Customer Reviews for

In the Company of Others (Father Tim Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(82)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The wonderful story - great read!

This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I...
This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I so enjoyed this novel set in Ireland. Father Tim's advice to Anna about dealing with problem children was so true and simple I underlined it to read again and be able to share with friends. A cast of many when you factor in the journal sub story and a fresh setting but in the company of old friends - Tim and Cynthia. I loved the dialect and thought she captured it very well. A mark of a great writer; I want so badly to go to Broughadoon. Could not put it down and can't wait for the next book. A wonderful writer and a warm and admirable lady.

posted by ErieChild on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Big Disappointment

How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about...
How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about half way through the book as I write, and I have serious doubts whether I will make it to the end. In the next book I hope Karon brings Father Tim and Cynthia back home where we can enjoy their adventures with the characters we have come to know and appreciate.

posted by 1016957 on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The wonderful story - great read!

    This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I so enjoyed this novel set in Ireland. Father Tim's advice to Anna about dealing with problem children was so true and simple I underlined it to read again and be able to share with friends. A cast of many when you factor in the journal sub story and a fresh setting but in the company of old friends - Tim and Cynthia. I loved the dialect and thought she captured it very well. A mark of a great writer; I want so badly to go to Broughadoon. Could not put it down and can't wait for the next book. A wonderful writer and a warm and admirable lady.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Big Disappointment

    How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about half way through the book as I write, and I have serious doubts whether I will make it to the end. In the next book I hope Karon brings Father Tim and Cynthia back home where we can enjoy their adventures with the characters we have come to know and appreciate.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Father Tim!

    I don't think my words can do this book justice. All I can say is take the time to read it. I'd also like to suggest another book, "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of forgiveness and yet, it's about so much more. I loved every minute of it. Given the chance, it too will change your life.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    low recommendation compared to others in the long time Fr. Tim series

    I have read and LOVED all the other books with the same characters. Found this book a hugh disappointment. I have visited Ireland and never once ran into the diffence in language. Found it so hard to read, and soon lost the story content.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend it

    I have to tell you up front Jan Karon is my favorite author. I've read all her books and loved all but one. That said, I'll try to give as honest a review as possible. In the Company of Others is the second book in the Father Tim series, the first being Home to Holly Springs. These two books vary from Karon's nine books in the Mitford Books series only in location and supporting characters. Father Tim is the main character in both series, but the Father Tim books are set outside of Mitford. This book takes place in the town of Sligo, Ireland where Father Tim takes his wife Cynthia to show her where he had visited ten years earlier with his cousin Walter and Walter's wife Katherine, before Tim and Cynthia were married. Throughout the book, there are references and communication with family and friends back home and Mitford fans will feel comfortable with that. What struck me throughout was how easily Father Tim slipped into the hearts of the Sligo people. Just as he did in Mitford, he spotted problems and found ways to solve them. Cynthia's foot is injured and she is unable to get around easily, leaving Father Tim to help the family members of the bed and breakfast where they are staying as well as others. Of course, Cynthia assists in handing out love and care from the bed and breakfast. The author uses a book-within-a-book approach here that I found quite effective. Father Tim and Cynthia find a handwritten journal written by a doctor who had lived in 1860's and read them since Cynthia is limited in what she could do. What amazed me was the research that must have gone into writing the 1860's story to make it historical correct. This book will hold your interest from beginning to end, and when it does end, you'll want to know when the next book in the series will be ready. I highly recommend it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ireland by armchair

    I started reading this book from the library and realized early it was going to be one of those treasured stories I would read again so I bought my own hardcover copy, something I rarely do! I have been to Ireland so I enjoyed and identified with the atmosphere and the proclaimed beauty of the land as Jan Karon wrote so well and lovingly about. The descriptions of the inn and innkeepers were entirely realistic and salty, down to some domestic problems that Father Tim was expertly able to resolve after years of unresolved heartache in the family they boarded with. Since Tim and Cynthia were marooned at the inn anyway, this was a great way to flesh out a story and add some depth to characters who would normally be marginal in a travelog. There were also other inn guests that added both comic and striking portraits of passing travelers. I also liked the flashes back in time as Tim and Cynthia read an 1860's journal that led them to solve a mysterious theft from the inn while they were there. The weaving of history, culture and atmosphere with some inspirational thoughts was a masterpiece by an author who has surpassed all her previous books with this newest work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Very disappointed!

