Customer Reviews for

In a Heartbeat: Sharing the Power of Cheerful Giving

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sharing The Power of Cheerful Giving, It Does!

First came the bestselling book, then the Oscar nominated movie - the story of Michael Oher and the family who adopted him has become one of the most talked-about true stories of our time. But, until now, Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy have never told this astonishing tale i...
First came the bestselling book, then the Oscar nominated movie - the story of Michael Oher and the family who adopted him has become one of the most talked-about true stories of our time. But, until now, Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy have never told this astonishing tale in their own way and with their own words.

For Leigh Anne and Sean, it all begins with family. Leigh Anne, the daughter of a tough-as-nails U.S. marshal, decided early on that her mission was to raise children who would become "cheerful givers." Sean, who grew up poor, believed that one day he could provide a home that would be a "place of miracles." Together, they raised two high-spirited children - Collins and Sean Jr. - who shared their deep Christian faith and their commitment to making a difference. And then one day Leigh Anne met a homeless African American boy named Michael and decided that her family could be his. She and her husband taught Michael what this book teaches all of us: everyone has a blindside, but a loving heart always sees a path toward true charity.

Michael Oher's improbable transformation could never have happened if Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy had not opened their hearts to him. In this touching, funny, and profoundly inspiring book, the Tuohys take us on an extraordinary journey of faith and love - and teach us unforgettable lessons about the power of cheerful giving. (excerpt inside book cover).

My Review:

This book picks up where the first book and movie the Blind Side left off and then some. You get the inside story of Sean and Leigh Anne's childhood and upbringing and learn how giving has led them to the story we have all come to know and love. Their heart warming generosity is overwhelming and I loved this book from the very first page. It makes me want to become a better person and I think that is the point behind this book.

"If there is one meaning we'd like you to take from our story, its' this: the person you just walked past is the one who could change your life. So, every once in a while, stop and turn around. Find out about that person.

Eight years ago we didn't go out looking to adopt a child - a miracle simply hit us in the face and we didn't run from it. We can tell you from personal experience that the kid you never looked for can be the most surprising blessing in the world.

Love, we've learned, can come into your life in a heartbeat. But the people who are your family aren't always the people who are blood related to you, and loving someone unconditionally is a lot easier that we make it out to be.

Give love and you will always get it back. That's our story, that's our message." (pg 263-264)

I received In A Heartbeat by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy with Sally Jenkins, compliments of B & B Media Group and must say, it's hard to not want to read their personal story. Not just for the story behind the Tuohy family but to learn how giving to help others truly does bring out the very best in all of us. I would easily rate this book a perfect 5 stars.

For more information about this book, the authors and where to purchase a copy, please click on the link below:

In a Heartbeat: Sharing the Power of Cheerful Giving

by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy with Sally Jenkins

Henry Holt and Company/July 13, 2010

ISBN: 978-0-8050-9338-4/288 pages/hardcover/$24.00

http://us.macmillan.com/HenryHolt.aspx

posted by Heart2Heart on July 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

thought provoking and inspiring

I enjoyed the book, it was pretty much what i expected. A straightforward presentation of one family's story in regards to giving. If even 10% of parents were this committed to teaching their children the importance of giving, our entire country would be changed. Ame...
I enjoyed the book, it was pretty much what i expected. A straightforward presentation of one family's story in regards to giving. If even 10% of parents were this committed to teaching their children the importance of giving, our entire country would be changed. America is a selfish society. I hope this book inspires many to embrace and teach the Tuohy's social philosophy.

posted by 3682541 on August 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sharing The Power of Cheerful Giving, It Does!

    First came the bestselling book, then the Oscar nominated movie - the story of Michael Oher and the family who adopted him has become one of the most talked-about true stories of our time. But, until now, Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy have never told this astonishing tale in their own way and with their own words.

    For Leigh Anne and Sean, it all begins with family. Leigh Anne, the daughter of a tough-as-nails U.S. marshal, decided early on that her mission was to raise children who would become "cheerful givers." Sean, who grew up poor, believed that one day he could provide a home that would be a "place of miracles." Together, they raised two high-spirited children - Collins and Sean Jr. - who shared their deep Christian faith and their commitment to making a difference. And then one day Leigh Anne met a homeless African American boy named Michael and decided that her family could be his. She and her husband taught Michael what this book teaches all of us: everyone has a blindside, but a loving heart always sees a path toward true charity.

    Michael Oher's improbable transformation could never have happened if Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy had not opened their hearts to him. In this touching, funny, and profoundly inspiring book, the Tuohys take us on an extraordinary journey of faith and love - and teach us unforgettable lessons about the power of cheerful giving. (excerpt inside book cover).

