Customer Reviews for

In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day: How to Survive and Thrive When Opportunity Roars

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    To larkpaw

    Ceaderstar isnt here right now biut you can join at the firat result

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Nightclaw

    Name: nightclaw mate: sunblossem kits: none yet apperence: pure black tom with dark blue eyes story: early life was filled with violence. Parents killed soon after apprentaceship and two brothers (volcanofang and shatterstar) killed not too long ago personality: likes to be on his own and goes out for a night hunt EVERY night no matter what.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Go chase your lions!!!

    In this book, Mark Batterson does a great job of challenging the reader to believe that God can do great things through "ordinary people". He takes a very obscure passage of scripture, one that most people would simply overlook, and makes a great case for the amazing things that God can do for someone who would be willing to believe. In this book, Mark gives us seven things that "lion-chasers" need to do:

    * Overcome adversity

    * Unlearn fears

    * Embrace uncertainty

    * Calculate risks

    * Seize opportunities

    * Defy the odds

    * Look foolish

    This book will challenge your faith and give you courage to face the things that come your way. An opportunity is always in front of you if you will just learn to see it and embrace it. Using stories from his own journey and the journey of others, Mark gives great examples of how to chase lions and be an overcomer.

    I had seen this book recommended for a couple of years now and I had been wanting to read it. I am so glad that I did. As a pastor, it is something that every church member should read. As one that is often times afraid to take risks this book gave me courage to go after the lions in my life. Mark encourages the reader to look for opportunities before us that could advance us in our lives. You never know when by chasing a lion into a pit on a snowy day your whole life will change. So, read this book and go chase a lion.

    This book is a very easy read. I had a hard time putting it down. I got a lot of great quotes and illustrations from this book. It's one of those books that will need to be reread when one needs a good faith-lift.

    Disclosure: WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group sent me this book for free for this review - the views expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fight Your Lions

    In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson
    *The following review is my own and not that of any other. I received a complimentary copy for this review*

    This was a fabulous read as I started it on Friday night and finished it Saturday morning. Not only was I anxious to keep reading but the content was well written.

    The premise of the book is what does a person do when faced with an opportunity: fight or flee? Does he/she face the lion in a pit or does he/she run? Mr. Batterson challenges the reader to fight the lion, whatever the "lion" may be.

    Why look back over your life with regret because of lost opportunity? Instead, accept that God has placed circumstances in your life to strengthen, instruct, mold, and challenge you. Fight your lions and see what miracles God can do through you. That is the intent of this book and it was presented well.

    I highly recommend this book for those that need encouragement to continue in a difficult time and for those that are fearful of unforeseen outcomes. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    Okay

    In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson is a book about chasing after your God-given dreams. While I think there were a few good things said, I didn't feel like this book really said a whole lot that helped me. I feel like the book focused too much on us and not enough on God. It's one of those books that takes people from the Bible and tries to make them modern. The whole tone is very casual, and I think Batterson is also trying to amuse you as well as teach you.

    The book does indeed have some sentences that can make you think. It talks about fear, and it talks about taking a step of faith. Batterson often uses stories from the Bible to make points or get you thinking, but he doesn't include many Bible verses or passages.

    In short, I believe there are a few good points here and there, but a good amount of the book is fluff. And it didn't help me a whole lot in my walk with God.

    I received my copy of this book free from Blogging for Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson

    Mark Batterson writes about taking on the opportunities that come about in life like Benaiah faced and killed a lion in 2 Samuel 23:20. Mark stresses the need to live a Spirit-led life of risk and uncertainty rather than playing it safe and missing God-ordained opportunities. In short, be a lion-chaser in seeing opportunities, taking risks, and trusting God.

    This book was a great inspiration and challenging for my walk in taking opportunities "by the horns" in my walk of faith. The one frustration and criticism I have is that I felt like Mark added details to the story of Benaiah. There were many things that Mark talked about concerning Benaiah's interaction with this lion, but cannot be seen in the Scripture reference. Other than these occasional imaginations, I thought it was a good read. I would recommend it to a friend, especially if they are struggling with purpose in life or their work.

