Customer Reviews for

In the Courts of the Sun

Average Rating 3
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This is an exciting doomsday science fiction thriller

Since the recent discover of a new Mayan codex from the seventh century, many people are beginning to believe in the Mayan prediction that the world will end on December 12, 2012. As the date of doom approaches, the Warren Group, firm believers that doing nothing will ...
Since the recent discover of a new Mayan codex from the seventh century, many people are beginning to believe in the Mayan prediction that the world will end on December 12, 2012. As the date of doom approaches, the Warren Group, firm believers that doing nothing will prove the Mayans right, decide on several methods to delay the end. They especially feel the first step is to send someone back in time to the seventh century when the prediction surfaced into the mind of a Mayan royal as the key to learn why the deadly forecast.

The Group believes Jed DeLanda, an expert on the Mayan┬┐s Sacrifice Game, has the perfect focused mind they need. They send his conscience back through time to 664 AD targeting the monarch; instead his conscience enters the mind of seventh-century Mayan Sacrifice Game playing superstar Chacal seconds before his host is to suicide as a sacrifice.

This is an exciting doomsday science fiction thriller that moves the audience back and forth between the countdown to 2012 and the original prophesy in the seventh century. The story line in both centuries is well written and exhilarating while Jed is a believable hero in both eras. Fans will especially appreciate the vivid descriptions of the Mayans society especially insight into the Human Sacrifice game and the purpose of the Great Pyramid. IN THE COURT OF THE SUN is a refreshing unique thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on February 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

I struggled though this nearly 700 page book to find out that the author is using the book to announce his dislike for Republicans and Dick Cheney in particular. I have seen enough of this retoric on the news to last a lifetime. I couldn't care less who the author lik...
I struggled though this nearly 700 page book to find out that the author is using the book to announce his dislike for Republicans and Dick Cheney in particular. I have seen enough of this retoric on the news to last a lifetime. I couldn't care less who the author likes or dislikes and he is certainly entitled to his opinnion. I, however will not waste another 30 dollars on his next book to find out who he will be venting against next year. It could have been an interesting, albeit convoluted and drawn-out story, but using the story as a vehicle to express his political views does not entertain me in the least.

posted by MrMike on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exciting doomsday science fiction thriller

    Since the recent discover of a new Mayan codex from the seventh century, many people are beginning to believe in the Mayan prediction that the world will end on December 12, 2012. As the date of doom approaches, the Warren Group, firm believers that doing nothing will prove the Mayans right, decide on several methods to delay the end. They especially feel the first step is to send someone back in time to the seventh century when the prediction surfaced into the mind of a Mayan royal as the key to learn why the deadly forecast.<BR/><BR/>The Group believes Jed DeLanda, an expert on the Mayan¿s Sacrifice Game, has the perfect focused mind they need. They send his conscience back through time to 664 AD targeting the monarch; instead his conscience enters the mind of seventh-century Mayan Sacrifice Game playing superstar Chacal seconds before his host is to suicide as a sacrifice.<BR/> <BR/>This is an exciting doomsday science fiction thriller that moves the audience back and forth between the countdown to 2012 and the original prophesy in the seventh century. The story line in both centuries is well written and exhilarating while Jed is a believable hero in both eras. Fans will especially appreciate the vivid descriptions of the Mayans society especially insight into the Human Sacrifice game and the purpose of the Great Pyramid. IN THE COURT OF THE SUN is a refreshing unique thriller.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    In the Courts of the Sun crosses genres

    I bought this on impulse, because of my interest in Mayan culture. Have read Coe, Schlee and others, visited several sites, including Tikal. I am about 3/4 of the way through this gripping read. Although there is a time travel premise, I don't think this falls within the science fiction genre. It is extremely well-researched and the author has a real feel for meso-America. The hero is likeable, a modern Maya with extraordinary computational skills who hopes to avert the end of time as predicted in 2012. If you are a fan of Stephenson and want an offbeat but intellectually stimulating read, this delivers. Big time. Kudos to the author.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Excellent read!

