Customer Reviews for

In the Country of the Young

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    This is a beautiful, haunting book that you simply have to read

    I can't recommend this book highly enough. I barely put it down the entire time I was reading it, and I when it was through I was sorry I had to say goodbye to the characters. It's an everyday story of the power of love with a supernatural twist (i.e., love can literally bring back the dead). The story revolves around a man named Oisin (a gaelic name pronounced O-sheen) who has cut himself off from everyone on the island where he lives. But one being slips into his life -- Aisling (pronounced Ashling), the ghost of a tiny girl who died fleeing the Irish potato famine -- and changes him forever. If you're looking for a gorgeously written, magical book you need look no further. Read 'In the Country of the Young.' You won't regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    A book you will reach for again and again...

    This book is so beautiful. A portrait of human pain and healing. The prose reads like poetry and just about rips your heart about but you can't help but smile at the bittersweet ending. My favorite among Lisa Carey's work and one of my all time favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Simply amazing!

    One of my all time favorites. I've read it like 4 times already and still it has me crying by the end. The plot is so poignant it just twists ur heart and pulls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Haunting, Romantic, Loved it!

    This book had me from the first page! The unexpected plot was so gripping that I couldn't put the book down. I passed it on to my daughter who shared it with another friend who then gave it to another friend.....until we lost track of the book entirely which was ok because we knew others were loving it as much as we did! I can't wait to read another of Lisa Carey's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!!!!!

    This was such an unusual book but wonderful from beginning to end. I loved the setting and the way she goes from the present to the past to the present again. I loved the people and the way the characters grew because of their relationships with each other. An excellent, excellent book. I didn't want it to end but the way it did was very fullfilling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    beautiful, poetic, gripping from first to last page

    It's not often I find a book this impossible to put down. It was so real I thought no wonder the author made sure to point out that the island Tiranogue is fictitious. Anyone who loves this book would be compelled to search for it, I'm sure. The characters, the supernatural elements, the back and forth unfolding of the story all work amazinly well. Instead of losing the momentum with all the overlapping stories and timelines, it all unfolds like a mystery and I just wanted to know - What's going to happen? I really hope it turns out this way! This is just an old fashioned excellent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    A mystical adventure into emotion and enchantment with the twist of historical background

    Carey has a way of writing Irish folklore so beautifully. By the end of reading this book, you feel almost as though her story were real. She presents tidbits of actual history and weaves them with immense emotion, as well as her own irish folklore, making the story a very rich experience. What I got most out of the story was the deep characters. I really found myself adoring them and understanding their feelings. Through the story, each of the four main characters' story unravels. I love how Carey weaves her imagination to keep the reader on their toes, excited to find out what will be revealed next. I actually liked her second novel more than the first (though I should re-read it) perhaps because the way she creates the ghost's life is so believable, that you forget it is all fantasy. Normally I do not read books with the plot setting in present time, but much of the story was the past setting of Oisin and his sister's life as well as Aisling and her brother Daaragh in the days of the potatoe famine. So I did not mind the present setting, and rather enjoyed it. Carey's stories are intriguing and I really hope she thinks of writing another novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2001

    Another Amazing Accomplishment

    Lisa Carey has done it again with her second breathtaking novel. Dipping into the paranormal and long loved but forgotten tales, she brings forth a modern fairytale of second chances for life and love. Being a fan of Carey's and waiting as patiently as possible for this second novel, I had to pace myself, only allowing a chapter a night to be read. Do yourself a favor and read both of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    Open your eyes, America!

    Don't wait for the prizes or the movie version to read this book. It is a near perfect story of lost love and redemption, written with unerring restraint, humor, and pathos. While the book is steeped in the supernatural, Carey doesn't exploit the theme as a gimmick; rather, she uses the spirit world to explore the human heart. It is amazing that a writer so young seems to know this territory so well. In the Country of the Young is a great book. You will never forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1