    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    An easy read with some great insights and practical suggestions for growth

    This is one of those rare books that has an absolutely ridiculous sounding name but is actually very good to read. In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day is all about seeing your daily struggles as God-ordained opportunities to mature your own faith and grow His kingdom. The title is a reference to the Biblical character Benaiah, who is found in II Samuel 23:20-21. Benaiah (for those of us who have never heard of him) was a man who literally killed a lion in a pit on a snowy day - hence the name of the book.

    Batterson introduces his thesis by sharing the story of Benaiah and examining it in some detail. Then he sets out seven skills needed to properly view obstacles as God-ordained opportunities to thrive, spending a chapter examining each one: Overcoming adversity, Unlearning fears, embracing uncertainty, calculating risks, seizing opportunities, defying odds, and looking foolish. The irony of reading this book for me is that I've got a couple of challenges I'm facing now in my jobs, and just last week (before I even picked up the book!) I was sharing with my wife that while the challenges seem to be great in many ways I also feel that God has placed these in my path for a specific reason. In short, I feel they are God-ordained opportunities for me to guide and help others while at the same time growing in my own faith.

    The only complaint I had about the book is that at times I felt like I was re-reading Soulprint because there were some sections that seemed as if they were verbatim from his previous book (which I reviewed). Batterson's style is easy to read and enjoyable yet at the same time he raises some great points which require careful and deep consideration. I'm going to recommend reading this book if you need help seeing your every-day circumstances as God-ordained opportunities to grow in Him, giving it 4 out of 5 stars.

    One disclaimer, I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review, but am not required to post a complimentary review in exchange for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    It's all about initiative!

    "What if the life you really want, and the future God wants for you, is hiding right now in your biggest problem, your worst failure, your greatest fear?" This is the tagline of the book by Mark Batterson, "In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day." The book is based on a biblical character named, Benaiah. He once chased a lion into a pit while it was snowing, and killed him (2 Samuel 23:20, 21). With this in the background, Mark writes nine chapters on this simple verse in the Bible. Simply put, this book is fantastic if you are struggling with confidence or fear about a decision in your life. The stories that Mark shares are a true encouragement to get out there and chase after your dreams. The book is filled with great one liners and inspiring stories, all designed to help you be courages and take some initiative and chase your dreams. Or a lion. The downside to the book is that it seemed a little on the repetitive side. After all, it's hard to write on nearly any topic with only a one-line story as inspiration. At times the book felt like it would have made a great article or series of blogs, but not necessarily a book. So you need to be ready for some repetitive language and some concepts that will repeat themselves. Overall, this is a great book for those needing that extra nudge of encouragement to chase something in their life. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    It's all about Initiative!

    "What if the life you really want, and the future God wants for you, is hiding right now in your biggest problem, your worst failure, your greatest fear?"

    This is the tagline of the book by Mark Batterson, "In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day." The book is based on a biblical character named, Benaiah. He once chased a lion into a pit while it was snowing, and killed him (2 Samuel 23:20, 21). With this in the background, Mark writes nine chapters on this simple verse in the Bible. Simply put, this book is fantastic if you are struggling with confidence or fear about a decision in your life. The stories that Mark shares are a true encouragement to get out there and chase after your dreams. The book is filled with great one liners and inspiring stories, all designed to help you be courages and take some initiative and chase your dreams. Or a lion.

    The downside to the book is that it seemed a little on the repetitive side. After all, it's hard to write on nearly any topic with only a one-line story as inspiration. At times the book felt like it would have made a great article or series of blogs, but not necessarily a book. So you need to be ready for some repetitive language and some concepts that will repeat themselves.

    Overall, this is a great book for those needing that extra nudge of encouragement to chase something in their life. I give it 3 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    This book was nothing short of amazing!