    I love Fr. Tim, Cynthia, Dooley and all of the Mitford folks. This book was a disappointment and boring.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    Ms Karon's favorite? Not mine!

    Jan Karon states this is her favorite of all the books she has written. I can't imagine why. I was bogged down in all the irish brough, and if that wasn't enough, we had the story within the story. It was all too much. But I have loved all of her other books so I forgive the branching out for a different storyline.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    I almost fell asleep while reading this out loud. If I had read this book first, I would never have read any others. Boring does not describe this book low enough. Do not bother.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    In the Company of Others

    I was disappointed in this book. I have all the Mitford Series books, the first of the Father Tim books. I just could not get into this book. Too many "stories" I had a hard time keeping up. Also, I am not a fan of drinking and it seemed that there was just too much of that for me. I am hoping that the next book will clear up things....

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Overpriced

    Won't pay this price. Sorry publishers. Another author off my list.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    So excited

    I love Jan Karon and Father Tim. I am so excitedto know that there is a second series. I can't wait to get started reading the newest one.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Another INCREDIBLE Book from Jan Karon!!!

    She really triumphed with this one!! I have never felt when reading a novel like I'm really part of their family except with Ms. Karon's Books AND I feel I'm right there...on the trip...in the car...in the home... wherever they are at the moment...I'm Wowed Every Time!!
    Only Wish she would write Faster!!
    Your Fan from South Carolina!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    In the Company of Others Normally I try to avoid books in series

    In the Company of Others
    Normally I try to avoid books in series. No offense to the author who grew up in the same county as myself in NC (Caldwell),  because I know that there is a lot of loyalty to the Father Tim series; also, I do realize that all books require some hard work! And my late mother, who read every Father Time book until she lost her sight, then listened to the rest, would disagree vehemently about series. Normally to me, the formula goes: Use of the same people + often use the same locales + vary the details a bit =  zzzz. SO predictable, and if a book is predictable, it's a waste of the reader's time, just as with a movie or television show (as are many of the criminal justice shows. I can tell you, five minutes into most shows, "whodunit" and why, which is why I rarely watch more than one episode of each show, but I do try to give them a chance). And in fact, I had read one of Karon's Mitford books and could barely get through it, for boredom because it just wasn't my "cup 'o tea." HOWEVER, I enjoyed this book immensely; in fact, I liked it even more than I expected! I'm so glad that the author left Mitford and ventured across "the Pond." I enjoyed vicarously traveling to Europe via literature, and Karon did a super job of portraying the people, culture and landscapes of Ireland. I almost didn't order this book, and now i'm so thankful I did. I believe I should have had to pay more than $2.99 for it; it was certainly worth more than many books that have cost 5-10 times that! The characters are well-drawn, the story has history, romance and supsense, but not in a cheap or tawdry way.   I'm just thankful to have discovered this treasure, which I highly recommend! If Karon ever writes a sequel to this particular book with the same locale, I may have to break my rule and read another book in a series. Perhaps this book isn't popular among the diehard fans of the Mitford books, but for the rest of us who aren't so invested in the usual characters, I believe this is a winner. And I'm highly honored to read that I'm good company - that it's the author's own favorite of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Love

    Funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Love it!

    Th is is an easy refreshing read, with some religious messages gently given. I read book 1, followed by this book and loved both. There is also a series by Jan Karon (9 books) that tell about Father Tim's life while he was working that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Couldn't get into it

    I have loved all of Karon's books up until this one. I had trouble keeping interested in the storyline. Maybe I just missed all of the Mitford characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    WOW!

    Just when you think Jan cannot get anymore creative....she does it again! The story of Father Tim and his wife gets completely tangled up as they are on vacation and find a hand-written diary they are reading that tells in detail, the life of the former home owners of the Irish Inn in which they are staying. Character and story development are superb as the plot unravels and thickens at the same time. I felt like I was in an adjoining room, watching and listening, as the drama unfolded. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    highly recommend

    Wonderful calming fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    a gift

    I purchased this as a gift and I'm sure my friend will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14