Customer Reviews for

In the Company of Others (Father Tim Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The wonderful story - great read!

This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I...
This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I so enjoyed this novel set in Ireland. Father Tim's advice to Anna about dealing with problem children was so true and simple I underlined it to read again and be able to share with friends. A cast of many when you factor in the journal sub story and a fresh setting but in the company of old friends - Tim and Cynthia. I loved the dialect and thought she captured it very well. A mark of a great writer; I want so badly to go to Broughadoon. Could not put it down and can't wait for the next book. A wonderful writer and a warm and admirable lady.

posted by ErieChild on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Big Disappointment

How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about...
How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about half way through the book as I write, and I have serious doubts whether I will make it to the end. In the next book I hope Karon brings Father Tim and Cynthia back home where we can enjoy their adventures with the characters we have come to know and appreciate.

posted by 1016957 on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Simply loved it

    Yes, it is different from the Mitford series. It is another link in the Fr. Tim series that reveals more of the man, his mind and his abiding faith. I did not want to read it too fast becaiae I did not want tje tale to end.

    I felt like I always do at the end of these books, that I want to be more like Fr. Tim. The challenge then is to put his gentle ways and faithfilled lifestyle into practice.

    Thanks, Jan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    I looked forward to joining Father Tim for another journey. How

    I looked forward to joining Father Tim for another journey. However, I did not enjoy this trip. Perhaps I just didn't like the characters at Cathamore . Or maybe Father Tim's godly wisdom wasn't as plain for me to see. The story is interesting enough that I read to the end. There's a lot of jumping around between the past and the present through use of a journal. It may be that this is what made this my least favorite Karon novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I would highly recommend this book!

    As with all the other Father Tim books, I love this one. Jan Karon has a way of making you think you actually know these characters. She doesn't "tidy up" people...they are who they are. Being of Irish descent, I also enjoyed the beautiful descriptions of the people and scenery of Ireland. Patiently awaiting book #3?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Excellent reading. I have read the Mitford series and enjoyed t

    Excellent reading. I have read the Mitford series and enjoyed the first Father Tim novel: Home to Holly Springs.
    I especially enjoy the more complete sense of plot in these 2 Father Tim novels and now I'm wondering if there will be another? Dear Jan: Please continue. I truly enjoy your writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Uplifting and a good beach read

    You'll love Father Tim and his bride, Cynthia. They've travelled to Ireland for Cynthia's birthday and help the family in whose home they are staying. Each of the characters are real people with real emotions and heartaches. This is one of many books about Father Tim and I've enjoyed every one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Waste of Time and Money

    Only the second book I have never been able to finish. I am so disappointed. I eagerly awaited another book from Karon about this wonderful set of characters and was so bored with every word. I'll wait for the reviews on the next book prior to purchasing. Has Karon lost her way?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I have read all of the Mitford series and this one is by far the best! A whole new set of characters - transports you to Ireland and actually has you feeling as if you were there! Would love to see another book continuing on with this new cast and what becomes of all of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    highly recommended

    It was great-I am waiting for more Mitford series though

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Just can,t get into it

    I have loved all of Karon's books except this one. I thought it was just my starting to read so late at night that I had trouble following the plot of this book. Maybe not. Don't think I'll finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Good follow up to #1 of the series

    Entertaining and just enough "Mystery" to keep you interested. So
    far both books in this series have been enjoyable reading. They are
    very easy to read and yet have enough plot to keep your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Not my favorite!

    I found this book difficult to follow. I wish the old Father Tim from Mitford would return. I prefered those books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Beautiful, lovely story. I'm a better person for having read it.

    I forgot how much I love Father Tim until I delved into this book. I love his words of wisdom, his great capacity to love others in his humble, honest way. I was not disapointed as this story if full of the themes you expect from a Jan Karon novel:love, forgiveness, redemption, family, and a little mystery.

    The only drawback I had with the story was that at first it was difficult to keep track of the characters as there are many new ones introduced right at the beginning. After a while though, I got to know these interesting characters in the same way that I grew to know the beloved citizens of Mitford.

    Overall, I am a better person for having read this book. I am reminded that family is more than those related by blood, that God loves me no matter how often or far I wander, and that the smallest of kind acts can be a large blessing to someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    I highly recommended it!

    One of her best Father Tim books. I loved it and look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Recommend

    It was an excellent book and I would recommend it; however, it was not the story I expected. I didn't really enjoy the book in the book and I had anticipated that Father Tim might find more of his own personal history. I also had been looking forward to a story including more of cousin Walter and Katherine since other books always included tidbits of the close relationship and their wholehearted support of Father Tim & Cynthia's union. I was disappointed to see them dismissed after a few pages. I thought it would have added a lot to the book to have included them. Still, I love Jan Karon books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Very Disappointing

    Not at all up to Jan Karon's usual work. Hard to keep track of the characters and their realationship to the story. Also difficult to know when the speaker is Father Tim or one of the other characters. You need to be familiar with the Irish language to follow the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Major bummer....

    I have been a fan of Jan Karon's Mitford series since the beginning...however, this book really was a disappointment for me. I received this for Christmas (gave hubby a HUGE hint) and as of today, 3/18/11, I still have not finished it, which is extraordinary for me with one of Jan's books.

    I hated having to read thejournal for page after page; I can't keep the characters straight to save my neck. Have to keep going back to try and figure out who is talking....don't mind the broug (sp?)...I watch a lot of British shows and movies, so it wasn't that part that was painful. I hated that she kept Cynthia locked up in their room with the "ankle" story. Bleh. I'm not giving up on the books, just didn't like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Forget this one!

    It's hard for me to believe that Jan Karon would claim this book as her favorite! I'm a little over halfway through it, and I am bored to tears! The plot is difficult to follow, and the characters are forgettable. I loved Karon's Mitford series, and I liked the Father Tim series until I started this book. However, I sincerely doubt if I will make a future investment in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    loved it!

    This book is such a gift! I tried to limit the number of pages I read, so I could make it last longer. This book requires more concentration because of the new characters and new setting in Ireland. If you love Tim and Cynthia, you will love this volume,too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    disappointed

    I loved her first books and fell in love with his parish. I read the reviews and it was my mistake for purchasing it anyway....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Not so great

    I was disappointed in the lastest addition to the Fr. Tim series. There was so much potential in visiting Ireland and here they were stuck with some not so interesting people in a not so interesting place. I especially did not like the "book within a book" a journal written by some early Irish physician that took up way too much space and I skipped almost all of it. I read Ms. Karon's books for the companionship of Tim & Cynthia and I would have much rather read of their adventures in what I consider to be the most magical place on earth than to have been stuck in a boring B & B. Ms. Karon owes her readers a rain check to Ireland.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14