Customer Reviews for

In the After

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I like a decent night¿s sleep as much as anyone else. In fact,


I like a decent night’s sleep as much as anyone else. In fact, I can get downright surly when I’m deprived but I don’t mind in the least when it’s a book that’s keeping me up because, after all, that’s a pretty good sign the story is truly enthralling. That’s exactly w...

I like a decent night’s sleep as much as anyone else. In fact, I can get downright surly when I’m deprived but I don’t mind in the least when it’s a book that’s keeping me up because, after all, that’s a pretty good sign the story is truly enthralling. That’s exactly what I would call In the After, enthralling.

Post-apocalyptic and/or dystopian fiction is high on my list of favorites and I’m even happier when both subgenres are present which is the case here. There’s a very distinctive and abrupt shift from one to the other and also a shift in reading excitement, if you will, and that leads to the only reason I can’t give this a full 5 stars. Not only is there a shift in theme and intensity but there is also a drop in the effort spent in character development.

Amy and Baby are two of my favorite characters in memory. They’re both so intelligent and they make the best of a terrible situation, learning as they go how to survive and do so in a fair amount of comfort. The love that develops between the two girls who become as sisters is natural and heartwarming and they each know that they can depend on the other without question. Would Amy have grown into such a strong and empathetic young woman if disaster hadn’t happened? There is no way to know but, if there is ever a bright side to an apocalyptic scenario, it’s in the ways that some people rise above their circumstances. On the other hand, there is Baby who is just a toddler when Amy finds her and, while she is preternaturally aware of how to protect herself, it is certainly unlikely that she would have survived long without an older companion. The two girls need each other and the payoff is huge.

The second and third parts of the story are where I felt a lack. After pouring so much effort into helping the reader understand and care about Amy and Baby, character development of the new people in their lives is really pretty thin. I would have liked to know Vivian much better and, while I liked Rice to a certain extent, I also had some niggling doubt about him. Kay and Gareth are better defined but, again, I want to know more and, considering the ending, I can’t be sure I’ll get that in future volumes. Other characters are unlikable to varying degrees but, again, it would help to know more about them, why they are the way they are. The “event” is really not enough to excuse some of the behavior even though they certainly fit into the usual dystopian mold. Finally, the very lightweight romance felt to me like the author believed she had to throw it in and it really didn’t add anything to the overall story. It didn’t actually bother me but I could easily have done without it.

Having said all that, I really did love this book—it’s scary, nail-biting, thought-provoking, heartwarming and different from the pack—and it did indeed keep me up all night ;) . Demitria Lunetta is a fine writer and I am going to have a hard time waiting for the next entry.

posted by BuriedUnderBooks on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

After reading a string of contemporaries, I felt like I needed a

After reading a string of contemporaries, I felt like I needed a change of pace. So I decided to give In the After a go! I'm always up for a post-apoc book! This book is divided into 3 parts. I will say Part One was the strongest for me. I was pulled in from the beginni...
After reading a string of contemporaries, I felt like I needed a change of pace. So I decided to give In the After a go! I'm always up for a post-apoc book! This book is divided into 3 parts. I will say Part One was the strongest for me. I was pulled in from the beginning. Lunetta had me completely captivated with Amy (our main character) describing the Before and After, as she refers to the state of the world. Before- everything was simple and normal and she really realizes the small things that you take for granted. After -is hard and lonely. Those small things you took for granted are nothing but a shadow of a dream you keep trying to hold on to. I liked Amy as a main character. She had her time to freak out and cry, but her survival instincts kicked in and she did what she had to do to survive. This is why I loved the first part of the book. It's all about survival. Lunetta does an amazing job creating this world where you are always on your guard, preparing for imminent danger. She is completely alone but is lucky her parents were so prepared. She is fortunate enough to be able to stay at home, have a safe place to live, a place to bathe, sleep, etc. However, she cannot stay holed up forever. She does eventually have to go out and forage for food. She finds a toddler, who she names Baby, and brings her home with her. For being alone for so long, Amy now finally has a companion. The two form a bond and Amy would do anything to protect and keep Baby safe. Baby is incredibly smart thankfully, and the two form their own form of communication (based loosely on sign language), as it is too dangerous to speak out loud for fear of Them coming. They are ruthless, carnivores who are only interested in killing and feeding on their prey. They are super fast, but they do not function as well in the dark.

