Customer Reviews for

In the Company of Others (Father Tim Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 271 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The wonderful story - great read!

This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I...
This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I so enjoyed this novel set in Ireland. Father Tim's advice to Anna about dealing with problem children was so true and simple I underlined it to read again and be able to share with friends. A cast of many when you factor in the journal sub story and a fresh setting but in the company of old friends - Tim and Cynthia. I loved the dialect and thought she captured it very well. A mark of a great writer; I want so badly to go to Broughadoon. Could not put it down and can't wait for the next book. A wonderful writer and a warm and admirable lady.

posted by ErieChild on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Big Disappointment

How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about...
How this can be Jan Karon's favorite book is surprising. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of the Mitford books and the first of the Father Tim series; however this book misses the mark. It is slow moving and the Irish brogue makes it a struggle to read at times. I am about half way through the book as I write, and I have serious doubts whether I will make it to the end. In the next book I hope Karon brings Father Tim and Cynthia back home where we can enjoy their adventures with the characters we have come to know and appreciate.

posted by 1016957 on November 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The wonderful story - great read!

    This is my first B&N review and I just couldn't let the negative reviews get posted without my input. Jan Karon is a pure delight. I loved the Mitford series but I think the Father Tim series are a real treasure. I think the Home to Holly Springs was her best book but I so enjoyed this novel set in Ireland. Father Tim's advice to Anna about dealing with problem children was so true and simple I underlined it to read again and be able to share with friends. A cast of many when you factor in the journal sub story and a fresh setting but in the company of old friends - Tim and Cynthia. I loved the dialect and thought she captured it very well. A mark of a great writer; I want so badly to go to Broughadoon. Could not put it down and can't wait for the next book. A wonderful writer and a warm and admirable lady.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love Father Tim!

    I don't think my words can do this book justice. All I can say is take the time to read it. I'd also like to suggest another book, "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of forgiveness and yet, it's about so much more. I loved every minute of it. Given the chance, it too will change your life.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend it

    I have to tell you up front Jan Karon is my favorite author. I've read all her books and loved all but one. That said, I'll try to give as honest a review as possible. In the Company of Others is the second book in the Father Tim series, the first being Home to Holly Springs. These two books vary from Karon's nine books in the Mitford Books series only in location and supporting characters. Father Tim is the main character in both series, but the Father Tim books are set outside of Mitford. This book takes place in the town of Sligo, Ireland where Father Tim takes his wife Cynthia to show her where he had visited ten years earlier with his cousin Walter and Walter's wife Katherine, before Tim and Cynthia were married. Throughout the book, there are references and communication with family and friends back home and Mitford fans will feel comfortable with that. What struck me throughout was how easily Father Tim slipped into the hearts of the Sligo people. Just as he did in Mitford, he spotted problems and found ways to solve them. Cynthia's foot is injured and she is unable to get around easily, leaving Father Tim to help the family members of the bed and breakfast where they are staying as well as others. Of course, Cynthia assists in handing out love and care from the bed and breakfast. The author uses a book-within-a-book approach here that I found quite effective. Father Tim and Cynthia find a handwritten journal written by a doctor who had lived in 1860's and read them since Cynthia is limited in what she could do. What amazed me was the research that must have gone into writing the 1860's story to make it historical correct. This book will hold your interest from beginning to end, and when it does end, you'll want to know when the next book in the series will be ready. I highly recommend it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ireland by armchair

    I started reading this book from the library and realized early it was going to be one of those treasured stories I would read again so I bought my own hardcover copy, something I rarely do! I have been to Ireland so I enjoyed and identified with the atmosphere and the proclaimed beauty of the land as Jan Karon wrote so well and lovingly about. The descriptions of the inn and innkeepers were entirely realistic and salty, down to some domestic problems that Father Tim was expertly able to resolve after years of unresolved heartache in the family they boarded with. Since Tim and Cynthia were marooned at the inn anyway, this was a great way to flesh out a story and add some depth to characters who would normally be marginal in a travelog. There were also other inn guests that added both comic and striking portraits of passing travelers. I also liked the flashes back in time as Tim and Cynthia read an 1860's journal that led them to solve a mysterious theft from the inn while they were there. The weaving of history, culture and atmosphere with some inspirational thoughts was a masterpiece by an author who has surpassed all her previous books with this newest work.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    So excited

    I love Jan Karon and Father Tim. I am so excitedto know that there is a second series. I can't wait to get started reading the newest one.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Another INCREDIBLE Book from Jan Karon!!!

