BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Jacky vs. the Bloodhound

    While reading this book I felt like I was in the belly of the Bloodhound. I could hear the chains rattling and the ship creaking with every toss of a wave. Louis Meyer is, in my opinion, an extraordinary writer. He makes the words literally come alive. Jacky's courage and bravado are an example every girl should follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    These novels are AWESOME! Someone who DOESN'T read LA Meyer is missing something! His writing is a real treat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    When Jacky makes it back to the rebuilt Lawson Peabody School for Young Girls, she doesn't expect to be welcomed. Surprisingly, she is taken in once again. But her peace-and-quiet doesn't last long when she and her classmates are abducted and forced onto a slave ship, the Bloodhound. Jacky, not even with all her wit and craftiness, can get the girls out of this predicament without some help. And if that means help from enemies, so be it. Who knew there could be so much adventure while stuck on a slaver? Mr. Meyer's writing blows my mind, as always. This is a truly amazing tale, and I recommend it to anyone. This is definitely one of my favorite books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    very fabulous. Jacky Faber is my hero. she is not shy about what she thinks and she is strong and just a great role model. plus the book is beautifully written and it just sucks you into the book. For me any book that can do that has got to be a good one. its funny, scary, exciting.... everything! Jacky Faber Rules!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    A great addition to Jacky's tale

    The previous book in this series really slowed down and lost the charm of the original for me, but this one picks it right back up again! It took a bit to get to the capture part, but for me, when the story got slow it didn't take long to once again be hard to put down. Gotta love those Lawson ladies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another can't put down Jacky novel!

    Meyer continues the incredible adventures of Jacky Farber with yet more excellent historical background and great realism. Each of these novels is just a bit different and raises historical and societal issues of the place and time. This novel centers on the issues of slavery and that becomes all too real as these young women of the Lawson Peabody School are captured and sent to be slaves in hareems across the ocean. Meyer develops strong but different women characters in this novel who do effect their escape. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

    verryy good book I loved it I reacomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    We are shoved roughly down the hatch, through a barred door, and into the very belly of the Bloodhound, down into the very pit of hell itself.

    We have Jacky lying low back at the Lawson Peabody School For Young Girls after finding out that she's wanted for Piracy. What starts out as a field trip turns into a kidnapping. Jacky must use her knowledge to help calm the other girls as they all headed to be sold while aboard a ship called the Bloodhound. As the days go by Jacky and the girls try to plan to escape while keeping themselves busy with exploring the ship by splitting up into three groups led by Clarissa, Dolley and Jacky who meets someone from her days back when she was "Little Mary." It seems that with each book the series gets even better. The ending left me thinking, you've got to be kidding me. So read the book for yourselves to know more if and only if you've read the other ones before this. Well onto the book 5 then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    THIS IS A MUST READ!!!!

    This series is GREAT! I love the incredibly cunning, resourceful, and teenage Jacky, the heroine of the story who is a VERY adventurous girl. This book will have you staying up late at night to finish it and getting up early the next morning to buy the next book in the series. If you love adventure and action, Jacky Faber is the girl for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Incredible! best book ever!

    this series is amazing! it always leaves you wanting more but still is able to satisfy. the author, shockingly, is not female, but is an amazing writer and gives the books so many elements and twists its not possibe to get bored. this book was freaken awesome, and does not dissapoint. trust me. if you read the first, well then what are you waiting for?! and if you didnt, your missing out. this book definitely deserves five stars, but if i could give it six, i would.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    In the Belly of the Bloodhound

    In this installmentto the Bloody Jack series, Jacky has to go to sea with a whole new group of sailors. But these sailors are less salty and more sassy. The way Jacky delt with being at sea with 30+ distressed girls was better that most could. The plot was well written as always in this series. Not my favorite book in the series, but still, it is an amazing noval I recommend to all who can read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    Best one in the series so far!

    After escaping from the ship taking her back to England Jacky goes back to Boston and the school that has now been rebuilt to hide out. But adventure doesn't leave Jacky alone. She and the other girls are kidnapped by a slave ship to be sold to Arabs. Jacky takes charge of the frightened girls and puts them to work planning their escape. Even though Clarissa and Jacky are enemies they have to work together in order to escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Is there a fifth book for the 'Bloody Jack' series?

    I love this series and I never tire of it! Can't wait for the next book although the ending of the fourth was very- dull. I highly recommend this book to teens and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    This entire series is terrific. I love to read and have read the entire series in about two weeks. I can not wait for the next one to come out. I recommend that anyone who loves or even barely ever reads, to read this series. You definetely wont be disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Magnifique!

    Absolutely love this series! And every time a new book comes out it's better than the last. Though the first is always the best. Can't imagine how he does it every time. There just has to be a 5th book coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    WoW

    Oh My Gosh, I loved this book. I thought the begining was a tad slow but all in all it worked wonderfully. If anybody knows what the next book is called and/or when it will be released please post it. I love these books. I hope she gets another ship! That would be so awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    A fascinating read for one and all!

    Just a quickie to let those of you, who like me, are a far cry from their high school days, that Jacky's adventures are as fascinating and exciting for us, as for those her own age. Bloodhound is non-stop adventure in a historical setting that brings the horror of the slave trade home in a way not yet experienced. Three cheers for Lou Meyer for sharing such a great story with those of us who adore a great armchair adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    WOW!!!!!!!

    This was an amazing book! I loved it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Great writer and fun books!

    If this is the first book of the Bloody Jack adventures you have read, you should read the others. They are all good, but this one is by far the best. These books are filled with so much action, that you can not put the book down. Hopefully Meyer will keep up the good work, and write some more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    This is seriously the best book ever!!!

    I have never read a better book!!! I totally fell in love with it I got just a couple days ago and already read it 3 times going on 4! If Meyer doesn't come out with another one I will be really upset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5