Although Amy has Baby, she still longs to know if there are others still alive out there. However, she must be extremely careful as to who to trust. She does meet another human and finds herself in a potentially horrible situation. From then on, as craved as she is for human interaction, she will not make the mistake of being so casual in who she approaches.

Parts Two and Three are actually where the book took a completely different turn of events. We find out there is a human civilization called New Hope. Except the longer Amy stays, the more she realizes things are not as they seem. New Hope's ideals are not what Amy expects and she learns that not everyone is as trustworthy as they seem. This is not like dealing with aliens- Amy now has to protect herself against her own kind. I was ok with seeing how the society of New Hope worked, but then I felt like I was back reading The Program by Suzanne Young. And that was not the direction I expected this book to take at all.

We meet a whole slew of characters in New Hope that play an integral part of the story. My favorite being Rice, a seventeen year old who works as a scientist. He instantly takes to Amy and befriends her, trying to help her adjust to her new surroundings. We only get to know him on a very surface level though, so I am hoping for a bit more depth in the next book.

I am interested in the sequel because after the ending, I feel like it might go back to what I was originally looking for: a more in depth look at the world trying to survive in the wild. There are also quite a few questions to be answered and I definitely look forward to that. Overall- this is a decent post-apocalyptic book and I was very engaged and did not put it down.

*Received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review*

posted by LovinLosLibros on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    After reading a string of contemporaries, I felt like I needed a

    After reading a string of contemporaries, I felt like I needed a change of pace. So I decided to give In the After a go! I'm always up for a post-apoc book! This book is divided into 3 parts. I will say Part One was the strongest for me. I was pulled in from the beginning. Lunetta had me completely captivated with Amy (our main character) describing the Before and After, as she refers to the state of the world. Before- everything was simple and normal and she really realizes the small things that you take for granted. After -is hard and lonely. Those small things you took for granted are nothing but a shadow of a dream you keep trying to hold on to. I liked Amy as a main character. She had her time to freak out and cry, but her survival instincts kicked in and she did what she had to do to survive. This is why I loved the first part of the book. It's all about survival. Lunetta does an amazing job creating this world where you are always on your guard, preparing for imminent danger. She is completely alone but is lucky her parents were so prepared. She is fortunate enough to be able to stay at home, have a safe place to live, a place to bathe, sleep, etc. However, she cannot stay holed up forever. She does eventually have to go out and forage for food. She finds a toddler, who she names Baby, and brings her home with her. For being alone for so long, Amy now finally has a companion. The two form a bond and Amy would do anything to protect and keep Baby safe. Baby is incredibly smart thankfully, and the two form their own form of communication (based loosely on sign language), as it is too dangerous to speak out loud for fear of Them coming. They are ruthless, carnivores who are only interested in killing and feeding on their prey. They are super fast, but they do not function as well in the dark.

    Although Amy has Baby, she still longs to know if there are others still alive out there. However, she must be extremely careful as to who to trust. She does meet another human and finds herself in a potentially horrible situation. From then on, as craved as she is for human interaction, she will not make the mistake of being so casual in who she approaches.

    Parts Two and Three are actually where the book took a completely different turn of events. We find out there is a human civilization called New Hope. Except the longer Amy stays, the more she realizes things are not as they seem. New Hope's ideals are not what Amy expects and she learns that not everyone is as trustworthy as they seem. This is not like dealing with aliens- Amy now has to protect herself against her own kind. I was ok with seeing how the society of New Hope worked, but then I felt like I was back reading The Program by Suzanne Young. And that was not the direction I expected this book to take at all.

    We meet a whole slew of characters in New Hope that play an integral part of the story. My favorite being Rice, a seventeen year old who works as a scientist. He instantly takes to Amy and befriends her, trying to help her adjust to her new surroundings. We only get to know him on a very surface level though, so I am hoping for a bit more depth in the next book.

    I am interested in the sequel because after the ending, I feel like it might go back to what I was originally looking for: a more in depth look at the world trying to survive in the wild. There are also quite a few questions to be answered and I definitely look forward to that. Overall- this is a decent post-apocalyptic book and I was very engaged and did not put it down.

    *Received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review*

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Grea book!

