Customer Reviews for

In a Fix (Ciel Halligan Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I will start by telling you, this is not a YA book, it is an adu

I will start by telling you, this is not a YA book, it is an adult series. It is an action/thriller with fantasy elements to it and it was fantastic!! This book had a great storyline, plenty of action, and takes you on quite the adventure. I thought it was a creative an...
I will start by telling you, this is not a YA book, it is an adult series. It is an action/thriller with fantasy elements to it and it was fantastic!! This book had a great storyline, plenty of action, and takes you on quite the adventure. I thought it was a creative and fun story and had to know what would happen in the end. Most of the characters were really awesome and I love getting to know them.

Ciel has her own business helping people solve their problems by adopting their aura's and standing in for them. It's good money (when she get's paid) and she likes doing things on her own and not having to answer to anyone else. She does rent her brother's condo and rent office space from him, but it's her own business and she likes it. She was likable for the most part, but there were times when I was really annoyed at how stupid she could really be and the bad decisions that she makes. She's ballsy for sure and has some pretty bad a** moments, but I just could help but be irritated at her more than liking her most of the time.

I really did like the secondary characters a lot, and I am hoping that we get a lot more of Billy and Mark in the next book. Heck, I could do with a little more Trey too. Mark is a bit on the intense side, but I get why he is. I really want to know more about him. Then Billy who seems like the ladies man, player...I think that that is mostly a front, either that or he is willing to leave all of that for Ciel. He is most definitely swoon worthy.

The story is very fast paced and full of action. I mean we start off with the bungalow getting blown to shreds and Trey being kidnapped. It just gets better and more dangerous from there. Ciel is in way over her head. Good thing that Billy and Mark were keeping tabs on her because really, she needs them whether she wants to admit it or not. This is way bigger that she ever could have imagined. They now need to track down the vikings who kidnapped Trey, but Billy and Mark want Ciel to stay out of it so they can take care of it. Um, yeah right!! Well, they all seem to take on all sorts of different aura's and at first I was a bit confused by it, but easily was able to keep track and tell who was who after. They travel all over the place, face a lot of dangerous situations, and uncover secrets about what is really going on.

I thought that this was a great book with an awesome plot and enjoyable characters. Yes, there is a bit of a love triangle, but only slightly and it's done well, so it didn't make me roll my eyes. (Though I did want to smack Ciel a few times) I only wish that Ciel had had a little more character growth. It seems to me that after going through all of that she might act a little differently, but she still seems to be a bit reckless and not thinking about the bigger things. She only thinks about things directly affecting her and not everything as a whole. I hope that she matures a bit in that aspect in the next book. Overall though I really enjoyed this and thought it was great!

posted by Amabe421 on September 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Some good ideas, but I never connected with it.

This book and I never quite connected. The premise was intriguing. The main character, Ciel, and her buddies are "adapters," people who take on other people's auras and thereby imitate their shapes, voices, and appearances. Let's start with what I liked about the book. ...
This book and I never quite connected. The premise was intriguing. The main character, Ciel, and her buddies are "adapters," people who take on other people's auras and thereby imitate their shapes, voices, and appearances. Let's start with what I liked about the book. I liked Mark, a man Ciel has had a crush on for most of her life. I found her feelings for him and her hesitance to act on those feelings to be believable. I appreciated that her attraction to him was more than just physical and was based on a lifetime of encounters. It was easy to become invested in their relationship, and I rooted for them to get together. I also liked Ciel's reactions to taking on new auras. While using an aura, her body took on characteristics of the person she was copying. For example, as Mina, Ciel was prone to crying because Mina is a crier. As "Boner Benjamin," Ciel was horny for no good reason. That was a fun and interesting side effect of adapting. Sadly, I had trouble connecting with Ciel outside of her relationship with Mark. I suspect this was partially because she wasn't herself enough; she was too busy playing other people. Her internal monologue remained intact when she took on other auras, but without actions connected to that dialog--actions that were true to Ciel as opposed to the person she was playing at the time--I never bonded with Ciel. I also had trouble with the fact that, although the issues presented in this book were serious, Ciel didn't take them seriously enough. Multiple times, she was held captive and her life was at risk. Her associates were also held captive from time to time, as well. These should have been intense situations. Ciel should have taken these situations seriously. But it didn't work out that way. The book was just too light-hearted for its content. Ciel kept her good humor too well, and she rushed into things without thinking. I never felt the suspense or urgency that these situations should have created. Also, the theme of being held captive was a bit overused, in my opinion. It was like events kept repeating themselves. I wanted to see new scenarios from one chapter to the next, but I didn't get that. It was like an ongoing game of catch and release. For those who want a light-hearted read with a unique premise, I might recommend this book. But it simply wasn't for me. I stopped reading at 50%.

posted by Brewsters_Bookshelf on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I will start by telling you, this is not a YA book, it is an adu

    I will start by telling you, this is not a YA book, it is an adult series. It is an action/thriller with fantasy elements to it and it was fantastic!! This book had a great storyline, plenty of action, and takes you on quite the adventure. I thought it was a creative and fun story and had to know what would happen in the end. Most of the characters were really awesome and I love getting to know them.

