Customer Reviews for

In Too Deep (Kincaid Brides Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

Book two picks up on the heals of book one. Ethan’s older brother Rafe is now married to Julia. Audra does not want to be a burden now that Julia is married and is thinking about heading back east to her uncaring father. Rafe will have none of that and come up with the ...
Book two picks up on the heals of book one. Ethan’s older brother Rafe is now married to Julia. Audra does not want to be a burden now that Julia is married and is thinking about heading back east to her uncaring father. Rafe will have none of that and come up with the idea that Ethan should marry her so she can be the house keeper at the Kincaid ranch that Ethan is now taking over. Before either of them have a chance to think they are wed. Heading back to the Kincaid ranch with crazy Seth in tow how will these two settle into married life. Will they find love after all?

Mary Connealy has done it again! She is one of my favorite authors and she does not disappoint in this new book.

What I liked: Everything! I really liked both Ethan and Audra in the first book maybe even more then Rafe and Julia. I could not wait to read their story. I love how the characters interact in this book. The humor had be laughing through out. I also love how Ethan and Audra start to care for each other and realize how much they need each other.

What I did not like: Really not much. The only part of the story I was not really into was the head bad guy. It really seemed like it did not fit with this story. I am guessing we will hear more from him in the 3rd book. I just did not feel his chapters added anything to the main plot of the story.

Over all I loved this book. I love how this author intertwines romance, comedy and suspense(bad guys) and creates characters you fall in love with. I could not put it down and wanted to cry when it was over. I can’t wait for book three which will finally tell Seth’s story and I can’t wait to meet Callie! August can’t come soon enough. This is a must read for all historical fiction lovers!

posted by weatherlover1 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

if you like a lot of drama this series is for you. too much focu

if you like a lot of drama this series is for you. too much focus on the caverns in this series. not a series I would read again.

posted by 17074154 on November 20, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Really great read. Was hard to put down once I started it. Can't wait for the other one to come out in Aug.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Better then the first one.......................................

    Better then the first one........................................................................................................................
    The second in the series and better then the first. For one thing Ethan and Audra are more likable people. They come across as more vulnerable and caring. Worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Audra is his sister-in-law, Julia’s, step-mother. Sure

    Audra is his sister-in-law, Julia’s, step-mother. Sure she’s about Julia’s age but still. the last thing Ethan expected was to marry her just to fix the problem with the living arrangements.
    But, maybe having a wife won’t be too bad. She can cook. She loves to clean. Ethan’s never seen her cry. No, this shouldn’t be too bad at all. As long as Ethan doesn’t have to feel anything, this relationship should be just about perfect.

    And then someone comes looking for his new wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Funny & Action Packed I always look forward to books by Mary

    Funny & Action Packed
    I always look forward to books by Mary Connealy because of the humor and great dialogue she inserts into all her novels. I have to say this one had the perfect title. I felt as if Ethan and Audra were almost like two inexperienced boaters tied to a canoe that was speeding down raging rapids. I think it was the first book I read where both main characters were forced into situations pretty much totally out of their control.


    Now that isn't to say they didn't make any decisions or were unlikeable. They were unique. I loved watching Audra and Ethan first plan to avoid and work around each other and then learn to love and rely on one another. It was a wonderful journey. The author didn't take it easy on them though. This is a story filled with tense action and danger as well as tender romantic moments. It's the kind of thing that keeps you from eating, sleeping, and doing anything but flipping pages.


    This one makes my favorites list. I want to thank Bethany House for providing my copy in exchange for my honest review. They did not influence my opinions or require that I provide a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the first book in this series, and enjoyed this one as wel

    Loved the first book in this series, and enjoyed this one as well. A winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brave Women and Honorable Cowboys This is the second book in th

    Brave Women and Honorable Cowboys

    This is the second book in this series and is a great compliment to book one.

    In 1866, Colorado Audra Gilliand agrees to marry Ethan Kincaid because she feels like she has become a burden to her newly married stepdaughter.

    Ethan has become attached to Audra's two small children and is so afraid he will not be able to protect her and the children. Plus he is confused about the feelings he has developed for Audra.

    Audra is not wanting to be dependent on anyone. She wants to be able to stand on her own to feet and not be treated like a fragile little china doll.