    Interesting twist on aliens, which I thought of even before learning their origins (though i did see that coming......). Love the need for silence in this new world - definitely something lacking today!! Great sci/fi read, though admittedly a bit slow on plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I like a decent night¿s sleep as much as anyone else. In fact,


    I like a decent night’s sleep as much as anyone else. In fact, I can get downright surly when I’m deprived but I don’t mind in the least when it’s a book that’s keeping me up because, after all, that’s a pretty good sign the story is truly enthralling. That’s exactly what I would call In the After, enthralling.

    Post-apocalyptic and/or dystopian fiction is high on my list of favorites and I’m even happier when both subgenres are present which is the case here. There’s a very distinctive and abrupt shift from one to the other and also a shift in reading excitement, if you will, and that leads to the only reason I can’t give this a full 5 stars. Not only is there a shift in theme and intensity but there is also a drop in the effort spent in character development.

    Amy and Baby are two of my favorite characters in memory. They’re both so intelligent and they make the best of a terrible situation, learning as they go how to survive and do so in a fair amount of comfort. The love that develops between the two girls who become as sisters is natural and heartwarming and they each know that they can depend on the other without question. Would Amy have grown into such a strong and empathetic young woman if disaster hadn’t happened? There is no way to know but, if there is ever a bright side to an apocalyptic scenario, it’s in the ways that some people rise above their circumstances. On the other hand, there is Baby who is just a toddler when Amy finds her and, while she is preternaturally aware of how to protect herself, it is certainly unlikely that she would have survived long without an older companion. The two girls need each other and the payoff is huge.

    The second and third parts of the story are where I felt a lack. After pouring so much effort into helping the reader understand and care about Amy and Baby, character development of the new people in their lives is really pretty thin. I would have liked to know Vivian much better and, while I liked Rice to a certain extent, I also had some niggling doubt about him. Kay and Gareth are better defined but, again, I want to know more and, considering the ending, I can’t be sure I’ll get that in future volumes. Other characters are unlikable to varying degrees but, again, it would help to know more about them, why they are the way they are. The “event” is really not enough to excuse some of the behavior even though they certainly fit into the usual dystopian mold. Finally, the very lightweight romance felt to me like the author believed she had to throw it in and it really didn’t add anything to the overall story. It didn’t actually bother me but I could easily have done without it.

    Having said all that, I really did love this book—it’s scary, nail-biting, thought-provoking, heartwarming and different from the pack—and it did indeed keep me up all night ;) . Demitria Lunetta is a fine writer and I am going to have a hard time waiting for the next entry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2015

    Not a lot to say...

    Good plot. Terrible character development...as in none. Access to everything needed to live well in a post apocolyptic world MUCH toosimply explained away. Storyline bunny hops in an almost serial fashion. Have not yet brought myself to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Excellent read!

    This is a really good read. I teach 7th grade and read a lot of YA books looking for great writing and high interest. I will be putting this on my classroom shelves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    Cant ' Can't put it down

    Amazing , fast read. Held my attention from beginning to end. Exactly the intriguing gripping novel ive been looking for

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2015

    I'm loving these apocalypse type stories and reading them with a

    I'm loving these apocalypse type stories and reading them with a vengeance lately.  In The After was no exception.  I absolutely loved this book!  There were so many things about it that made this story unique and different from others of its kind.  And there were a few twists and turns in it that I definitely wasn't expecting.  This story was so unique.




    One of the things I thought was really interesting was that a good chunk of the story, at least in the beginning, took place with the main character, Amy, being alone.  I loved how resourceful and brave this girl was.  This is an ordinary girl with an ordinary life, and in one unexpected moment, she has to turn into a survivor.  She becomes so strong, brave enough to go forage for food in the dark knowing that monsters are all around her.  She's smart and adaptable, and I loved her immediately.
     When she does meet another survivor, a small girl, I loved how protective she was of Baby.  She turned into a little mother, caring for the girl, protecting and teaching her.  Their relationship was so sweet.  There was just so much to admire about this character.  When they finally end up around other people, I was amazed at her bravery yet again, as she learned to be a fighter.




    The only part of the story that wasn't really as important to me as the rest was the romance.  Rice was, to me, forgettable.  There wasn't really anything that distinguished him or made me love him.  He was likeable, don't get me wrong, but I never really felt like I knew him at all, or that his presence was necessary to the story.  The strength of this story lay in the story itself, and with the main character, Amy. She carried the entire thing, and the story was great for it.




