Customer Reviews for

In the Fall

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oh My Gosh!

I am an avid reader; the more I read the pickier I get. This is by far one of the most intelligent, well crafted, poetic, and meaningful books I have ever read. This book is filled with passion and a keen insight into the lives of three individuals that span...
I am an avid reader; the more I read the pickier I get. This is by far one of the most intelligent, well crafted, poetic, and meaningful books I have ever read. This book is filled with passion and a keen insight into the lives of three individuals that span three generations beginning with slavery of the civil war. Run, don't walk to your nearest book store and get this one!

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A rich, detailed, passionate family epic, not for the faint of heart

Although I felt the writing to be unnecessarily detailed, particularly with regard to life on the farm, or the description of landscapes, at its heart I found the story to be captivating, intriguing, and compelling. Anyone who is interested in the Civil War time period,...
Although I felt the writing to be unnecessarily detailed, particularly with regard to life on the farm, or the description of landscapes, at its heart I found the story to be captivating, intriguing, and compelling. Anyone who is interested in the Civil War time period, Reconstruction, or the societal and generational impact of slavery on American culture would find this book a good read. The regular sexual interludes, while realistic in the animalistic, romantic and violent episodes didn't contribute much to the story for me, although I didn't find them gratuitous. There were also one too many cliches for my liking. This book likely could have been shortened by at least 10% and still provided the storyline its full impact.

posted by jmay on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    A rich, detailed, passionate family epic, not for the faint of heart

    Although I felt the writing to be unnecessarily detailed, particularly with regard to life on the farm, or the description of landscapes, at its heart I found the story to be captivating, intriguing, and compelling. Anyone who is interested in the Civil War time period, Reconstruction, or the societal and generational impact of slavery on American culture would find this book a good read. The regular sexual interludes, while realistic in the animalistic, romantic and violent episodes didn't contribute much to the story for me, although I didn't find them gratuitous. There were also one too many cliches for my liking. This book likely could have been shortened by at least 10% and still provided the storyline its full impact.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2002

    Better than Cormac McCarthy

    This is definitely the best novel I've read in the past five years. It is lyrical, rich, incredibly intricate and passionate, but at the same time a good solid narrative. Here is what William Faulker tried to do, but could not quite pull it off. Here is what Cormac McCarthy does occasionally in his best passages. The amazing thing is that Jeffrey Lent does it consistently, page after page. A marvel. It is the type of book you wish would never end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    Oh My Gosh!

    I am an avid reader; the more I read the pickier I get. This is by far one of the most intelligent, well crafted, poetic, and meaningful books I have ever read. This book is filled with passion and a keen insight into the lives of three individuals that span three generations beginning with slavery of the civil war. Run, don't walk to your nearest book store and get this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Stays with me

    I read this book while living abroad in 2008. I was touched deeply by it. I reccomend this book to people who like historical fiction, mystery and family sagas. I still remember the characters qith fondness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    IN THE FALL

    VERY GOOD POST CIVIL WAR HISTORICAL NOVEL.
    ALTHOUGH EXTREAMLY WELL DETAILED IN GREAT LENGTH, IT LEAVES YOU WITH A GOOD SENCE OF WHAT LIFE WAS LIKE IN THOSE
    DAYS. I HAVE ALREADY RECOMMENDED THIS BOOK AS A GOOD READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Good but not great

    This is a good story and thought provoking, when I was finally done. It's not an easy read, too descriptive, long, and ultimately, depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Goes straight to the heart!

    I would love to meet this author. Where and how does he get his insight into people. This is the most deeply disturbing book I think I may have ever read. I am only half way through -- it is agonizing - have to stop to cry --- I may never want to read another book.
    Do you have info on this author?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    A VERY GOOD BOOK

    THIS BOOK IS VERY DIFFERENT BUT I ENJOYED IT. THE STORY IS HISTORICAL AND VERY INTERESTING. I HAVE BEEN TO VERMONT AND NEW HAMPSHIRE MANY TIMES SO KNOW THE AREA WHICH MADE IT MORE INTERESTING.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Riveting

    Wonderful depiction of life in rural Vermont in the early 1900's. The characters were detailed. The story was enthralling, I couldn't put it down. Only complaint is the ending, it's good and keeps you guessing but left me unsatisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Not as Enthusiastic

    I just finished this book after previously reading Ivan Doig's The Whistling Season. I had high hopes as this book came highly recommended. However, I felt the prose dragged along in many spots and was difficult to follow at times (perhaps due to the author's overuse of fragments). The multigenerational story is interesting and the characters are well drawn, but I feel the story could have been told in about half the pages and still been as effective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    perfection at its best

    Read this now, if you haven't already!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    A book you wish you had written!

    Help - get this out of THE BARGAIN BIN and back with the classics of the 20th century. It's really incredible that Mr. Lent could write this without having actually lived it...one of the criteria that make good writing GREAT. Reading it makes you want to undo the main character's trip to the hideous South, just so she can be there for a sequel. Alas, not to be, but how much we come to care!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2004

    Good Multigenerational Saga

    I am an avid reader. After the first 100 pages, I began to be a little skeptical that I would find this novel an exceptional read. But suddenly, Jeffrey Lent pulled me into the story, and I flew through the remaining pages. Lent does a great job of describing everything in great detail from the landscape to the industry to the characters. I would recommend this book to those especially interested in historical novels/multigenerational sagas. If you can make it through the beginning, the remainder of the book will make you appreciate the story as a whole. Lent lends his writing skills to the humanity of the human race, our weaknesses and strengths. The last twenty pages were the most captivating that Lent explained how human nature leads us to treat people, whether it be because of gender, race, or religion. He delves into an area of the mind and soul that leaves you really contemplating your own reaction to the situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    Absolutely Wonderful !!!!

    One of the best books I have ever read! I could not put it down! Lent's writing is eloquent and evocative! Beautifully written! I was dissapointed when I finished, I wanted more! I am looking foward to reading his latest, 'Lost Nation'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2003

    A BOOK THAT IS HARD TO PUT DOWN

    I listened to this novel on tape, and would hate to get out of the car at my destination. This story is so intriguing that you can't wait to find out what is going to happen next. Then, when you do find out what happens next, it is something you did not plan on!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    Beautifully written....beyond first novel material

    Jeffrey Lent beautifully traces the loving but also at times very painful roots of an American family....the reader cannot help but be absorbed by the challenges of race set forth in this book....definitely a book that must be read.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    The Best Book I've Ever Read

    'In the Fall' is the best book I've ever read in my life. That's not saying a lot since I'm only a teenager, but it doesn't change the fact that it's a really good book. It has really strong, positive themes, even though it might not display them in a very "family movie" type of presentation. It is definitely a book that everyone should read at some point. It has taught me valuable lessons that will probably influence all of the decisions in my life. Below, I've listed several more books that have had a profound impact on my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    The Best Book I've Read in Ten Years

    Hands down, this is the best novel I have read in many years. And I read a lot. The writing is breathtakingly beautiful. To think that this is a first novel truly awes me. I recommend this book at least once a day. I cannot say enough about this novel or his new one -- Lost Nation. What an incredible talent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Beautiful and Majestic

    Jeffrey Lent is truly a fresh voice in American literature. I enjoy his sweeping, descriptive prose and the depth of his characters. Very satisfying. Although they write in different genres, I would compare the poetic nature of Lent's writing to Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin, whose vivid prose captures the beauty of Robert Frost and Claude Monet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2002

    Great reading

    this was a well written. i live in vermont and am familiar with the places mentioned in the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2