    The author picks Audra up out of the rubble of her past giving her faith in God to protect her and her children. In the character Ethan shows a yearning to be a father to Audra's children. As a family unit I believe Audra and Ethan will bring out the best in each other and the children showing that God has mad a blessed union.

    I highly recommend this book.

    I rated this book a 5 out of 5.

    Disclosure:
    I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publisher for review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Audra's father married her off to Wendell Gilliland in trade for

    Audra's father married her off to Wendell Gilliland in trade for money that he owed the man. Now that Audra's husband, an abusive man, a drunk, a gambler, and a thief to name a few attributes, is dead, she has to decide what she's going to do now. She owns two properties, one in Rawhide, CO and her ramshackle cabin where she lived basically alone with her step-daughter and two babies while Wendell spent most of his time in town running a General Store, at least he told her it was a General Store. She had never been into Rawhide, yet alone to the store, so she had no idea that the building was a place for Wendell to spend time and live his disgusting life. Audra also doesn't know that the reason they had to leave Houston so fast and Wendell had to change his name, was because he'd stolen a lot of money.

    The Kincaid's are her closest neighbors and the only people she knows, they helped with Wendell while he was sick and buried him for her. Maggie, her first child by Wendell has grown very close to Ethan Kincaid and when she goes into the cavern with Seth, Ethan's younger brother, Ethan unwillingly faces his fear of the cavern and saves her. It is after the scare of losing Maggie that she starts thinking that she needs to move back to her parents home, it's better than living alone with the children in a shack.

    The Kincaid brother's and Julia, her step-daughter, don't see that as an option. Audra's father is as abusive as Wendell was and Julia is afraid she would get 'sold' into another marriage, repeating the actions he'd already done once. Rafe, Ethan's older brother, comes up with the idea of Ethan and Audra getting married. This discussion finally ends with the two agreeing to the arrangement, not happy about it, but agreeing to it. The group travel into Rawhide and Audra becomes Mrs Ethan Kincaid.

    The action soon begins when two men hired by Jasper, the man Wendell stole the money from, come looking for him. They discover in Rawhide that Wendell is dead and his widow has remarried a Kincaid brother, and that Ethan is looking to hire some men. Mitch and Grove get hired on, and the first night they start a fire in the barn to distract Ethan in order to get to Audra. It doesn't work, Ethan has told her to go to the cellar, way to the back and bolt the door. When she is about to bolt the door she sees a man coming down the steps, thinking it's Ethan at first she calls out to him, she then realizes it isn't and manages to get the door closed and Grove is unable to break it down, he's failed.

    They all decide they need to find the money and send it back to Jasper so Audra will be left alone. Ethan and his brothers go scouting the next day to see if they can find any tracks of the man that started the fire, little do they realize they're being followed by two men and a gunfight is soon to begin. Rafe ends up with a flesh wound on his hand and the men get away. Plans are made that night to recheck the building in town and Ethan, Audra and Seth will go to the cabin and search around. Mitch and Grove follow them, knock Seth out and pushed him off the cliff, then attack Ethan and drag him into the cabin. Seeing Ethan and not knowing where Seth is, Audra pretends to know where Wendell hid the money so she can protect her husband and kids. Audra has never been in the cavern where she's about to lead these to villains, she only has the memory of what she's heard from the Kindcaids.

    Can she pull this off and get them to fall or shove them into the hole? Will Ethan be okay and where is Seth? Can they find the money that Wendell stole so it can be returned to it's rightful owner?

    In this book and in the first book, Out of Control, there are times I felt claustrophobic when reading about these caves. I had to remind myself it's just another 'pull you into the pages of the story' book. There are some emotional scenes in this book also, but I'm leaving that for you to find out the story behind Ethan and his fear. Another great read by Mary, another 'gotta have' book. There is one more coming in August, Over The Edge, guess I'll have to get that one too. I love a good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    In Too Deep - Don't Miss This One!!