    She really triumphed with this one!! I have never felt when reading a novel like I'm really part of their family except with Ms. Karon's Books AND I feel I'm right there...on the trip...in the car...in the home... wherever they are at the moment...I'm Wowed Every Time!!
    Only Wish she would write Faster!!
    Your Fan from South Carolina!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have now read all of her books and have kept them all. I absol

    I have now read all of her books and have kept them all. I absolutely loved all of her books. She is defininetly one of my top three authors. I have to agree with some of the reviewers. The story within the story got tiresoome. This was the least favorite of all of her books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Love

    Funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Love it!

    Th is is an easy refreshing read, with some religious messages gently given. I read book 1, followed by this book and loved both. There is also a series by Jan Karon (9 books) that tell about Father Tim's life while he was working that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    WOW!

    Just when you think Jan cannot get anymore creative....she does it again! The story of Father Tim and his wife gets completely tangled up as they are on vacation and find a hand-written diary they are reading that tells in detail, the life of the former home owners of the Irish Inn in which they are staying. Character and story development are superb as the plot unravels and thickens at the same time. I felt like I was in an adjoining room, watching and listening, as the drama unfolded. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    highly recommend

    Wonderful calming fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Simply loved it

    Yes, it is different from the Mitford series. It is another link in the Fr. Tim series that reveals more of the man, his mind and his abiding faith. I did not want to read it too fast becaiae I did not want tje tale to end.

    I felt like I always do at the end of these books, that I want to be more like Fr. Tim. The challenge then is to put his gentle ways and faithfilled lifestyle into practice.

    Thanks, Jan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I would highly recommend this book!

    As with all the other Father Tim books, I love this one. Jan Karon has a way of making you think you actually know these characters. She doesn't "tidy up" people...they are who they are. Being of Irish descent, I also enjoyed the beautiful descriptions of the people and scenery of Ireland. Patiently awaiting book #3?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Excellent reading. I have read the Mitford series and enjoyed t

    Excellent reading. I have read the Mitford series and enjoyed the first Father Tim novel: Home to Holly Springs.
    I especially enjoy the more complete sense of plot in these 2 Father Tim novels and now I'm wondering if there will be another? Dear Jan: Please continue. I truly enjoy your writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Beautiful, lovely story. I'm a better person for having read it.

    I forgot how much I love Father Tim until I delved into this book. I love his words of wisdom, his great capacity to love others in his humble, honest way. I was not disapointed as this story if full of the themes you expect from a Jan Karon novel:love, forgiveness, redemption, family, and a little mystery.

    The only drawback I had with the story was that at first it was difficult to keep track of the characters as there are many new ones introduced right at the beginning. After a while though, I got to know these interesting characters in the same way that I grew to know the beloved citizens of Mitford.

    Overall, I am a better person for having read this book. I am reminded that family is more than those related by blood, that God loves me no matter how often or far I wander, and that the smallest of kind acts can be a large blessing to someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    I highly recommended it!

    One of her best Father Tim books. I loved it and look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    loved it!

    This book is such a gift! I tried to limit the number of pages I read, so I could make it last longer. This book requires more concentration because of the new characters and new setting in Ireland. If you love Tim and Cynthia, you will love this volume,too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    A Favorite

    Besides the very first book, this one is another favorite...wonderful story and wonderfully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Such a good book---I just didn't want it to end! I love the author's sense of humor and how she intermingles it with faith and hope, mystery and goodwill. Anxiously awaiting the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Another fabulous story by Jan Karon!

    I had forgotten how inspiring and beautifully written her books are. I had read the Midford Series years ago but hadn't read a Jan Karon book since then. I have missed a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5