    When we reach the end of this story, there was a really big shocker that I had begun to suspect, but it was still shocking when it happened.  This made the story even more unique from others like it.  I loved it.




    The writing was suspenseful, and I was totally engrossed.  I will definitely be looking out for the sequel to this series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    I was pleasantly surprised with this book. It kept me engaged an

    I was pleasantly surprised with this book. It kept me engaged and I could not put it down for anything. I was able to read books 1 and 2  back to back, which made this series even better, I believe! I cannot wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, what an amazing twist this book entails. I thought it would

    Wow, what an amazing twist this book entails. I thought it would read like a zombie post-Apocalypse, but man was I not even remotely close. Aliens.

    Amy is on her own after Them have invaded. She rescues Baby who mainly signs for most of the story, and together they try and stay alive. Then they come across Amber, who Amy thinks is loud and obnoxious, but Baby likes her so they keep her, in a sense. This entire story is just a revolving struggle for survival with strong character profiling and a phenomenal knack for world building. It is filled with nonstop suspense and a fast paced plot that is surprisingly not boring. The author put a unique twist on this story by having the aliens have no time restrictions, such as vampires or werewolves would have.

    “All of Them are monsters, but not all monsters are Them.”

    If you like dystopian post-apocalyptic stories, then you will probably really enjoy this book and won’t want to put it down. Lunetta leaves this story open at the end, enabling Amy’s morbid adventure to continue into another book.

    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review*                            
    *Reviewed  for the San Francisco Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Anon

    A solid dystopian YA novel. Although it is the first in a series the author delivers a complete book with a satisfying end. The characters are well developed and you can easily identify with their hardships and loss. The book leads you along one path and as you begin to accept what the survivors must do to exist...suddenly all that you believe changes. Loved the twists this plot takes and the horrible journey into reality the main character must eventually face. Jp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    OMG

    Great book it gets strait to the point. Its almos like the walking dead you know struggling to survive then finding the town that is safe. But its faster you know? Anyways, you have to read this book it is awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Awsome

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    "They hear the most silent of footsteps. They are faster th

    "They hear the most silent of footsteps.
    They are faster than anything you've ever seen.
    And They won't stop chasing you...until you are dead.

    Amy is watching TV when it happens, when the world is attacked by Them. These vile creatures are rapidly devouring mankind. Most of the population is overtaken, but Amy manages to escape—and even rescue “Baby,” a toddler left behind in the chaos. Marooned in Amy’s house, the girls do everything they can to survive—and avoid Them at all costs.

    After years of hiding, they are miraculously rescued and taken to New Hope, a colony of survivors living in a former government research compound. While at first the colony seems like a dream with plenty of food, safety, and shelter, New Hope slowly reveals that it is far from ideal. And Amy soon realizes that unless things change, she’ll lose Baby—and much more."

    Okay, this was mind-blowingly amazing. I know that there's a lot of hype when new dystopias come out, "the new hunger games blah blah" but if any is deserving of the title this is it. It's like it took elements from all the most horrible dystopias like The Handmaid's Tale, 1984, The Road with a sprinkle of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest. This book packs a hell of a punch.

    First of all, there is Baby. There is always a younger sibling in YA dystopias, so I thought it would be more of the same. But it was so much more! In the other books the sibling eventually becomes this concept, he/she is not with the main character anymore, they're something to protect from afar. Baby and Amy were together for years. They grew together like sisters, if not by blood then by everything that matters. Their relationship was the strongest point of this book. Not that the book ever eased up, it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

    And while admittedly, near the end, it got a bit cliché, it was still awesome.

    Seriously, this book has me trying not to make noise around the house!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Great read!

    This book had me hooked from the start and never let me down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿In the After¿ starts in a world filled with intrigue, suspense

    ‘In the After’ starts in a world filled with intrigue, suspense and silence. There’s that sense of desperate urgency, of deep sadness and of trying to live in a world that’s so different then what the characters in the novel have ever known. ‘In the After’ was relentless with its action and adventure. And, even though I went into this book have no expectations at all, it was a book that I ended up not being able to put down.