    "In Too Deep" picks up where "Out of Control" left off. "In Too Deep" features Ethan Kincaid the second in the line of three Kincaid brothers. Ethan isn't too sure about himself. He feels he has been a coward most of his life. He doesn't have the confidence in himself like Rafe his older brother has. Actually, Ethan is sick of being bossed around by Rafe and now that he is running the Kincaid ranch he wants respect from Steele, the head ranch hand, the same respect that Steele gave Rafe when he was in control of the ranch. Ethan proposes marriage to Audra after listening to Rafe's suggestion that it would make sense to do so. Audra feels she should leave and go back to her parent's home even though she doesn't want to. After all, her Father had sold her to her first husband to pay off a gambling debt and her Mother didn't do anything to stop it. Now that her husband is dead she feels she has no choice but to leave. Even though Audra and Ethan aren't in love with each other they go along with Rafe's suggestion and marry. Audra has two little girls to look after and she really could use a good man to help her out. Ethan on the other hand could use a good woman to do his cooking, cleaning, and other household chores. Of course what would this story be like without the bad guys, the monster cavern, and younger brother, crazy Seth, having his nightmares and needing to be looked after? If you are looking for action, this is the book for you. It has everything. Humor, nail biting incidences, suspense, and romance. The author also provides the reader with a trust and faith in God to get the Kincaid's through the rough spots. The first book, "Out of Control" was good but I didn't bond with bossy Julia! "In Too Deep" is a book that you can't put down. I adored Audra. I had this book in my hands every spare moment and even got irritated when I wanted to read but had to clean house or fix a meal. Yes, life is pretty rough isn't it?! "Over the Edge" is the next book in this series and I can't wait! We will get to read about Seth, the youngest Kincaid brother. Is he really crazy? Guess we will have to wait to find out! I want to thank Bethany House Publishers for sending me a copy of "In Too Deep" to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In Too Deep by Mary Connealy Book 2 of The Kincaid Brides Ethan

    In Too Deep by Mary Connealy
    Book 2 of The Kincaid Brides
    Ethan Kincaid is the middle of three brothers. His older brother, Rafe, had stayed home to tend the ranch while Ethan went off on his adventure. Their younger brother, Seth, had went off to war. Seth always seemed to be a bit loco after a cave accident they had as children. Now all three brothers are reunited in Rawhide, Colorado Territory and as Rafe had recently married...Ethan now is in charge of the family ranch. If the foreman will ever respect him enough to follow his orders instead of saying what Rafe would do. Rafe being the bossy brother, he has now told Ethan that he will marry Audra. She is stepmother to Julia, Rafe's wife, but they are more like sisters. With two young daughters to care for, it is too dangerous for Audra to stay with Rafe and Julia as they live by all types of caves.

    After considering all her options, Audra decides marrying Ethan is her best choice. Her father had sold her into marriage to pay his gambling debt so she really has no desire to go back there and take a chance on being sold again. Ethan just smiles like an idiot all the time but Seth is pure loco...so it seems her only choice is to marry Ethan, which he agrees to. It don't take long before they are dealing with Seth's nightmares and the dangerous men trying to find something her first husband stole. Can this unlikely couple find their way to love while on this adventure?

    Mary writes such well rounded books. They have great humor in them but there is also danger, suspense, and of course romance. This book did not disappoint as it contained all of the above as well. I had not read the first book, Out of Control, but I would highly recommend reading it first if you enjoy series. I could tell there were many details that I was missing by not reading it first. The third book in the series, Over the Edge, will be released later this year.
    **Book received through Bethany House for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    When I see the author is Mary Connealy I grab the book is I can, she is an alsome author and I really love her work. This series "The Kincaid Brides" is no different.

    Audra is a young widow that was not sad at all of her dirty smelling husband's demise. She had a three year old little daugher and a four week old one. She was now living in the shack with her sister and her newly married husband Rafe. She had no where else to go but where they had build their home was near a mine with many channels. When her little girl went missing they tracked her into the mine where she had went with Seth the unstable minded brother of Rafe and Ethan. She was found and now Audra was ready to move away from her sister's house to keep her children safe. Ethan and Seth were going to go back to their old home place and Julia (her sister) and Rafe was really not sad to see all of them go as they were just newly weds.

    Audra was not going to go live in a house with two unmarried men so Rafe talked her and Ethan into getting married. The little girl already called him daddy so she was very happy.

    Audra's dead husband had been in too stelling money so she was so afraid they would come after her thinking she knew where he had it hid. She had no idea but will this keep her and the children safe?

