Customer Reviews for

In the Belly of Jonah (Liv Bergen Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 21 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Good read

    Enjoyed this book. Characters were real and suspense good. Will definitely read her second book of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Excellent!

    What an interesting story! Although the book started out a little more gruesome than I like, the creepy feeling as the story moves through the gory details creates the necessary feeling of the evil from the serial killer.

    When Liv Bergen's former schoolmate and FBI profiler turns her home into a command post for the investigation of the murder of Liv's employee, she has no choice but to get involved. This is a very suspenseful story that does well to introduce each character and develop the relationships throughout. The character of Liv is a strong, smart, independent and likeable female character.

    I loved that there were hints of a possible romance and enjoyed watching for the early developments between the two characters. I can't wait for the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    The gruesome, bizarre murder of college student, Jill Brannigan,

    The gruesome, bizarre murder of college student, Jill Brannigan, sets off a series of events to find the serial killer known as "Venus de Milo".
    Liv "Boots" Bergen, manager of a limestone mine, becomes an unknowing amateur sleuth as she is swept into the investigation to track and find this killer.
    His murders have hit too close to home for Liv, and she is willing to do anything to bring him down. Streeter Pierce is an FBI agent who leads the investigation, and is impressed with the clues Liv has unearthed that have gotten him closer to finding the identity of the killer.
    Time is running out, however, and both their lives are in danger. Which one of them will be the killer's next target?

    I loved this suspenseful, mystery/thriller very much because author Sandra Brannan gets the reader right into the action in each chapter.
     You feel you are solving the crime, along with Liv and the detectives. But, just when you think you know who the killer is, there is a plot twist that keeps you guessing.
    This is an exciting, fast-paced, edge of your seat, page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    This is the first book in a series that pits feisty, Liv Bergan

    This is the first book in a series that pits feisty, Liv Bergan against  a sick twisted 'artist' serial killer, with a strange deadly fascination with the artist Salvatore Dali.




      Liv manages her families limestone quarry in Fort Collins, Colorado. When one of her summer interns is found dead in a very strange pose on the beach, the mystery pulls her inquiring intelligence into helping her FBI friend discover meaning to parts of the crime scene.




    I really enjoyed the intelligence of the clues.  The action was fast passed and led to a number of possible suspects. Liv, as a character, is very intelligent, fascinating and appealing.  I understand that in the next installment, this will segue into a love interest with an FBI agent that became very important to Liv in this first book.   I'm looking forward to starting book two immediately!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Best book ever

    This book is great i wiah it was longer. But screeter and liv dont even meet in this book. If you liked this book then you shoud read the second one lpts return to sodom its even better You also really have look into the detas because it will lead you to the de milo muderer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Read it,,

    I loved this book. Also its sequel. It is a great mystery pay attenrion to detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Excellent Story

    Really liked this book. Great mystery and suspense. Love Special Agent Streeter Pierce and Liv Bergen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Great read!

    In the Belly of Jonah is a fantastic debut mystery. The author manages the almost impossible feat of making the serial killer terrifying, but not so repulsive or nasty that you want to stop reading. Liv Bergen, the story's amateur detective, has the very unusual job of running a mining company. The many details and terrific atmosphere at the limestone quarry make for a unique setting. I can't wait for more books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    While reading In the Belly of Jonah, I couldn't help but be in awe. It's not very often that I become addicted to an author just from reading their first novel. Sarah's book is a breath of fresh air and her writing ability is unbelievable. If you're a mystery fan, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    I LOVE A GREAT MYSTERY - "In the Belly of Jonah" was GREAT!

    I'm an avid reader of the mystery/thriller genre and I just read "In the Belly of Jonah" - I LOVED IT! The main character of "In the Belly of Jonah" is a smart, young, independent, irreverent and very spunky woman named Liv Bergen who runs a limestone mine near Fort Collins, Colorado. Liv gets caught up in solving a murder investigation when she discovers the body of a summer intern (who worked for her in the mine) with a "window" cut into her body. The reader discovers who the killer is relatively early in the book and this "inside knowledge" keeps you on the edge of your seat as Liv and the investigative team try to solve the murder. There are also some unexpected twists and turns that added to the excitement. I especially got a kick out of Liv's sense of humor, and I'm looking forward to seeing how Ms. Brannan further develops Liv (her eight siblings call her "Boots") in the 2nd book of the Liv Bergen mystery series.

    Sandra Brannan, is a relatively new author to the Mystery/Thriller genre so I was intrigued and did a little research after I read her book. This is her first novel in the Liv Bergen series, and it has already grabbed the attention of Independent Booksellers across the US (a pretty good indication of a great book!). "In the Belly of Jonah" was recently named as a notable in the Mystery/Thriller genre for the Indie Next Pick by the American Booksellers Association.

    "In the Belly of Jonah" is a fast-paced, real page-turning thriller that was hard for me to put down. I simply loved it and would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a great mystery!
    Enjoy!
    LEALS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 21 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2