    Ciel has her own business helping people solve their problems by adopting their aura's and standing in for them. It's good money (when she get's paid) and she likes doing things on her own and not having to answer to anyone else. She does rent her brother's condo and rent office space from him, but it's her own business and she likes it. She was likable for the most part, but there were times when I was really annoyed at how stupid she could really be and the bad decisions that she makes. She's ballsy for sure and has some pretty bad a** moments, but I just could help but be irritated at her more than liking her most of the time.

    I really did like the secondary characters a lot, and I am hoping that we get a lot more of Billy and Mark in the next book. Heck, I could do with a little more Trey too. Mark is a bit on the intense side, but I get why he is. I really want to know more about him. Then Billy who seems like the ladies man, player...I think that that is mostly a front, either that or he is willing to leave all of that for Ciel. He is most definitely swoon worthy.

    The story is very fast paced and full of action. I mean we start off with the bungalow getting blown to shreds and Trey being kidnapped. It just gets better and more dangerous from there. Ciel is in way over her head. Good thing that Billy and Mark were keeping tabs on her because really, she needs them whether she wants to admit it or not. This is way bigger that she ever could have imagined. They now need to track down the vikings who kidnapped Trey, but Billy and Mark want Ciel to stay out of it so they can take care of it. Um, yeah right!! Well, they all seem to take on all sorts of different aura's and at first I was a bit confused by it, but easily was able to keep track and tell who was who after. They travel all over the place, face a lot of dangerous situations, and uncover secrets about what is really going on.

    I thought that this was a great book with an awesome plot and enjoyable characters. Yes, there is a bit of a love triangle, but only slightly and it's done well, so it didn't make me roll my eyes. (Though I did want to smack Ciel a few times) I only wish that Ciel had had a little more character growth. It seems to me that after going through all of that she might act a little differently, but she still seems to be a bit reckless and not thinking about the bigger things. She only thinks about things directly affecting her and not everything as a whole. I hope that she matures a bit in that aspect in the next book. Overall though I really enjoyed this and thought it was great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A very fun and sexy romp!

    This book was SO MUCH FUN. I expected a kickass character-I mean, just look at that cover-with the viking helmet and the redhead standing over it? You know you're going to get something hard core. But what I wasn't expecting were the hard core laughs. This book, about Ciel, an aura adapter with a serious need to prove herself to the overprotective men in her life, is funny, witty and sexy, with not one, but two (maybe even three) hot guys that vie for her attention. But what I especially loved about Ciel was that she wasn't a bombshell that you would expect men to drool over-the men in her life were attracted to <i>her</i>, the quirky and tenacious woman who can definitely hold her own in the company of strong men. Several laugh-out-loud moments pepper this action-filled page turner. My only complaint was I know there's a book two and it can't come soon enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, Creative, Sexy and Smart--the Perfect Combination!

    If you follow my reviews, you'll find that the majority of what I review is Young Adult novels. But I really do enjoy reading other types of books, particularly when they are books from people who have already won me over with their personality and writing style. Linda Grimes is one of my Wolf Pack Sistahs. We're both represented by the lovely Michelle Wolfson, giving me the squee-worthy opportunity to read Linda's debut novel as an ARC. IN A FIX is kick-ass creative! I found the idea of Aura Adaption to be extremely interesting and never did Grimes lose control of the concept. The premise wasn't bogged down in back story and considering all the people moving going on, I was extremely impressed that I always knew who was who--unless I wasn't supposed to. :o) Ciel was an extremely likable character. Flawed and fun, with just the right amount of gumption. And the boys??? Gahhhh Grimes had me on the edge of my seat trying to figure out which one I liked more. Seeing as they were all pretty steamy, it was a lot of fun trying to decide. I raced through this debut novel and I can't wait to read more by Linda Grimes. <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In a Fix is humorous, clever, and a whole lot of sexy. Seriously

