Customer Reviews for

In the Company of Secrets (Postcards from Pullman Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Part 1

I didn't like that there was no ending. If I want to know what happens, I have to buy the next book. I'm not sure I want to since I was annoyed by the main female character quite a bit. Even though she developed a backbone and the story progressed, the story often got d...
I didn't like that there was no ending. If I want to know what happens, I have to buy the next book. I'm not sure I want to since I was annoyed by the main female character quite a bit. Even though she developed a backbone and the story progressed, the story often got derailed (no pun intended) and she became spineless again. Very frustrating since there was no ending.

posted by EclecticHobbies on March 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

It seems I should have read the reviews more closely. Sadly, as with much Christian fiction, this book was preachy and predictable. Don't waste your money or your time.

posted by 2830339 on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Dull and disinteresting

    This book's plot is not only far-fetched, but it is terribly boring. I didn't give a hoot about any of the characters, and I certainly didn't care about the romance between Fred and Olivia. A dead fish has more passion! I don't care enough about the plot to read the next books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Loved it!

    Will be buying sequels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    An ok read but that is all

    This book starts out great. The more you read the less you enjoy and then it ends without an "ending". I guess you have to buy #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    EXCELLENT historical novel!

    Loved the first in this series so much, I immediately purchased books 2 and 3 and devoured them. Ms. Miller has an enticing way of giving you historical details woven into a compelling love story. Wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Nice historical detail

    The book was a nice light read. Nice historical detail, pleasant but fluffy plotline. The "Christian message" was rather prevalent, but not too obnoxious. I want to find out if anything else happens with her and Fred, but I don't feel invested enough in the story to buy the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    I am glad that this book was free because will not get the other

    I am glad that this book was free because will not get the other ones it was not read the next series I will give it one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Secrets, Deciet, Guilt, Love--Who could ask for anything more?

    Good, entertaining read, looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No ending

    Well-written story. Pretty unbelievable plot. Interesting information about Pullman. Dislike the lack of ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Book leaves you hanging. No ending

    An easy read, however it it ends as if another continuinggive chapter is needed. You dont find out what happens to any of the characters.
    A half completed story. Give it a miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Vv vvbn

    Ffyfyfyfyyghibjhik7.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Agree

    The book it self was good but the ending sucked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    I was not too impressed with this first book. The story line ki

    I was not too impressed with this first book. The story line kind of dragged along and I really didn't care for some of the characters.
    I thought it would have Christian overtones and lessons but I only found platitudes. I am not interested in reading the rest of the series.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great book!

    Had to buy the next two books to finish the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    Very good read with lots of instructions for the young. Good book for youth, and I also enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Recommended 5 out of 5 *

    I received this e book free it is intriguing story line I secured the second book from the public library and the third installment is also
    available
    Praying that the writer has more material.
    Lead me to learn more about the Pullman train cars & town story.

    Great Christian writer Judith Miller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    just okay

    This book, although a freebee, just didn't hold my interest. I was drawn to the cover so I gave it a try but didn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    An OK Read

    This book was set in a town that was built and populated by the Pullman family and the company and manufacturing facility for Pullman railway cars. Pullman cars were the epitome of luxurious travel of the rich. This story follows the steps of a young woman, who wants to become a Chef and of the struggles of the people who are employed by the only industry in this town. I enjoyed it, but kept wondering all through, if this was a true location or just all fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    historical

    I will read the series, love historical reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    In The Company Of Secrets

    Beautiful story that kept me interested and I couldn't put the book down because I had to see what was going to happen next. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good story if you can filter out all the references to lying the references made it difficult to read at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4