Customer Reviews for

In the Company of Cheerful Ladies (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Gift to the WORLD

    My Family knows and anyone else reading this will know.. On my wish list is this entire series It's a must Read. HBO really needed to continue this project.. but in the meantime its just as fun to read! Enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    Excellent audiobook!!!

    The books are charming, but once you hear Lisette Lecat perform on these audiobooks, you will be fully hooked and the world of Precious Ramotswe and Botswana will be forever in your heart. I've loved the books, but rather than rereading them, I listen to these CDs over and over. I recommend that you try the whole series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Characters Who Connect

    After reading this and the previous 5 in the series this was one of my very favorites. By Book 6 I had a greater appreciation of the main characters. They were always enjoyable reading but being with them from the time they first enter the story and following them through all sorts of situations added to my understanding of them and their actions or reactions. The intriguing mysteries and challenges they encounter are enhanced by understanding who they are. Although many interesting characters appear there are only a few main characters and to have been in their company for 6 books has been a pleasure, a pleasure that I look forward to continuing in Book 7 and beyond.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Cheerful Ladie I Am

    I love this series. It hold your interest and you cannot wait for the next book to come out. I appreciate that the isn't the overt sexual content that many other authors' books always seem to have. It's safe to leave out around your children. That's a major plus for me, especially as a Christian mother. :'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    A beautiful story

    This beautifully written story with exquisite characters is not only humorous, but also full of wisdom in it. I particularly loved the style of writing and the amazing feel of Africa that the work generates in the reader. That feeling made me not to put it down from the moment that I began until the very end. What is more, I became drawn to Botswana after reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    Precious is flawed like the rest of us!

    I breathe a sigh of contentment when I finish a book in the No. 1 Ladies' Detective series, having spent many pleasurable hours with Mma Ramotswe and her friends in Botswana and wishing my life were as simple and rewarding. In The Company of Cheerful Ladies elicited this same response, but I have grown even fonder of Precious now that I realize she is as flawed as the rest of us and has made a few wrong turns. The sly humor and distinctive writing style envelopes the reader, as does the charming attention to the minute details of ordinary life (shoes and bush tea and a good pumpkin). I even like the fact that one of the mysteries is not solved in this novel: all problems do not have solutions and life doesn't always have a tidy ending. Oh, how I wish Precious Ramotswe lived next door to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Another wonderful, warm installment of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series!

    I think that other than the first book, this one is my favorite in the series. Mma Ramotswe's cleverness is not quite at the forefront of this book, (although she is still as warm and wise as ever.) This allows others, such as Mma Makutsi, Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni, (and even new characters) to shine; (and shine, they do!) At one point this book made me gasp with surprise. Many other passages brought me a smile (as the books in this series always do!). A few times I even laughed out loud. If you're in need of something to read which will guarantee the warm fuzzies, I highly recommend The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series. I also recommend that if this interests you, begin with the first in the series (the same title as the series, itself.) These are my favorite books in the world, hands down! I just adore Mma Ramotswe, Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni, their friends, and their world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    A Return to Form

    My book club read The Full Cupboard of Life for our meeting last month, and (as I have long been a fan of this series), I felt the need to read the next book in the series! I like to wait for the softcover version, so I was thrilled to get it for the nicer softcover price. After the last book, which I enjoyed greatly but found to sometimes stretch the boundaries of believability, I felt that McCall Smith returned to his usual good form in this book. The introduction of two major new characters (a new employee for the garage/detective agency, and a new beau for the somewhat challenge Mma Makutsi, or as everyone else seems to call her, Mma 97%) breathes fresh life into the series. Both are very lovely and likable characters who are perfect extensions to the family that Mma Ramotswe likes to surround herself with. The detective stories seem to be taking an increasing back seat, which isn't really a problem as they've never been the focus of the series anyway. The mysteries to be solved are usually resolved by someone simply flapping their gums and telling a secret - though, strangely, the mystery that opens the book is never solved (perhaps it will be revisited in the sequel). One thing that I really enjoyed was the author's increasing exploration of the occasionally moderately contentious relationship between Mma Ramotswe & Mma Makutsi...as Makutsi has come into her own more and more, she has begun to chafe a bit under Mma Ramotswe's direction, and the two occasionally get on each other's nerves. This is a lovely breath of realism in a series noted for its idealism. All in all, recommended, though newbies should probably start with the earier books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    good read

    I have read all the books in this series, and I have loved all of them, including this one. However, I was a little disappointed that he didnt develop the mystery cases a little more. But, all in all, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Another good job!

    I spent a whole day reading this book -- I have a lexicon of Setswana/Botswana terms typed up so I didn't have to spend time with the dictionary on this one -- & enjoyed it thoroughly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    No6 is OK by me

    Lovely writing and inspired characters. An old cliche, but I could not put this down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Very Good but not Great

    I have read all the books in these series and loved them all. This particular book however was a little different from the rest in that the main character, Mma Ramotswe, was not in her take charge problem solving mode. I missed her laughter and her humor. I expect her to be in charge, wise, and clever. I also enjoyed sizing up the people coming to the agency to ask for help. It was interesting to see how their problems were solved in different chapters in the book. In this particular book some things came together in the end. All the previous books in the series I rate a five star, this one I rate a four star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3