    After such a rocky start in their married life, I believe that Ethan and Audra will finally fall in love with each other once they begin to trust the other. Both had grown up with an unstable past as Ethan, Seth and Rafe had, had to raise themselves as their mother just didn't care or she was sick as she sit with her head down all the time, so Rafe was the eldest and he did all he knew how to help his brothers. Audra had been traded to a man that her father own money too and before he had died she had two children. She felt as though she was not going to let any man ever boss her around anymore.

    Just a great series to read and enjoy. Thanks so much to Behtany House for sending me this book free and I chose to review it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In this book we meet some secondary characters from book 1. Audr

    In this book we meet some secondary characters from book 1. Audra and Ethan marry to the benefit of both of them. But are afraid to love and afraid they are cowards in life. The cave is brought back into the story and is just as "evil" as in the first book. Make sure you read the first book or this book will be a bit confusing.

    I enjoyed this book a lot more than the first book. The main characters, mainly Julia, irritated me in the previous book. So I was anxious to see if she was portrayed the same. She still irritates me, but since she is only a secondary character this time it wasn't as bad. The cave seems to be a huge focus and I would have preferred to read more about how their relationship was progressing. But I did enjoy the story and there are plenty of lead-ins to the third book that I'm looking forward to reading it.

    I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Excellent

    Excellent absolutly couldn't put it down. Can not wait for book three out in august. Already have it pre-ordered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A great continuation with the Kincaid Brothers!

    I couldn't wait to read this one when I found out Book 2 of the Kincaid Bride series was out by Mary Connealy, In Too Deep. This time the story picks up right where Book 1 left off. The Kincaid brothers have just narrowly escaped death after a tracker was sent to locate Wendell Gillilan who has stolen some money from Jasper Henry. Unfortunately Wendell died before revealing the whereabouts of what he stole and where he hid it, but the only clue was it's deep, too deep for anyone to find.

    Now that the tracker is in jail, Jasper Henry isn't about to give up. He's sent someone to find out where his money is and now he knows that Audra Gilliland is still alive with two children and believes she alone knows where it is. Only now she has gotten married to Ethan Kincaid to help protect her on his ranch and Ethan will soon discover that even though this was a marriage of convenience, he soon grows to love Audra and the children as his own and isn't about to let anything come between them.

    Audra isn't too sure that marriage was a grand idea but the prospect of keeping her two daughters safe was worth saying, "I Do!" for. However when an unexpected fire comes to the Kincaid ranch and leaves Ethan badly burned, the men come looking for Audra and the children. Will she find the strength she believes she is lacking to save her children and Ethan, or will the curse of her late husband consume her once and for all?

    I received In Too Deep compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and LOVED it! I missed hanging out with the Kincaid brothers and love how seamlessly Mary transitioned between both books so we feel like we picked up right where we left off. I applaud Audra's courage in the face of adversity and where she finds the strength to weather any storm that comes between her and the Kincaid family! She finds strength in God when she needs it the most! Well worthy of 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to see where the conclusion of this story will leave. Hurry back Kincaid family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Romantic Comedy-Adventure, Connealy Style!

    Non-Stop Romantic Comedy-Adventure! Mary Connealy does it again with heart-warming, non-stop romantic comedy adventure. As with all her books, In Too Deep is exciting, unpredictable, romantic and just plain fun. Ethan and Audra get their turn at being married, and they do it very well, thank you. Audra is sweet and meek, but she’s trying to turn over a new leaf and grow herself a backbone. She wants to believe she is brave and fierce and able to take care of herself and her kids, and she isn’t going to let any husband get the best of her again. But Ethan is protective and kind and … pretty clueless. He was emotionally scarred by the terrible accident he and his brothers were in as kids in the dangerous cave near their home. But by the end of the book, Ethan has grown and realized some things, not least of which is that it’s really nice having a pretty woman around, especially when she’s his wife. There are lots of madcap adventures, bad guys and unexpected moments in this book, just like all Mary’s books. And we get a glimpse of the third brother’s story, loco Seth, who might not be quite as loco as we thought. Although, then again, he’s pretty crazy. Anyway, I’m looking forward to reading about Seth in the third book of the series, and revisiting the wonderful, expanding Kincaid family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3