Customer Reviews for

In the Arms of Mr. Darcy

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style

IN THE ARMS OF MR. DARCY is the latest installment in Sharon Lathan's joyous celebration of married love, Regency style. A year has passed since Darcy's and Elizabeth's wedding. The story opens with a Christmas party at Pemberley where they introduce their brand-new son...
IN THE ARMS OF MR. DARCY is the latest installment in Sharon Lathan's joyous celebration of married love, Regency style. A year has passed since Darcy's and Elizabeth's wedding. The story opens with a Christmas party at Pemberley where they introduce their brand-new son, Alexander. Compared to their tumultuous courtship, Darcy's and Elizabeth's lives are now mainly happy, with, of course, a little sturm und drang along the way. Darcy must deal with the business and emotional fallout of a death that occurred when a cotton mill he owns burns down. A nervous Elizabeth and Georgiana suffer through the gyrations required for their presentation at court. The Darcys enjoy a trip to the Peaks District, except when a falling boulder threatens Elizabeth and Alexander. Darcy, true hero that he is, whisks them to safety. Although Elizabeth and Darcy revel in domestic bliss, other members of their family are not so lucky. Elizabeth's sister, Kitty, enjoys and suffers through her first fluttering of love. And Col. Fitzwilliam's tentative romance with a lady who caught his eye years ago resurfaces. I love Col. Fitzwilliam's story. I've added him right next to Mr. Darcy on my Favorite Heroes list. If most of these events sound ordinary, it's because they are. Ms. Lathan's genius is to spin the everyday occurrences of married life into a page-turner. In a world full of strife, this book full of happiness is a treat for all. ARC provided by Sourcebooks

posted by LindaBanche on October 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Though I usually like these "continuation novels" for Pride and Prejudice, I found this one disappointing. The end was unsatisfying and I felt that the characters, (Darcy in particular) changed too much from the original book. There were a few story lines that I liked, ...
Though I usually like these "continuation novels" for Pride and Prejudice, I found this one disappointing. The end was unsatisfying and I felt that the characters, (Darcy in particular) changed too much from the original book. There were a few story lines that I liked, but they did not develop to completion. I felt that I was left hanging. There were things that I liked about the book, but by the end I was bored with the long, drawn out descriptions of what went on in the bedroom. Overall, I would not recommend this book to a true Pride and Prejudice fan...

posted by NburiedinabookN on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style More Joyous Married Love, Regency Style

    IN THE ARMS OF MR. DARCY is the latest installment in Sharon Lathan's joyous celebration of married love, Regency style. A year has passed since Darcy's and Elizabeth's wedding. The story opens with a Christmas party at Pemberley where they introduce their brand-new son, Alexander. Compared to their tumultuous courtship, Darcy's and Elizabeth's lives are now mainly happy, with, of course, a little sturm und drang along the way. Darcy must deal with the business and emotional fallout of a death that occurred when a cotton mill he owns burns down. A nervous Elizabeth and Georgiana suffer through the gyrations required for their presentation at court. The Darcys enjoy a trip to the Peaks District, except when a falling boulder threatens Elizabeth and Alexander. Darcy, true hero that he is, whisks them to safety. Although Elizabeth and Darcy revel in domestic bliss, other members of their family are not so lucky. Elizabeth's sister, Kitty, enjoys and suffers through her first fluttering of love. And Col. Fitzwilliam's tentative romance with a lady who caught his eye years ago resurfaces. I love Col. Fitzwilliam's story. I've added him right next to Mr. Darcy on my Favorite Heroes list. If most of these events sound ordinary, it's because they are. Ms. Lathan's genius is to spin the everyday occurrences of married life into a page-turner. In a world full of strife, this book full of happiness is a treat for all. ARC provided by Sourcebooks

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Great Book

    If you Pride and Prejudice variations--Sharon Lathan is a great author to read. I have read almost all of her books and not been disappointed in any of them. Before you buy any of her books--do so research--I think 3 or 4 titles go in a series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Well written

    Very good sequel it is what i would of thought jane would of written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Every since I read Pride and Prejudice, I have been obsessed with Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth. I am wanting to read all about them. Love the storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing.

    One of the best books i ever read. I could not put it down. The love the Darcy's share is impecable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Highly Recommend.

    This is how love should be. Life is not perfect and we endure hard times, but this book shows that true love overcomes. I love that Darcy is a believer and heads his home as such. Elizabeth has a strong sense of independence, but yet molds so perfectly under his guidance. Love story set on Godly principles that will leave you addicted to this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Another Unforgettable Story from Sharon Lathan!!!