    In a Fix is humorous, clever, and a whole lot of sexy. Seriously! Linda Grimes reached into the corners of her imaginative mind to bring urban fantasy readers a mystery that they won't soon forget. Ciel Halligan is a 'human chameleon' and the name of her game is aura adaptation. Her job as a facilitator allows her to flex her ability to borrow energy from another human being, thus enabling her to change her appearance into that person, and solve their problems. Though there are only a handful of aura-adaptors, Grimes makes their world seem very large and well-situated. For a rare ability, Ciel knows a lot about the scope of her abilities and the urgency to keep it on the hush, hush. Readers will be able to jump into the story with ease, and quick understanding, and continue with rapt attention.

    Ciel's latest assignment as Mina Worthington takes a big swerve from easy-peasy to dangerously explosive. When Mina's fiancé-to-be goes missing and more dangerous factors arise, Ciel's assignment is taken over by her two overprotective friends: Billy Doyle, her best friend, and Mark Fielding, her childhood crush. Ciel's relationships with Billy and Mark provide more than flirty entertainment and down time between all the action and mystery building. The bantering and sexual tension that coils around her interactions with both men will take the edge off the plot and give readers reasons to laugh and hope Ciel's story is more than fiction. The challenges Ciel faces throughout the plot make for an exciting and adventurous read. Add in the ploy of modern day Vikings and the story takes on a new level of interesting.

    If you're thinking the aura-adapting storyline will be a complicated, dragged out affair, you're in for a treat. In a Fix is quick-paced with a not too complex plot. Grimes' light writing style will keep you flipping through the pages of the story and eagerly awaiting its sequel, Quick Fix!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    LOVED IT! I want MORE. Original, funny and sexy.I hope this is a

    LOVED IT! I want MORE. Original, funny and sexy.I hope this is a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    A fun read.

    Great characters in an interesting premise with a little sexual tension and humor makes a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Some good ideas, but I never connected with it.

    This book and I never quite connected. The premise was intriguing. The main character, Ciel, and her buddies are "adapters," people who take on other people's auras and thereby imitate their shapes, voices, and appearances. Let's start with what I liked about the book. I liked Mark, a man Ciel has had a crush on for most of her life. I found her feelings for him and her hesitance to act on those feelings to be believable. I appreciated that her attraction to him was more than just physical and was based on a lifetime of encounters. It was easy to become invested in their relationship, and I rooted for them to get together. I also liked Ciel's reactions to taking on new auras. While using an aura, her body took on characteristics of the person she was copying. For example, as Mina, Ciel was prone to crying because Mina is a crier. As "Boner Benjamin," Ciel was horny for no good reason. That was a fun and interesting side effect of adapting. Sadly, I had trouble connecting with Ciel outside of her relationship with Mark. I suspect this was partially because she wasn't herself enough; she was too busy playing other people. Her internal monologue remained intact when she took on other auras, but without actions connected to that dialog--actions that were true to Ciel as opposed to the person she was playing at the time--I never bonded with Ciel. I also had trouble with the fact that, although the issues presented in this book were serious, Ciel didn't take them seriously enough. Multiple times, she was held captive and her life was at risk. Her associates were also held captive from time to time, as well. These should have been intense situations. Ciel should have taken these situations seriously. But it didn't work out that way. The book was just too light-hearted for its content. Ciel kept her good humor too well, and she rushed into things without thinking. I never felt the suspense or urgency that these situations should have created. Also, the theme of being held captive was a bit overused, in my opinion. It was like events kept repeating themselves. I wanted to see new scenarios from one chapter to the next, but I didn't get that. It was like an ongoing game of catch and release. For those who want a light-hearted read with a unique premise, I might recommend this book. But it simply wasn't for me. I stopped reading at 50%.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ciel Halligan is an adaptor. She can adapt her aura to look like

    Ciel Halligan is an adaptor. She can adapt her aura to look like someone else. On a job for her business she gets into more danger than she would like, her client, Mina's soon to be fiance, Trey, seems to be into major trouble with some neo-Vikings. She, along with her &quot;cousin&quot; and her brother's overprotective best friend (also adaptors) set to work trying to figure out what the Vikings are plotting and why they would want Trey.

    I absolutely loved this book. There never seems to be a dull moment and it is hilarious. Seriously, I laughed out loud quite a few times. I love the banter and the characters and the main character's inner voice is pretty entertaining too. And I idea of the adaptors set up for some pretty interesting situations. I am really really looking forward to continuing this series when more are released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1