Customer Reviews for

In a Dark, Dark Room and Other Scary Stories (An I Can Read! Picture Book)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    I Can Have Nightmares! Are you kidding me? My child is a 6 ye

    I Can Have Nightmares! Are you kidding me? My child is a 6 year old avid reader and likes ghost stories. We purchased the book today as a reward for his behavior. The first 2 stories are short, and rather pointless. The third, The Green Ribbon, is a little longer. About 2 pages in, I could see where the story was going, but couldn't believe they would have someone's head fall off in a book listed as Level 2.

    They do.

    Needles to say, I spent the last hour trying to get my son to sleep and his bedroom light is still on. Spooky? I guess. Now I have been reminded to better proof the books I buy for my children and to never waste time of money on anything by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Too Scary

    My child is 5 years old and was read this book in his 100 Book Challenge at school from his teacher. He wet his bed 3 tiems that night from nightterrors and would NOT go into any dark portion of the house by himself. If he is in a dark part of the house he starts to cry hysterically and beg for a light to be turned on. I did not read this book myself, all I know is what I see my kid screaming in fear from. I dont recommend this book for 5 year olds, my son has never had a problem with the lights being out, he never had a problem with dead heads rolling across the floor. But now, I fear, I have to get my son some mental help because of this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Bedtime story- 5 and 7 yr olds

    Although my niece is 7 years old and already reads chapter books, she enjoys reading these stories to her 5 year old brother at bedtime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    I do not recommend this book to children that are not into scary

    I do not recommend this book to children that are not into scary stories. I bought this book for my 6 year old daughter and she loves it! Its a great book to buy if your child is into scary stories if not this book is not for you. It has short cute scary stories, it is also good for those kids who are ready to start reading short words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was great fun for me and my child

    When I was little, I read this book several times. As in the review above, I checked this out of the school library numerous times. These stories are great fun for the parent and the child. Who could for get "The Green Ribbon" or "The Night it Rained"? Now that my son is 6 we can read this same great book together! I would not recommend this book as a bedtime story for toddlers or skittish children, but if your child is like mine and enjoys to be scared just a little bit he/she will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    Favorite Childhood Book

    I can remember all thro Elementary school, I loved reading this book. Every friday the we would go to the libary and I would check this book out. I had read it so much, I had it memorized. My favorite story in it was 'The Red Ribbon' and to this day (I am now a Senior in high school) I still remember how it goes. It's funny how something as simple as a book from your Elementary school libary can mean so much to you when you get older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    If you remember reading this as a kid, it's even better to read it now.

    I loved this book as a kid. I was in the store with my sister and she picked it up and before you knew it we were each reading the stories. We had to buy this book so that we could read it to our kids. Her youngest is 3 and he does not enjoy the stories, a bit too scary. But the 8 year old loves it, they read it every night. This book has encouraged him to expand his reading, and that's what it's all about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What a thrill!

    This spooky collection continues to thrill my twins after the 100th read! They even love to reread it to there granny when she comes over to try and spook her! The anticipation of what lies behind, beneath, or in the shadows keeps the skin crawling and the pages turning!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic scary stories

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book when I was a child in the '80s and toted the book to many a slumber party. I was particularly pleased when my daughter asked me to buy her this book. She loves every single story in the book and she reads them over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    In A Dark, Dark Room

    Great book! My girls really enjoyed it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Not appropriate for younger children

    I purchased this book as a Halloween treat for my 6 year old son. After reading it, I was upset to find that it contains stories that are not appropriate for a child that young. I was surprised since this was a level 1 I Can Read Book. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    I Get Flashbacks...

    ... of my elementary school years.

    I'm glad I ran into this author on OnceUponAWin.com. Every now and then I remember a story I read/heard from back in the day, which turned out to be "The Green Ribbon". That was the only morbid story I can actually tolerate and laugh at, simultaneously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Enjoying a good "horror" story

    My seven year old enjoys books on the ''scary" side and this was perfect without being too much. I even remember some of the stories from my childhood in this collection.
    She enjoyed sharing these stories with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    nice stories

    children loved reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    too scary for younger children/toddlers

    My child is not allowed to watch scary movies let alone read any scary books. Watching the news on television is real-world scary enough. <BR/><BR/>She is 5 years old, will be 6 in 2 weeks. She had NIGHTMARES from this book about rolling heads and all this rubbish! This is inappropriate for the age level suggested for this book. Please refrain from allowing this book in schools as this is where it was read to her! I have already notified the school. Thank you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Ahh, I remember...

    When I look back on my elementary school years, I remember, quite vividly, these stories. Especially the green ribbon. I loved the twist at the end, and I loved the child-like repetitiveness of the whole book. It's like a nursery rhyme, only dark and spooky. I read the stories 3rd grade to fifth grade, loving each page....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Still think of this book.

    I loved this book when I was little. My favorite story was The Green Ribbon, I had it memorized and would tell it to my friends at slumber parties when we were trying to scare each other. This is a great book for upper elementary kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    NOT for this age group!

    This was read at my daughter's school. She couldn't sleep that night, asking about people's heads falling off and ghosts hiding under doors and such. She's five, and I figured it was just a book for older kids that had mistakenly made its way into her classroom. Now I'm reading that she's their target audience?! Not if I ever want her to sleep in her own room again...Save it for the older kids!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    okay true this book is written in the form of print for kids but these storys are classics that have been told and retold throughout the years.I cant remember the exzact names of all of the storys but one that comes to mind is the one titled ' the green ribon'. the story about alfred and jenny meeting as kids.Alfred always asking why do you where the green ribbon?.Jenny always responding I will tell you when the time is right.These storys are classics true it is wriitten in the form of a childrens book but the storys are classics. Alvin schwartz is the master of scary storys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    I remeber when I was like 5 yrs old, my oldest sister brought this book home and I was so scared of it I think I hid under a blanket while my cousin was running around the house with that book from my sister. Then later when I was like 11, my little brother checked out that same book and brought it home when I told him not to. when we got home, he asked me to go with him to our room so he could get something. I suspected that he would pull out the book so I didn't want to go. He did pull it out. I ran out screaming and crying and my dad got mad because of the screaming and running. Then I hid under a blanket while he looked through the book. I don't think we ever checked that book out again. Now I'm not scared but its still nice to look through the book whenever I'm at a bookstore. It seems like 'The Green Ribbon' is the most memorable story to eveyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3