    The world was what interested me most about this book. There was this feeling inside me that just wanted to scream in horror and, at the same time, I felt so much empathy for the characters. One wrong sound would attract the very element that the characters never wanted anywhere near them because it meant a quick, painful and horrifying death. This world was built on a lack of trust and survival of the fittest. If I had been a character in this book, I would have been eaten.


    Amy was definitely a character with strong survival instincts. She was emotionally strong, brave and loyal. She was also lonely and desperate for human contact and even Baby, her constant companion, wasn’t enough for her. It was searching for that human contact that had her finding herself in some precarious situations. Her attributes was what made her such a likable character to me.


    There was a slight romantic element between Amy and one of the other characters. I wouldn’t say it was anything remotely like instant love, because the characters were too busy just trying to stay alive. It was so refreshing not to have characters falling all over themselves at the first meeting.


    The interesting thing about this book was the way the back story written. I loved having the chapters in a ‘before’ and ‘after’ perspective. It let me know about previous events and how the new world evolved into how it was now. What was even more brilliant was the way it showed how Amy had a relatively normal life until ‘They’ came.


    But even more than that, it was like there were two separate stories being told. One was the ‘before’ and ‘after’ and the other, that came later, was ‘after’ and ‘before in the after’. I know how weird that sounds, but I don’t know of any other way to describe it that wouldn’t give part of the story line away.


    ‘In the After’ made me think. It made me wonder about the secrets that came to light as the story developed. As you can tell, I really enjoyed this book and possibly more than I thought I was going to, because I, well, was expecting it to be a normal sci-fi book that dealt with aliens, but it was so much more than that.


    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes sci-fi and flesh-eating monsters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had high expectations for In the After. From the moment I read

    I had high expectations for In the After. From the moment I read the description I could not wait to get my hands on this book.

    Imagine living in a silent world. Sound is death. Daylight is death. You can only travel at night and even then, the probability of dying is still high if you make even the slightest of sounds. Amy is one of the few who have learned to live in the After. The Before was peaceful and normal. Amy went to school, had sleepovers, and there weren't monsters. The After is a living nightmare. The After is full of monsters that eat human flesh.

    In the After has one of the best openings I have ever read. From the moment I started, I was hooked. The book was split into three parts and, if I have to pick which of those were my favorite, it would have to be part one. Part two and three were great, but in part one, Amy was really in the thick of it. She was sneaking around, living from day to day, risking death almost every night in an effort to gather food and not starve. I really enjoyed the rawness of the world around her and everything that living alone in the After brought.

    Part two and three kind of settled the story into the more typical dystopian novel that you find. There's a new government and they're oppressive. Actually, the propaganda the characters there would spout annoyed me to no end. But I'm okay with that though because it annoyed Amy too. I liked that she didn't buy in to any of it. She went and did her own thing. She didn't blindly follow crazy Dr. Reynolds and her stupid mother. And what did she get for not "falling into line"? Amy was placed in the Ward and drugged. From the moment I met him, I instantly hated Dr. Reynolds. One of the reasons why I liked Amy so much as a character was because even though she couldn't see everything I could, she wasn't stupid. She didn't buy into any of it or trust anyone easily even though some of the people she cared about there did. She listened to her instincts.

    The writing was gripping and really kept my attention. The plot moved forward at a nice pace. I didn't particularly enjoy having to read through drug-induced Amy's perspective. I was actually kind of annoyed but it wasn't that big of a deal. I think it was a different approach to the story and I appreciate that. Luckily, drug-induced Amy didn't really narrate that much. Those snips mostly consisted of her trying to remember why she's at the Ward. Then they would cut off to where part one left off and the story continued.

    Just for clarification, the Ward is basically an asylum. Of course, you could go with what the characters there called it and say "it's a place where people go to get better." Yeah, sure. Straight up lies. If you go to the Ward, you don't come back. That much was clear from the beginning. The Ward is the place the new government puts people that they say couldn't adapt. This translates to people who learn too much about Them (the monsters) or who don't agree with the oppressive society.

    Over all, I really enjoyed In the After. I just think that it would have been better without the whole oppressive society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       The set-up is so creepy, I cannot imagine these aliens, Them.

