Customer Reviews for

In the Forests of the Night (Den of Shadows Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

How inspiration began!

I picked this up in seventh grade, and after reading, I was inspired to keep up my writing. I thought if she could get published at thirteen, I could get published early too. Her characters and storyline were really beyond her age, and I couldn't get enough. This is a...
I picked this up in seventh grade, and after reading, I was inspired to keep up my writing. I thought if she could get published at thirteen, I could get published early too. Her characters and storyline were really beyond her age, and I couldn't get enough. This is a great start to an amazing, tour de force author and her wonderful world of vampires, witches and shape shifters!

posted by SymphonicNovelist77 on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

not anne rice, not bram stroker way before stephenie meyer. amelia atwater rhodes was the one that got me into vampires and from then on i loved vampires ever since. this is the story about a former human named Rachel gets turned into a vampire and is called Risika. Now...
not anne rice, not bram stroker way before stephenie meyer. amelia atwater rhodes was the one that got me into vampires and from then on i loved vampires ever since. this is the story about a former human named Rachel gets turned into a vampire and is called Risika. Now told through the past and present, we see how it came to be and how she wants her revenge on the vampire that's responsible...Aubrey. The book you could say is a little slow paced but has one of my favorite fictional characters Aubrey, Risika and Jagger. i thought the fight scene at the end could of been better but oh well either way its one of my fave books. i like her writing and tigers are one of my favorite animals as well especially the white tiger. her writing style is creative and like how she starts off with a poem at the beginning of the book. recommend it though read with an open mind and decide later if you like it or not. Whenever i read in the forests of the night and demon in my view I'll always think of James Marshall from his twin peak days as Aubrey in my mind. just want to say that twilight isn't the only awesome vampire book you know. other vampire books came before twilight new moon eclipse and breaking dawn.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    How inspiration began!

    I picked this up in seventh grade, and after reading, I was inspired to keep up my writing. I thought if she could get published at thirteen, I could get published early too. Her characters and storyline were really beyond her age, and I couldn't get enough. This is a great start to an amazing, tour de force author and her wonderful world of vampires, witches and shape shifters!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Amazing

    I read this and the book demon in my view while i was in jr high school..... aka middle school now. The books were outstanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It is as if this book is based on real life.

    Whenever I read this book, I feel as though I am apart of it and that it is real.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So good I read it in an hour

    For such a short book, it has a great amount of detail and depth I was not expecting. I was so loving the characture that I ran out right after I finished to buy all 4 books which are all together in one big series. All the stories are great and have a definite spin of their own with regards to vampire and shifter lore. Considering that this book was written when the author was 12/13 years of age, it showed more maturity and depth then books written by authors that have been around for years and are much older and wiser.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Sophie's room

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Apprentices den

    Shadowclan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Truthheart

    Grabs cobwebs and marigold. (Sorry Rubyblaze!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Brokenstar

    Thanks. It took me two whole moons to collect it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    The best

    This is the best vampire book I have read yet. If you like supernatural books then read " Hold me closer necromancer" It is great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    A long time favorite!

    I read this in seventh grade, and it still grabs me at 18. This is a great debut for a writer that has nothing but potential for the future. For writing this at 13, that's an accomplishment. Highly, highly recommended for all vampire lovers!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    Simply great

    All i can say is that is an awesome read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    amazing

    I thought this book was great. I read it about 15 times. Really. It is byfar my favorite book! Along with demon in my view! Amelia Atwater Rhodes is the best auther I know of!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    one of the best books I have ever read

    It was a very good book. I read it in two hours.I hope others will enjoy the book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    This is a great bite.

    This was a really good book that needs to be read by all. It's great book to sink your fangs into, infact it might just sink mine in again. I have to go, the sun's almost out, wouldent want to burn to death would i now. READ THIS BOOK!!!!, or i might take a bite out of you next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    im a vampire so i know its awsome

    this is a book about a girl who has been chanbged into a vampires out of her own free will and her life after that hapened. this is really a book i can sink my fangs into. i totally love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    I love this Book!

    This is one of my favorite books ever! It's full of action and adventure-- I've read it about 15 times already! But if you're looking for romance, this books not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Sink Your Fangs Into This

    I fell in love with this book to the fullest! Words can't tell how much I love this book.I am most certain that I will catch up with that book and sink my teeth into the neck of it once more...and maybe again.This book reminds me of the movie Queen of the Damned.I can't wait to get ahold of Amelia's other books.But first,I gotta get back to In the Forests of the Night! It's all in my veins...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    one of the best books EVER!!

    This book is so awesome. When you read this book, it's kind of like watching a movie in your head because Amelia (the author) explains things so well. I love the fued between Resika and Aubrey! I LOVE IT. Definetly a MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2005

    The BEST!!

    In the forests of the Night is the best. I think all I have to say is that I have read it 6 times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    This book was awsome!

    i picked this book up and literally couldnt put it back down.. it was awsome, i really love it! Amelia-Atwater Rhodes is a great author and all her books rock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 185 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10