    I admit that before reading this book I don't think I had ever read the story of Benaiah. I love it when you finally uncover one little jewel in Scripture that means so much-and that is exactly what this Scripture is. Batterson did a wonderful job breaking down the Scripture and applying it to everyday life. What I loved the most though, was how he gave so much history to the story which increased its value and message. I felt like this book was a collision of the Old Testament and modern day psychology with a God twist. Batterson really did his homework when tackling the subject of fear. This book was nothing short of amazing!It helped me as a wife, understand my lion chaser husband, and it inspired me to chase my own lions. If you want to tackle some fears, or step out in faith on something, this is the PERFECT book for you.
    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I give my review honestly and am in no way bias or required to give a postive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day

    I enjoy the obscure passages in the Bible. Stories of the lesser-known's such as Shamgar and Jabez intrigue and encourage me. Whether defeating an entire army with a simple farm implement or verbalizing a prayer that asks God to move heaven and earth, their lives demand attention. The story of Benaiah, told in 2 Samuel 23:20-21 is no different. It is the story of lion chaser. It is the story of an odds defyer. It is the story of a man who chased a lion into a pit on a snowy day, a won. In his book, "In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day; How to Survive and Thrive When Opportunity Roars", National Community Church pastor Mark Batterson expands and sheds light on a very obscure passage in the Old Testament. He tells the story of Benaiah, an Israelite warrior who fought Moabite warriors and killed an Egyptian warrior. In this book, Batterson deals with opportunity. Each one of us have to determine what we will do with every opportunity presented to us. Using the phrase "lion chasers', Batterson challenges each believer to go after and seize every God-given opportunity. He clearly shows there is a difference lion tamers and lion chasers. He skillfully points out that we all face lions of some sort in our lives. These lions come in the form of life-changing decisions, career moves, and economic opportunities. He encourages the reader to jump in the pit with the lion and tackle it head on. Batterson focuses his writing on seven lion-chasing skills needed to take advantage of every opportunity. These skills are overcoming adversity, unlearning fears, embracing uncertainty, calculating risks, seizing opportunities, defying odds, and looking foolish. "In a Pit With a Lion on a Snow Day" is not a new book, but I believe it is one of those books that remain for a long time and make an impact for years to come. I greatly enjoyed this book. Batterson's style of writing is balanced, clean, precise, and inspirational. He mixes scripture, ancient custom, and personal experience artfully in such a way that makes this book an easy and consuming read. The wisdom expressed in this book has the potential to be life-changing. I recommend this book to those who are dreaming God-sized dreams, yet are reluctant to climb into the snowy pit. I received a complimentary copy of this book Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    Easy read with powerful message

    This was a great book! Very easy to read, with lots of personal anecdotes to drive home the powerful message. It definitely taught me how to tackle the lions in my own life. I picked it off the B&N shelf, and before I knew it I had it read it cover-to-cover in the store! I still bought it, though. I want it in my book collection, and I'm sure I'll read it again someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for everyone!

    I have read this book several times and everytime I get something new from it. I recently purchased several copies and I am using it in our Young Adult Life Group. So far everyone in the group likes it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Chase the Lion!

    My pastor actually suggested I read In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day. Based around the fearlessness that Benaiah showed while chasing that lion into that particular pit on that particular snowy day, Benaiah faced his fears and conquered the challenge of a lifetime. Benaiah is now my Hero. He trusted in God that he would come to no harm while chasing and fighting that lion and he just did it. Personally, I might have run. No, I definitely would have run. But that's the point of this book. You will always wonder "what if I had" if you don't chase after you own metaphorical lions and at least attempt to conquer that fear.

    Benaiah is one of those little-known biblical characters that most people miss. He is only mentioned in those few verses in 2 Samuel and then he quickly fades back into biblical history. But, in those few verses, we are taught such an amazing story. Benaiah shows us that we need to be fearless in our faith to really achieve that relationship with God that so many of us long for. Batterson forced me to ask myself, "What am I afraid of?" Once I was able to identify that fear, I was able to start working on overcoming that fear and strengthening my relationship with God.

    If you are looking to strengthen your relationship with God or just to figure out where your relationship with God really stands, this book is for you. Mark Batterson will share his personal lion chasing stories with you and really challenge you to chase your own personal lions. I know it helped me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I returned this book...

    This book could have been summed up in the first few pages. I can't begin to explain how monotonous it was. If you remember vinyl records getting caught and replaying the same phrase over and over, then that's how this book reads. I struggled just to get through the first 15 pages. Had it not been our book club choice, would have returned it way before then.
    The only reason I'm giving this 2 stars instead of 1 is because the message I feel the author was trying to get across is a good message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4