    My Review:

    This book picks up where the first book and movie the Blind Side left off and then some. You get the inside story of Sean and Leigh Anne's childhood and upbringing and learn how giving has led them to the story we have all come to know and love. Their heart warming generosity is overwhelming and I loved this book from the very first page. It makes me want to become a better person and I think that is the point behind this book.

    "If there is one meaning we'd like you to take from our story, its' this: the person you just walked past is the one who could change your life. So, every once in a while, stop and turn around. Find out about that person.

    Eight years ago we didn't go out looking to adopt a child - a miracle simply hit us in the face and we didn't run from it. We can tell you from personal experience that the kid you never looked for can be the most surprising blessing in the world.

    Love, we've learned, can come into your life in a heartbeat. But the people who are your family aren't always the people who are blood related to you, and loving someone unconditionally is a lot easier that we make it out to be.

    Give love and you will always get it back. That's our story, that's our message." (pg 263-264)

    I received In A Heartbeat by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy with Sally Jenkins, compliments of B & B Media Group and must say, it's hard to not want to read their personal story. Not just for the story behind the Tuohy family but to learn how giving to help others truly does bring out the very best in all of us. I would easily rate this book a perfect 5 stars.

    For more information about this book, the authors and where to purchase a copy, please click on the link below:

    In a Heartbeat: Sharing the Power of Cheerful Giving

    by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy with Sally Jenkins

    Henry Holt and Company/July 13, 2010

    ISBN: 978-0-8050-9338-4/288 pages/hardcover/$24.00

    http://us.macmillan.com/HenryHolt.aspx

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Like many people I was touched and moved to tears by the movie "The Blindside" about the Tuohy family and Michael Oher and how they came to be a family. And if you haven't seen the movie yet, you really need to take the time, it is so good. Amazingly, this book is fantastic as well. A movie can only cover so much and as accurate as it was (there are a few licenses taken but the family agrees that it is pretty on the mark) this book delves much deeper into the lives of this incredible family. We get to see Sean's childhood, Leigh Anne's childhood, how they met and their early marriage and then the addition of children to their lives. Through all of this we start to get an understanding of who these people really are and how God worked in their lives to create an environment of giving that helped them arrive at the place where accepting Michael into their lives was the natural next step for them. I ate this book up, finished it in less than 24 hours (which is not uncommon for me with fiction books but incredibly rare for me with non-fiction books). It is so easy to read and follow and is truly a pleasure to delve into. I highly recommend taking a look at the Tuohy family and getting a perspective on giving that could change your life as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    thought provoking and inspiring

    I enjoyed the book, it was pretty much what i expected. A straightforward presentation of one family's story in regards to giving. If even 10% of parents were this committed to teaching their children the importance of giving, our entire country would be changed. America is a selfish society. I hope this book inspires many to embrace and teach the Tuohy's social philosophy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Amazing Story

    I was very pleased to have the opportunity to review In a Heartbeat, and I am likely one of very few people who actually read this book before seeing the movie first. Honesty and transparency by Leigh Anne and Sean Tuohy is evident throughout the entire book. This book is an extraordinary journey of faith and love, and they believe that it is critical to be good stewards of their finances and their relationships.

    Most of the book is written alternately between Leigh Anne and Sean, and it is great to get both of their personal perspectives on life. I especially enjoyed the short interludes that were written by their three children, Collins, Michael and Sean Jr. There also is an enjoyable segment written by Sandra Bullock, who plays the part of Leigh Anne in the movie.

    My only regret about reading this book is that I have not seen the movie, but I am eager to see it now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    making a difference

    "in a heartbeat" is a very hard to put down book about a very special christian couple who took in a young high school student to encourage him and help him make his dreams come true.what makes this bestseller fasinating is the tuohys are the real family from the blindside movie and from this great read you get to learn how you can make a difference in your community and how you can make a difference in the lifes of others like they did with michael oher who turned out to be a famous football player because of their wanting to make a difference great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Good book

    Emjoy this book and.the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great story to start the new year!

    Very inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Nice Follow-up Book

    This is a commendable couple and an inspiring story. Well written
    and most interesting. If you have read, seen or heard about "The
    Blind Side" then you should enjoy hearing the background story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Laugh and cry

    I really enjoyed this book but I also loved the movie. I love the Southern humor that Sean and Leigh Ann bring to the book. The view that they share regarding helping those less fortunate is uplifting and also causes introspection. I'm amazed that there are people who dare question the intentions of the Touhey's. Black or not, they helped a destitute young man find his way to a successful life. The Popcorn Theory: We can't help everyone but we can help the one's that pop up right in front of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3