       The set-up is so creepy, I cannot imagine these aliens, Them. They are so strong, but Amy luckily finds their weaknesses and even though her parents don't survive, their eccentricities from life helps her to survive in this almost post-apocalyptic setting. At first Amy thinks she is alone, the last person alive, but then she finds Baby, and runs into people slowly. 
        I loved the sisterly relationship between Amy and Baby, it kept me emotionally invested in the story while the encounters with Them, and the challenges of staying alive kept me involved with action and plot. 
        I was eager to find out more about this strong alien, why they are there, and how they got there. How others besides Amy survived, and where this mysterious group of other survivors mentioned in the synopsis would come into play. Demitria Lunetta gives those answers little pieces at a time, and keeps me reading with her great world building and attention to detail. Its intense, a little gritty, and the pacing is great throughout. 
       I enjoyed Amy's character, she is smart, snarky and resourceful. While she does what she has to in order to survive, she has a heart that is big and beautiful. She rescues Baby, and she takes in others. She still cares for others despite what she went through. 
       The jumps in time starting around 30% confused me though. I know that was the point because we are in Amy's head and she obviously doesn't know what is going on either. When I started getting suspicions of why she was drugged and confused I didn't like it but I knew that it was all part of the storyline, and like a sucker punch to the gut. 
        I didn't have it all right, but there were a few things I was right about and then other twists that caught me completely by surprise. 
        There was a hint of romance, and I hope that the next book advances it a little more, but I am okay with that. It was kind of refreshing for that not to be a driving factor in the book. 
        The ending is crazy, and all that it should have been for the book except that it was a bit of a cliffie but it left me yearning for the next book which I will definitely be reading. 




    Bottom Line: Chilling story of survival

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. Would love to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For such a long time I¿ve been pretty much dying to read In The

    For such a long time I’ve been pretty much dying to read In The After by author Demitria Lunetta. The premise had me hooked and right from the opening chapter I knew I was going to be in love with this read. In The After is Aliens meets The Walking Dead and is also an amazing novel that had me hooked until the very end.

    Taking place after aliens land on Earth, main character Amy has lived for the last few years thinking solely of her survival. The aliens that came to Earth are vicious creatures that hunger for flesh. They’re faster than humans, they hunt in daylight and if they hear you you’re dead. Amy has lived in completely silence with Baby, a little girl who Amy has been protecting. Amy believes that everything from her life from Before is dead.  When Amy and Baby are both saved and taken to a small town of surviving humans known as New Hope.

    It’s in New Hope where Amy learns that some of her life from Before has survived. However not everything in New Hope is what it appears to be and it’s ruled by a psychiatrist whose eerie nature is known to Amy. She is soon integrated into New Hope’s society and begins to understand the new way of life that comes with it. New Hope is everything somebody going through the After could want and has everything she needs for survival—but there’s something wrong with it and once Amy discovers what’s wrong she’ll have to fight to protect both herself and Baby.

    The monsters in In The After are scary, terrifying and everything that I think Earth-ending aliens in YA should be. They are basically the threat in every zombie flick but instead of zombies they’re super enhanced aliens. I know that every chapters that they were included in had my skin creeping and crawling. The perfect details had my imagination not only visualizing them in the most frightening ways possible but also had me hoping that for the good of the characters that they would be quiet enough for them to survive an encounter.

    I really liked the main character Amy. She is everything that a female heroine should be. She’s kind, caring while also hardened and willing to do whatever it takes to survive. Her relationship with  Baby is amazing. They have a sister bond but Amy also takes care of Baby like a mother would. Baby’s her responsibility and she’ll do whatever it takes to keep her safe. Amy and Baby are two survivors that know the cost of life outside of New Hope and they both know the proper ways to fight for the chance to live. I loved these girls and admire them.

    New Hope is creepy and it’s the type of creepy that readers will really enjoy. You don’t really know what’s wrong with the town but as it’s true nature begins to get revealed readers will definitely begin to grow unsettled. Along with the fast pace that is set up with the novel and the characters in New Hope, some good and some wicked—this is a read that you have to fall in love with in some way or form. There’s just too much awesome to not like.

    I would recommend In The After to readers who are looking forward to reading a dystopian novel that will keep them guessing and have them falling in love. Readers who want a strong female protagonist will love this read. Definitely worth checking out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    LOVED IT. Yes it had a few bits and pieces that were not exactly

    LOVED IT. Yes it had a few bits and pieces that were not exactly cohesive but I still loved it. :D Would love to read MORE! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2