Customer Reviews for

In the Company of Others (Father Tim Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The wonderful story - great read!

This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I...
This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I so enjoyed this novel set in Ireland. Father Tim's advice to Anna about dealing with problem children was so true and simple I underlined it to read again and be able to share with friends. A cast of many when you factor in the journal sub story and a fresh setting but in the company of old friends - Tim and Cynthia. I loved the dialect and thought she captured it very well. A mark of a great writer; I want so badly to go to Broughadoon. Could not put it down and can't wait for the next book. A wonderful writer and a warm and admirable lady.

posted by ErieChild on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Big Disappointment

How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about...
How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about half way through the book as I write, and I have serious doubts whether I will make it to the end. In the next book I hope Karon brings Father Tim and Cynthia back home where we can enjoy their adventures with the characters we have come to know and appreciate.

posted by 1016957 on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    low recommendation compared to others in the long time Fr. Tim series

    I have read and LOVED all the other books with the same characters. Found this book a hugh disappointment. I have visited Ireland and never once ran into the diffence in language. Found it so hard to read, and soon lost the story content.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    Very disappointed!

    I love Fr. Tim, Cynthia, Dooley and all of the Mitford folks. This book was a disappointment and boring.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Overpriced

    Won't pay this price. Sorry publishers. Another author off my list.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Forget this one!

    It's hard for me to believe that Jan Karon would claim this book as her favorite! I'm a little over halfway through it, and I am bored to tears! The plot is difficult to follow, and the characters are forgettable. I loved Karon's Mitford series, and I liked the Father Tim series until I started this book. However, I sincerely doubt if I will make a future investment in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Couldn't get into it

    I have loved all of Karon's books up until this one. I had trouble keeping interested in the storyline. Maybe I just missed all of the Mitford characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Waste of Time and Money

    Only the second book I have never been able to finish. I am so disappointed. I eagerly awaited another book from Karon about this wonderful set of characters and was so bored with every word. I'll wait for the reviews on the next book prior to purchasing. Has Karon lost her way?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    highly recommended

    It was great-I am waiting for more Mitford series though

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Just can,t get into it

    I have loved all of Karon's books except this one. I thought it was just my starting to read so late at night that I had trouble following the plot of this book. Maybe not. Don't think I'll finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Major bummer....

    I have been a fan of Jan Karon's Mitford series since the beginning...however, this book really was a disappointment for me. I received this for Christmas (gave hubby a HUGE hint) and as of today, 3/18/11, I still have not finished it, which is extraordinary for me with one of Jan's books.

    I hated having to read thejournal for page after page; I can't keep the characters straight to save my neck. Have to keep going back to try and figure out who is talking....don't mind the broug (sp?)...I watch a lot of British shows and movies, so it wasn't that part that was painful. I hated that she kept Cynthia locked up in their room with the "ankle" story. Bleh. I'm not giving up on the books, just didn't like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    disappointed

    I loved her first books and fell in love with his parish. I read the reviews and it was my mistake for purchasing it anyway....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    What a Letdown!

    I early anticipated the 2nd book in the Father Tim series. It seemed as if it would never get here. After reading the Mitford series and the 1st Father Tim book, I couldn't wait for the next installment. Apparently Jan Karon forced words onto each page. I am only a third of the way through and I find none of the magic, none of the fun, none of the delight of all the previous books. The characters are many, yet boring. Karon never should have tried to force a book if her creative writing was blocked. Don't read this one. It's not worth the read regardless of whether you buy it or get it on loan. My time is worth a lot more. Oh, if you are having trouble sleeping, borrow this book. Start reading and in no time, you'll be fast asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Don't buy this book

    A waste of money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2