Customer Reviews for

In the Cut

Average Rating 3
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Intriguing and fascinating

    This has become one of my go to books that I will pick up and read anytime. Susanna Moore's style quickly hooks the reader and leads you deeper into the story. This is not a comfortable book to read, but it engages and intrigues, and isn't that what the best literature does?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Hauntingly, searingly beautiful

    Do not listen to any of the negative or prudish reviews about this book, please. I picked it up years ago in a London airport and have been whole-heartedly raving about it to everyone since. The movie doesn't really do it justice, but I believe that's only because the book is so surreal and intangible. I wont gush--go get it. Now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    The Take-Away was Food For Thought ...

    ... but the ending made it irrelevant. And depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Truly cutting edge literature

    This psychological, gritty, raw, yet beautifully written story is one of the best I've ever read. There are honest characters; there is suspense; there is realism and beauty and language play. Susanna Moore has created something truly unique here. I've reread the book a few times and will read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    Very Confusing

    <p>At times this book would be draggie and confusing. Susanna Moore is very detailed in her writing during the high points. One thing that borthered me was that when you got into what she was saying about a certain scenes she would jump to something else confusing me. To add I wasn't a big fan of the ending but may be that is because I am a hopeless romantic or I just needed solid proof that something had happend be it negative or positive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Meh...

    I saw the movie for this book before I decided to read it. I picked up the book from the library honestly and solely because I thought to myself 'The book *has* to be better than the movie, it just has to be.' The only thing better about it is the ending, which is different from the movie. There is no character developement, and there really isn't any background information or introduction to any of the characters, either. Also...the characters aren't even likeable. The detective makes my stomach turn and I had a hard time feeling sympathy for the main character. The book is slow, the climax lasting about 5 or so pages. It seems too rushed, everything important being smashed into the last 40 pages of the book. I gave it two stars only because something (and I dont know what), kept me reading it. I read it in two days, in two periods of time. I liked the last page of the book, the last two sentences, and thats about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    A minor masterpiece.

    Not for the puritans among us, or for others who haven't yet grown up. This is a beautifully written, honest, evocative and disturbing psychological thriller. The language is spare yet powerful. The images are gritty, and the writer draws the reader so well into the psyche of the narrator that the last half dozen pages are almost unbearable to read. The ending--an utter knockout--is the kind that readers hunger for: surprising yet, upon reflection, the only one conceivable. It will remain in the reader's own psyche long after he or she has finished the book. This is the kind of novel--stark yet honest in its explicit depiction of sex and violence--that one wishes more writers would have the courage to tackle, and publishers, the integrity and wisdom to publish. A great page-turner! Note: The just released Jane Campion film changes the ending. To 'experience' the ending as the writer envisioned it, you must read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    A Tale of Obsession and Depravity

    IN THE CUT is a tale of obsession and depravity and the mood is somber throughout a fast-paced story. The book is well-written but it left me feeling mildly depressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    What a complete waste of time and paper!

    This truly must be the WORST book I have ever read. I barely, and I mean barely made my way through it. Fortunately there was so little substance and such big print that I managed it in 2 days. The main character left me wondering what I could possibly find likeable about her and the plot seemed like something that any 14 year old could easily come up with. There was no real character development. And when I finally got to the 'climax' at the end of the book, I put the book down, and found myself wondering what I should fix for lunch to get rid of the bad taste the book left. If you enjoy thinking- don't bother with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    WHY ISN'T SHE WRITING MORE BOOKS IN THIS STYLE?

    I loved this book! It was poetic, especially the lyrical, violent ending, sexy in a disturbing fashion, and thought provoking as the main character stumbles with determination through her educated but senseless actions. I keep looking for more books like this, by her! Please, write more in this style!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1