleted it because of the language!

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Shallow

    Never any real knowledge of the day to day grind. Real fitefighters dont strip when trapped. Made great people shallow! Pass

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Silly premise

    Its a slap in the face to women firefighters. How unprofessional the two main characters are! Coild have treated the chaaracters wih dignity, but chose instead to make the woman a simpering dolt and the man a pig. Nice job. You've managed to offend a lot of people

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Horrible

    This book burnt more brain cells in one sitting than a lifetime of drugs could. This is why women have such a hard time in the fire service. I am thoroughly disgusted.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Don't bother

    ## This book was terrible. Language and sex don't bother me at all (to be honest, there was very little of both). However, I need chemistry between the hero and heroine which there wasn't. Neither one was very likeable and the writing style left a lot to be desired as did the ending. Don't waste your time!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Really?

    As a firefighter, terrible book. Unless you want a random sex scene, I can not tell you how horrible this book is.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    In Too Deep

    Thank you Kathryn Shay!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    I enjoyed this book!! Too many people are making comments about

    I enjoyed this book!! Too many people are making comments about the bad language and/or the realness of the characters compared to real life firefighters... hello people, this is a BOOK! It doesn't claim to be based upon true events. I've known plenty of firefighters to know that people are people, regardless of their career; and being attracted to someone else is what it is!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Great Read!!

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK I AM PLANNING ON PURCHASING THE OTHER BOOKS IN THIS SERIES.... IT WAS A VERY QUICK READ FOR ME I FINSIHED ITIN ABOUT 2 HOURS.... I RECOMMEND READING THIS BOOK!!!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great story.

    Great firefighter story, with a minor love story within. Well written. Kept your interest through the whole book. Somewhat addressed the problems of female firefighters too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Dont stop at just this one! The entire series "Americas Bravest" was wonderful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    good

    The story line was good and I did enjoy it but I don't know if I would spend the money to read the sequels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Others may like it

    but it just wasn't my kind of book. I don't believe that two people who were that dedicated to their careers would act this way, nor do I believe that a reporter would spend all her time blogging about the fire department. Better books out there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book. It was a mix pleasure of fantasy and reality and it related to the struggles we face daily in this time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    It was "okay." And I use "okay" because I've

    It was "okay." And I use "okay" because I've read the author's original America's Bravest firefighter series from 10 years ago, which was much, much better (in my opinion).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good story.

    The good story line but too short and I thought it could go on for a better plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good short read.

    I want to say where's the rest of it...needs to be longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11