Customer Reviews for

In The Company Of Heroes

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Michael Durant is definitely a hero!

    In this book Michael Durant gives a very detailed biography of his history of being a helicopter pilot, his capture in Somalia after being shot down, and his release. Michael is serving in Somalia 1993 when his helicopter got hit by an RPG and sent him spiraling to the ground. After a firefight and two brave delta force personnel tried to hold off Somali civilians, Michael was the only one left alive at the crash site. From the crash Michael suffered a broken back, broken femur, and a broken cheek bone. The civilians took him hostage, and handed him over to the Somali National Alliance (SNA) who kept him as a prisoner of war. The SNA moved him around three times, and showed him hospitality after the first two days. He was then looked after by a caring Somali named Frimbri, got medical attention, and saw a Red Cross worker. After eleven days he was released and was back in United States territory.
    The book was incredible and inspiring. Michael Durant showed great courage and bravery. He may not want the fame but I think that he deserves it. There is a good point in the book, "look back, but don't stare", and I think that everyone should do just that. Michael sets a good example for everyone to follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    one of the best war books i have read

    I have read many war books in my life but all I can say about this book is that this book took me to the edge of my seat. In this true story called In The Company Of Heroes by Michael J. Durant, is about Mr. Durant life in the army, and how he serviced all the wars he has been in. The publisher for this book was NAL Trade 'May 4, 2004'. The setting of this story is located in many places like the Battle of Mogadishu, Korea, the Persian Gulf Thailand, Panama, and Iraq. This book has a lot of settings because Michael travels to all of these places when he was on his missions. The general setting is around the world because he is traveling all around the world. The main character in this book is Michael J. Durant. He has a wife and kid back home in America, and also he is in the army, which he has been serving for many years. This character has been threw everything and still manages to stay alive. Mr. Durant is one of the best soldiers in his crew and protects them like family on every mission no matter what. I relate to this character by wanting to fallow my dreams to become one of the best firemen I can be, and also protect them like family in every call we get. The conflict begins when US military forces launched Operation Restore Hope, this operation was supported by the UN to feed poor people or starving people in Somalia. The major events in the rising action are, when an RPG 'Rocket Propelled Grenade' shot down Durant¿s Black Hawk from the air and landed hard into the ground. It killed his crew and left him injured, and was captured by the mob. Durant, was now a POW 'Prisoner of War' he did not hesitate and thought about his training and his solid moral foundation, by using both of these tactics, he survived and to prepared for the worst yet to happen, and, the military sent in the search and rescue to find Durant and bring him back home. The climax arrives when two solders volunteered to protect Durant from the mob, Durant was still injured and still made it out but the two volunteers did not. Many men and women sacrifice their life to protect our country and I fell very proud to be an American. Land of the free, home of the brave. That¿s what I always say. No matter what happens, America will never give up and will never leave a man behind. Just like in this book, we don¿t give up with out a fight. The things I like about this book is that it has a lot of action and emotion. Also Mr. Durant tells his whole life experience in the wars he has been in. The things I have learned reading this book is never give up in any situation because there is always a way out of danger. If you have a good crew/ team with you, then there is no stopping you on any situation. You will live together or die together. That¿s my motto. I would recommend this book to all readers that like to read action/ war books. This book has many up¿s and down¿s in Mr. Durant¿s life. If you want to find out how he survives in many wars that he has been in, just buy this book and read it. I give it two thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Awesome and incredible story of Durant's crash and captivity

    Wow! This book is a terrific! I could hardly put the book down after I started reading it. Durant and Steven Hartov recount all the vivid and unforgettable details of the Black Hawk's crash into the heart of the most unfriendly territory - Aidid-controlled Mogadishu. The two truly heroic and fearless Delta operators, Gary Gordon and Randy Shugart, attempt to rescue Durant from a massive mob of hate-filled Somalis. Unfortunately, the operators run out of ammo and are overwhelmed by the Somalis' huge numbers. Any minute Durant expects to be literally torn or cut apart limb by limb. With a broken back and leg, Durant can do little to protect himself or get away. And then, like a miracle, he is literally pulled out of the hands of the mob and into custody by a rival warlord's clan. The story then goes on to cover Durant's initial captivity in dismal and dangerous conditions. His bone-jarring and pain-racking transfers across the pothole-filled streets of Mogadishu, being used as a seat cushion to make it past guarded checkpoints. Despite the obviously searing pain he must have felt, he managed to keep a diary and hold onto his sanity. The story goes on to describe TF Ranger's search and rescue efforts to locate him (provides a good argument for electronic tracking devices placed in military pilots) and also some behind-the-scenes American diplomatic maneuvers to secure his release (which did work). The Red Cross also visited Durant and helped get essential medicine & emotional support to him. Durant also describes the Somalis he was guarded by and his unusual Somali doctor who carried his limited medical supplies in a fishing tackle box. Besides the captivity narrative, the book is interspersed with progressive snapshots of Durant's military piloting career as an army helicopter pilot. Durant talks about his training and experiences in the blizzards of South Korea, the jungles of Panama, and gruellingly intense survival-evasion-resistance-escape school in the US. The book winds up with his repatriation, recovery, and eventual return to marathon-running and off-duty flying. The entire book is packed with action and fascinating military experiences. This book rocks! You'll be dogging bullets right next there to Durant while you're reading it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Speechless

    I have not read a entire book in years and I heard about the this book on the radio!!!! This man is a Hero along with every other service man and woman!! Worth the Read!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    Thankful for the sacrifices made.