    This book definitely makes it into my top ten best books EVER. It is so imaginitive, so mind-bendingly interesting that you can't wait to get home to read the next chapter. I've nearly ruined my eyes trying to finish this fantastic story. In addition to being such a great tale, it is also hilarious and I find myself laughing out loud. Love, love love this book and what an extra bonus to find out it is the first of a trilogy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Game, Anyone ...?!

    This book is a lifetime favorite; I can't wait for Brian D'Amato to publish the next book in his trilogy, promised to arrive by the end of 2010. It's a great book for cultural difference discussion. I'd just returned from my ninth visit to South America, living and studying among modern day, poor & middle class Bolivians. It's common there to mix culture and faith/s. Life's not black & white, but filled with story and myth, contradictions. I found D'Amoto's story, style, characters and attention to detail to fit seamlessly with existing Latino & Indian cultures.
    The Sacrifice Game, chaos and game theory, creation stories, the old god myths depicting 'end of time;' it blended well. They made 'game' sense to me.
    I found his characters believable and interesting, quirky and courageous or malevolent, scary or oddly disconnected. From Jed-Jed2 to the porters and different clan members and minor players (Jed's family). A favorite was the ancient nun - very effective! Knowing and respecting my 'Mayan/Aztec,' friends, I realize that it IS a story! Imagination is crucial to consider things he posits; yet so were flight, traveling thru space, even many surgeries now performed daily. All those events and actions are things we now take for granted, yet few people on earth actually understand how they transpire. A rare group of visionaries 'see' them; and they happen. Not so different from Mayan seers who 'see' the future,' and help it happen or not.
    INTCoTS is definitely NOT a novel for the faint of heart; you need to read it, like "The Sparrow" and "Children of God" (Mary Doria Russell) with an open mind. (Added to that, I can understand that the overt use of psychogenic drugs to 'see' what happens, might cause some folks a case of serious nervous exhaustion! It's not an easy cultural leap to make if you are a person who doesn't "go there" as a matter of course or habit.)I can understand that people might find it difficult, given the western propensity for categorical answers, perfection and success at almost any cost. The potential outcome of a cataclysmic end for life as we know it (in the story) can seem unnerving, especially if your cultural lifestyle has added to its final unraveling. I feel that what other reviews may have missed, by not reading the entire book/story, is that we all ~ as humans do this to ourselves and others. We bring about our own end, by choosing to harm others and not caring for the earth. That said, we all have our hiding places, and ways to cope or deal with reality that gets too hard.

    I liked it; no, I loved the book. I loved it from the start all through his calendar work and use of the porters to priestess clan, the description of sounds and smells, the use of myth and story. I've seen the positive & negative effects of 'religious groups and cults' within our American society, each up-close and personal. Given the results of the global mistakes that each culture has made or allowed to happen as countries/ individuals), we've no room to judge other people/cultures, or to call their ways primitive, improbable or outside the realm of possibly of offering hope and life. We don't have the freedom to dismiss others, despite faith or political leanings. There's no cultural, religious, etc., "safety net" that makes all the bad things that go bump in the night disappear. I think that we learn from myth and story how to look at and deal with our f

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Right up my ally!

    Although the writing style was a bit different I really enjoyed the trip back in time and the attempt to see the future. I was truly mesmerized. I even enjoyed the bits of language quotes, even though I don't speak those languages. It made it realistic.

    I could tell a lot of research went into this book and I loved the imagned history of a race we know so ittle about. I felt like I was really there. Now I can't wait for the sequel!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very different!

    Wow. This book is so different from what I expected. Don't let the whole 2012 thing put you off--that is secondary to a totally mind-bending story. The quality of writing is up there with the classics. The author draws you into the scenes so well you could start to believe you were there with the characters! One thing you do need when you read this is at least a fairly good grasp of physics and number theory. The best news is that this is the first part of a trilogy, and I will be waiting impatiently for the next book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    According to the Mayan calendar, the world is going to end on December 12, 2012. The Warren Group is trying to use technology to figure out a way to stop the world from ending. In the end, will their work pay off or is hope beyond reach?

    This is an exciting book that truthfully scared me out of my wits. I can handle horror novels and scary movies but this book shook me to my core. Not because of monsters or serial killers but because this is a true prediction, it struck a nerve. The writing is superb and I'm going to have to add Brian to my list of favorite authors.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1