Customer Reviews for

In a Dry Season (Inspector Alan Banks Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Great read -- highly recommend to all whodunit fans

    This was the first book I read from Peter Robinson's Det. Alan Banks' series and I enjoyed it so much I went back to the first Nook book I could find in the series and started reading them all from there. Robinson has a great writing style--the characters, particularly the recurring ones, seem real. This book is set in England (as are all of the series) and it goes back and forth from current times to WWII. It's not easy to figure out who did it until you're at the end of the book. I recently read it for the second time for my book club--it was enjoyed by all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging mystery

    Engaging mystery with depth of character. The WWII scenes are an interesting look into a time few still alive have experienced. Ending is predictable...but its still fun getting there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent mystery!

    What a cracking good mystery. Alan Banks is a fantastic character- multi layered and complex. Robinson's use of time and place in this novel is excellent. If you haven't read Peter Robinson before- don't hesitate to pick this one up. It is the 10th in the series, but easy to start with and you will immediately want to read all the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent British Mystery

    My first Inspector Banks book and I'm a fan. Even though I started in the middle of the series, it didn't matter. Banks is in hot water with his commanding officer, Riddle, so Riddle sends him on a non-sense case. His co-worker on the case is Annie Cabbot, also persona non-grata.

    It is the mid-90s. Thirteen year old Adam Kelley was playing in the dried up reservoir that was once the town of Hobbs End (it was flooded in the early 1950s to make the reservoir) when he fell off a roof into what was originally an outhouse. His arm sinks in the mud and when he pulls it out, he's holding the skeleton of a human hand. Banks and Cabbot are called to the scene.

    Robinson alternates between current events (the police procedures to find information about the victim and her associates) and a narrative of the times leading up to the murder, since murder it is.

    The story has a nice blend of the varying time frames and readers get a great sense of life in rural England during WW II. The current activity is interesting as the police find it difficult to get dated information. They must surmise, guess, etc.

    In a Dry Season held my interest from the first page and I read it as non-stop as I could in order to find out what happened. I'm not a big British mystery fan, but this may change my mind. It's a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    A book that keeps you guessing and then wanting more books by Peter Robinson!

    If you haven't met DCI Banks, you need to see the human side and and how he handles the a case that involves the death of a young woman, She is thought to have run away, but instead was killed and buried, then found decades after WW11. Her story is told from the viewpoint of friend. DCI Banks is called to help out in a small town police dept. The woman is found when a reservoir drys up and the small village in the valley is revealed....a town last active during the war. Peter Robinson brings this town to life as he weaves in the past and present through investigations of the people Banks must find still living. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    This book keeps you hopping between 2 time periods, and you real

    This book keeps you hopping between 2 time periods, and you really have to pay attention. I thought it was a great challenge and there
    were some surprises along the way! I recommend this book if you are a DCI Banks fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Very boring book, way too long

    One of the most boring detective novels I've ever read. With a lot of unnecessary details along the way, it's really hard to stay interested and care about the characters. Not much of a mistery either. The only reason why I kept reading was my respect for the people that went through hardships of World War II, otherwise I would just completely call this a waste of time. The author attempts to combine the crime fiction genre with serious literature, trying to create a 'great miltilayer story' with 'well-developed characters', but it just doesn't work. If you are looking for good detective novel with suspense and mistery, this book is not for you. And it is certainly not a good 'serious' novel either, it is simply not deep enough. The only decent thing I found about this novel is that it doesn't have much of what you would call totally ridiculous or stupid or stereotypical, but it simply is not an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Another Dull, Unpersuasive Robinson Yarn

    I found this book to be extremely dull. Other reviewers obviously disagree, I am also disappointed to see a blurb from M. Connelly whom I greatly admire. The 'mystery' plot was secondary to Banks's love and family life. Since his personal life generated no appeal for me (even though I have two sons about Brian's age), the novel hit dudsville really fast. The trite intercutting of differing character's voices also was ineffective. The mystery itself , taking place 40 years ago, just after the war, was moderately interesting, but the solution was rushed, sort of just tagged on. Obviously, the murderer should have been Vivian, but was that too 'obvious.' Easier to have a mild mannered Yank explode, rather than the paradigmatic British spinster-crime-novelist. A murder in the present would have been appropriate--kept waiting for it. A few of the characters held my interest: Gloria, Vivian (Gwen)and, in his brief appearance, the boy who found the skeleton. I didn't respond to Banks (dull,self-indulgent, rather dense), Annie (the new woman is okay, but she needs to be put back in her box), bouncy Jenny, and all minor characters. I guess Robinson was attempting to write a psychological suspense novel, ala Ruth Rendell. He chose a poor model. I have read over 500 crime/mystery/suspense novels and only a very few have pulled it off: Thomas Cook's Breakheart Hill and Mortal Memory; Andrew Taylor's Four Last Things ( the best suspense novel I have read); River of Darkness, great on many levels. Finally, I should mention Void Moon (very underrated). I have read four novels by Robinson and could only finish two: Innocent Graves and this one. Graves has some interesting characters and a fairly good plot. Banks is dull as usual and unrealistic as a 'coppper.' There are many good to average mysteries out there: do youself a favor and find one, not written by Robinson. He is truly mediocre.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1