    As a 60 crewchief, I can tell you first hand the sacrifices our soldiers make. The brave souls fighting for the 160th and all special forces groups have done so much for this country. They don't flinch in the face of death, and most would rather die so their companions can live. Mr. Durant, and all members who served in task force ranger, thank you for your sacrifices that were needlessly made do to executive and legislative mistakes made during your tour. Also more thanks go to CWO4 Durant for telling his story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    A Wonderful Read !!

    I was mezmorized, I couldn't put the book down !! The ability to relay so many details with such clarity is amazing, the sounds, the smells, his fears & memories as well the dreadful, daily pain he endured is a large part of what makes the book such a great read. This book is astounding! However, I was moved to tears when he wrote how special, sometimes painful, being the wife of a Special Operations soldier is. Its nice that someone else knows what 'extras' we endure, its not always sunshine and roses in our lives. I'm Proud to be an American and Truly Blessed to be a Lady Nightstalker.. LNSDQ !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!!

    CWO4 MICHAEL DURANT IS MY HERO!!!!!!! NOT JUST BECAUSE HE WAS A GREAT U.S. ARMY SPECIAL OPS PILOT, BUT HE IS ALSO A BEER DRINKN' PARTIER WHO LIKES ROCK N ROLL AND COOKING PIGS ALLNIGHT!!! I JUST WISH ALL HIS FRIENDS HAD MADE IT BACK WITH HIM!!!! MIKE DURANT FOR PRESIDENT!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    In the Company of Heroes

    Mike Durant's story is one of the most heart wrenching i've ever read. The two Delta Force snipers tried helplessly to save him. But in the end, they failed and lost their lives. This book is one all Americans should read. I salute Mike Durant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    In the Company of Heroes

    Durant's time in Somalia was an amazing story. From the time he was shot down to his return kept me in awe until i was finally finished. I salute all Operation Gothic Serpent veterans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    This book is amazing it is one of my all time favorites M. Duran

    This book is amazing it is one of my all time favorites M. Durant goes into great detail about his captivity as I read this I felt like I was right there beside him during his days in captivity this book will keep you glued to it definitely worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Exceptionally well-written...

    Heart-breakingly vivid look into the struggles of a hero as he constantly has to dig deeper and deeper in order to survive pure hell. Reading this book is like watching a tornado, you know that what's coming is going to be horrible, but you just can't look away...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    awesome book!!

    great story of a strong man and his blessings and strugles. great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    The story behind the Headline!

    Like a flashlight in a dark room. This book brings to light the darkness and the human side of our fighting forces, and the question of "what would
    happen if I were captured".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    Completely outstanding

    I honestly don't know what to say this book blew me out the door. I had grabbed the book when I was quickly looking for a military book that would suit my mom so she would think I was reading other stuff than just my fictional books. I'm happy that she made me buy this book and I regret always pushing it aside to read other books. Reading about Mr. Durant's experience is outstanding, saddening that people -he- went through this, and many other things. The book has a whole lot of useful information if you're like me and researching every branch you can of the military. I'll stop babbling but I got a boat load more I could say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    How do you really define a hero?

    If anyone can read this book and not label Mike Durant a hero, well, they didn't really read the book. It's been a while since a book has reduced me to tears like this. Reading it was shocking, amazing, horrifying, uplifting, and heartbreaking at the same time. Mr. Durant is an extraordinarly brave soldier, and I'm proud to be a member of the Army that has men like him serving for us. Consider this an online salute from this little private to an exceptionally brave pilot from an exceptionally brave and courageous unit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Must hear on CD!

    I heard this story on CD and I can't imagine reading the book. The book's story is read by Michael Durant himself, and to hear it literally makes you feel as if you are listening to a movie! You feel as if you are there with him and get such an amazing mental picture of what he is describing and going through. I finished it in 2 days and wished there would have been more to read..it was so awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    In the Company of Heroes

    In the company of heroes is about UH-60 pilot Michael J. Durant and his harrowing experience in captivity. The books main focus is on his experience in captivity, but other parts of the book give insight as to how he became a pilot and a myriad of his piloting experiences. The author writes with gripping detail, and the book is very suspenseful. It is also immensely depressing, like the part at the crash sight,(you would know if you had seen the Black Hawk Down movie.) This is a great add to Mark Bowdens account on what happened on that fateful day, October 3rd, 1993, in Mogadishu, and may every soul feel pity to what happened to the men on that great and noble undertaking. End.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    In the Company of Heroes

    Mike Durant's story is one that should be read by all Americans. This is one of the most dramatic and inspiring POW stories ever told or experienced. This book will be remembered for years to come. Top notch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    Simply Awesome!!!

    A must read for anyone interested in the Somalian conflict and Special Ops. It really enhances, clarifies, and rounds out the book BHD's account of Durant's capture and imprisonment by the SNA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    It's a shame I've only got two thumbs to hold up.

    The fact that I've been given the option to review Mike Durant's book is a testament to his courage. Haven't even read it yet. But He gets the benefit of the doubt that the five star's are well deserved. Personal note: Since that mission was so hush-hush at the time. It now makes the group I was a part of in Sept 93, helping to rebuild a Elementary School in Vilinuis, Lithuania. A little less noble sounding than it did at the time. Some of the pics of what Soviet Troops did to try to suppress the uprising weren't quite as lightwieght in comparison though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4