    Sharon Lathan has a way of writting with such detail, history and love that Darcy and Elizabeth shine throughout her saga. She does it again in Book 4 ,In the Arms of Mr. Darcy. Darcy and Elizabeth are still deeply in love and Sharon shows the reader the depths of emotions of love Darcy and Elizabeth have for each other. We are introduced and you will fall love with Alexander, their first born! It brought me back so many memories. Sharon has a way of writting that you believe that you are there! Readers will be happy to see the bond that Elizabeth has with Darcy's sister and the preparations for her first ball! You will also read about Kitty, Dr. Darcy and Jane and Charles birth of their first child. Caroline Bingley has an attraction to someone - will she find love in this book? and will Fitzwilliam also find love with an old friend? The book is romantic, sexy and splendid! So fall in love again and if you dont have her other books in the Saga - go find them. You will find yourself going back and re-reading them over and over again.

    Sit back and enjoy the Darcys in Sharon Lathan's vision and see what is in her heart.
    Seli

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to series

    This latest book in the Darcy saga continues after the birth of the heir of Pemberley. It enchantingly continues the Darcy's perpetually loving relationship and introduces some wonderful subplots. Richard at last finds the love of his life and his courtship is well detailed and as amusing as the rest of the series has been. A glimpse at Caroline Bingley's life reveals an absolutely enchanting rogue that captured my attention immediately. The character, who is not supposed to be a good guy, sweeps Caroline (and yes, me too) of her feet. He is crass, a rake, and positively enchanting. I would love for Lathan to write more about him for those of us who find the rogues as appealing as the honorable and passionate Darcys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is amazing. This whole series is a real treat. It has the prefect amount of action and romance. Couldn't put it down, I loved it so much and now I buy every book she has put out in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Love

    I wish this would be a movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    This book was a wonderful addition to the Darcy Saga by Lathan. I was extremely pleased with it and can't wait for the novella it promises will come. Definately for people who are hopeless romantics...(like me!) In short, amazing! Love Mr. Darcy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    An amazing love story!

    I am a huge Jane Austin fan, but have often felt disappointed that I could not continue to follow the lives of her characters. Sharon Lathan's novels have enchanted me again with the lives of Darcy and Elizabeth, and allowed me to follow their marriage and the joy of their first child. I have read each of her stories more than once and am eagerly anticipating the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    I read again and again

    One of my favorite things about Jane Austen is that she let her characters have a happy ending. However, many wannabe writers butcher this and have Darcy and Elizabeth's marriage fall apart, miscarriages, and deaths left and right. Ms. Lathan manages to incorporate real life challenges, while still providing the happy ever after aspect that made me fall in love with Lizzy and Darcy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    This is the 4th book in the series by Sharon Lathan! This book explores Darcy and Elizabeth's first year as parents. More trials for them to overcome and happy moments with family. In depth character development for George, Georgiana, Kitty, Mary and Col. Fitzwilliam. I can't wait for book #5 The Trouble with Mr. Darcy!! Thank you Sharon for sharing your talent with us! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Wonderful ride!

    I throughly enjoy this series. Sharon Lathan is an incredible writer and each one feels like it could go along with P&P as a legit continuation. I'm on my 3 read through the series and each time I am reminded what a wonderful ride it is. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    The BEST P&P Sequel you will ever find!

    I cannot say enough about these books! I have been reading P&P variations and sequels for years and the characters and storylines in Sharon's books are by far the best! The passion between Darcy and Lizzy is wonderful and the details of their daily lives make me feel as if I am part of their family. The time between each of Sharon's books is excrutiating long but the read of each novel is well worth the torture of waiting! Keep them coming, Sharon!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    It is getting better and better!

    I have to admit: I absolutely love the books of Sharon Lathan! I am a huge fan and admirer of her Darcy Saga.
    This is part 4 of the Saga and it is as incredible as the other three books. Here, the first chapters belong to Alexander, the newborn son of Elizabeth and William. His birth, first christmas and christening are really amazing to read. You can feel the bond that surrounds this family.
    Other great chapters are the ball at Grosvenor Square, the introduction of Elizabeth and Georgiana to the Prince Regent and a trip to the Peak District. You can never put the Darcy Saga too far away. There never passes a week when I don´t read a chapter in one of the 4 books.
    Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy are my favourite couple. Sharon Lathan is an exceptional writer. She can give us a wonderful story and a lot of historic details. It is such a joy to read these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Must read for Austen fans!

    This book is wonderful! I read it twice in 2 days! I love reading her work and look forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3