Customer Reviews for

In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day: How to Survive and Thrive When Opportunity Roars

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    This is a MUST READ for spiritual wimps!

    Batterson puts life's challenges in perspective. He encourages self exploration through trust in God and ACTION on His principles. 'In A Pit With A Lion' is a summary of several self-help books, both Christian and secular. He incorporates the principles of Peale's 'Positive Thinking', Robbins' 'Awaken the Giant' and 'Unlimited Power', and King David's heart and spirit. A must read for one who needs the Spirit to blow out the spiritual dust of years of a broken mind or troubled heart. It has been a while since an author put me to tears. Batterson achieved it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Outstanding Book

    Mark Batterson's In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day owes its title and central argument to Benaiah, an often overlooked person, mentioned in 2 Samuel. Benaiah, eschewing the normal response when coming face-to-face with a predator in the wild, chases a lion into a snowy pit and kills it. Eventually Benaiah would rise from lion chaser to David's bodyguard all the way to commander-in-chief of the armies of Israel. All because he was the kind of person who looked on adversities as opportunities Batterson postulates that God is calling us all to be lion chasers as well. For us to embrace our lion chasing skills, Batterson explores seven required skills: Overcoming adversity Unlearning fears Embracing uncertainty Calculating risks Seizing opportunities Defying Odds Looking foolish He mentions, several times, the importance of stepping out in faith. “Most of us want absolute certainty before we step out in faith. We love 100-percent money-back guarantees. But the problem with that is this: It takes faith out of the equation. There is no such thing as risk-free faith. And you can't experience success without risking failure.” I know I am guilty of second guessing myself and wanting to be 100% sure when I make a decision. It almost never comes to 100% certainty and I know I have missed out on a number of opportunities because I was unwilling to make the final leap of faith. This book challenges you to do just that, and does so in a very accessible and enthusiastic way. Lion chasers “recognize that the best you can do if you run away from a lion is break even. You might save your skin, but you won't have a lion skin hanging on your wall either.” What an outstanding read! FTC disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a great book!

    The title of the book caught my attention right away. It is inspiring as well as thought provoking. A lot of churches and pastors these days shy away from the Old Testament. I am so thankful that Mark Batterson chose to embrace this man's story and expound on how to apply it to our lives today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Lion Chaser!

    Mark Batterson does an excellent job of being inspirational without being a cheerleader. This book is a perfect mixture of sound theological thought, biblical basis mixed with "ordinary" people that aspire to great things. I find his humor refreshing and necessary. Necessary because some of his insight is so deep it literally made my brain hurt.
    In a Pit focuses on a seldom used passage concerning one of David's might men named Benaiah and his chasing of a lion into a pit on a snowy day. One creature survives the tussle, of course being one Benaiah. While the thought of David's mighty men has been over played in conferences and by many a church leader, Batterson's treatment is refreshing. If you enjoy deep thinking written on an easy to digest level, this book is certainly for you. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Motivating!

    Awesome read! Encourages you to not only push beyond your limits but to pursue what appears to be unattainable. More specific-God size dreams/goals. Always aware that when you do, you set the stage for a miracle. For what is impossible with man is possible with God!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Inspirational and motivational, with a good kick-in-the-pants! M

    Inspirational and motivational, with a good kick-in-the-pants! Mark Batterson hits the nail on the head with this book - Christianity isn't about passive prayers on survival; it's about going after God's will and purpose for your life. Such a great reminder of God's power and our call to co-labor with Him. Easy and enjoyable read - I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Icekit

    The pure white kit loos at thunder with ice blue eyes. "Were am i?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Dash

    He looks at Red sadly. "They're all leaving. Do you think maybe we should too?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Mouse

    Mouse purrs contently and wraps her tail around his. (Thats okay, im gonna start looking for another place)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Thunder

    "Um, h-hi. M-my name is Thunder," he stammered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Red

    She nodded, touching her nose to Dash's ear. ~Red

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Poppy

    Jxjcfhhhvjs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Thunder

    Mouse u der?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Cometstorm

    Sucked in his breath

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    worth 10 stars

    Read it and reread it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent book about how to get the most out of life - how to

    An excellent book about how to get the most out of life - how to really ignite your soul and live a spiritual life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day ¿ Mark Batterson     It took

    In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day – Mark Batterson
        It took me a long time to make it through this book – not because it wasn’t interesting – but because it was challenging and invited me to take risks and I wasn’t sure I wanted to do that.  Using the obscure story of King David’s friend Benaiah, who chased down and killed a lion in a pit, Batterson asks you to consider “What lion is God calling you to chase?”  This is not a book for those who want to stay in a comfortable bubble.  It is a book for those who want to be motivated to take risks for God and to answer his call.      “Points to Remember” at the end of each chapter, would make this well adaptable to a small group study for those who want to be challenged beyond the tamer stuff we typically use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Wow!!

    This is a game changer type of book if you let it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Awsomeone

    Name......awsomeone..........awsumness level........100,000,000,000,000,000.........role........being awsum..........personality.......awsum..............loves to........be awsum

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    To larkpaw

    Ceaderstar isnt here right now biut you can join at the firat result

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4