Customer Reviews for

In the Forests of the Night (The Goblin Wars Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love this series!  The blend of Celtic mythology wi

    I absolutely love this series!  The blend of Celtic mythology with a contemporary time and place has created a world that borders on reality.  The author takes the fantasy beasts and creatures of Mag Mell and brings them out of their realm and into Chicago in such a way that it feels like it could be a true possibility.  From time to time throughout this book and the last, she mentions those little shadows and glimpses that we all get from time to time and attributes them to those things like the cat sidhe... those things that we can't see but just may be there, lurking just out of our sight.

    There is a fairly large cast of characters, all of whom contribute to the story.  There is Teagan and Finn, her BFF Abby and her little brother Aiden, Thomas and Aint Roisin, Mameio and her father, The cat sidhe Grendel and the sprite Lucy.  This is a hefty cast, especially when you add in all of the other supporting characters, but they all have their place in the story... and in the Wylltson household!

    Teagan goes through a lot of personal growth in this book as her previously dormant goblin blood comes to the surface.  Goblin she may be, but her heart is human and that is what she strives for.  Part of what makes her so endearing is her compassion and need to care for others.  We really see that in this book, in her attempts to care for her brother, for Abby, her father, and through her job at the zoo.

    Finn is also a star in this book!  He is the epitome of a great Book Boyfriend.  He's smart and capable, funny and supportive.  He loves Teagan, accepts her for who and what she is... which is a big thing in this case as she is a goblin and he is sworn to protect against her kind.    He loves her brother and is noble to the point of frustration in how he handles his feelings for Teagan, out of respect for her father.

    Things to love about In the Forests of the Night...

       --The folklore.  I love, LOVE, LOVE the folklore that is such a big part of the story.  I love how it is woven into the contemporary world of Chicago that they live in.
       --Cindy.  The scenes with Cindy in the zoo, with her interactions with her "boyfriend" and the doctor... hilarious!

    My recommendation:  A fantastically wonderful read that makes you wonder about those things just beyond your sight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    One of the best books ever!

    Had me on the edge of my seat! I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    LOVE IT

    This is one of the best books you will ever read. A friend lended to me and I was laughing at Abby, crying at Finn and Teagon and saying, "Yeah buddy!" To Raynor. I could not put it down because it was so good. One of my all time favorite books ever. YOU NEED TO READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Beast Finn

    This is the best book ive ever read . Good book highly recommond reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Second book in the Goblin Wars does not disappoint!!

    There was a lot of humor in the book and get ready because you know when I love a book I love to quote! Here's a conversation between Teagan and her father- "Mamieo cooked rumpledethump for dinner." "She made cooked cabbage and Aiden's still in the house?" "Yes. Dad, I just told you Thomas turned into a raven, and you didn't even blink." "I'm a librarian," Mr. Wylltson said. "We practice believing seven impossible things before breakfast." "Like rabbits with pocket watches?" "Like library funding will be available next year." (page 53) Such great characters, I just cannot express to you how much I love these characters. Teagan, is everything to everyone. She is protector to her brother, memory and healer to her father, best friends with Abby, possibly a girlfriend to Finn and savior to everyone else that she can be. What does she want? She still wants that plan she started out with in the first book, going to Cornell, but she'd like to fit Finn in it now. But how can the Mac Cumhaill be in love with a girl that's part Highborn? The romance is there chaste, but hot still. I don't know how Kersten does it, but it's definitely swoon worthy material. Then there's Finn himself, The Mac Cumhaill. He's protective, so sure of himself when it comes to killing anything that comes after Teagan and the only thing he's scared of is Mr. Wylltson, Teagan's "da'." (Love that accent!) And you know, a guy that can kill someone with a spoon, well, he has a right to be pretty sure of himself! And he always seems to know the right thing to say, making Teagan his equal, never a weak woman that has to be taken care of. He's strong, fierce yet sensitive but not in a fragile way at all. He just knows. That's the best way to describe it. And let me tell you something, if I was picking friends, Abby would be the first one I'd choose. She may not be able to see all the weird creatures from the "multiverse" but she can kill them and call in reinforcements! The Turtles, yes you read it right, Leo, Angel,Donnie and Rafe. And there is little Aiden who is so sweet he'd make you're teeth ache and so delicate it seems a strong wind would break him. But he's only fragile sometimes. Like when there's an EI around, an Elvis Impersonator. Or the evil Ms. Skinner. Otherwise, he is wise beyond his years and incredibly intuitive. Mamieo is one of the greatest senior citizens in all literature! She has conversations with "The Almighty" I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    2nd book good as the first!

    Tyger Tyger was like watching an explosion of fireworks in the sky on July 4th. It was brilliant, it was bright, it was spectacular and it was loud. In The Forests Of The Night is like taking a long slow easy gondola ride. The world is already built, the characters are already introduced, most of the plot is already in place. Reading is simpler, you are more in tune in what is going on and more invested in your connection with the main characters and the parts that they play as the story progresses. It is fascinating to be able to pick up a book after reading the first one months and months before and feel so comfortable and so at ease with what is going on that you do not have to re-read anything to get yourself back in the same frame of mind you were whenever the first book ended. I truly believe that The Goblin War series, though intended for a young adult audience has a much wider appeal. It is something that a mother and a son, a father and a daughter, a brother and a sister can read together and enjoy. You can talk about the books with people of all ages and who doesn't like Fantasy? Who doesn't like two bright young people falling in love against the odds of what is going on around them and still being able to have a life with their family and still be able to carry on friendships outside of the realm of what they are actually involved in with the villains of the piece. The author Kersten Hamilton has created something that bridges the gap between childhood and adulthood. The books take you to a place in your mind that you would not have found if it were not for the authors imagination and skill at weaving such interesting tales. Reading both Tyger Tyger and In The Forest of The Night have given me more pleasure than fine wine or a piece of chocolate cake. Anything that you can think of that would be considered a simple pleasure like smelling a flower, watching a hummingbird drink nectar or even seeing a baby smile gives us joy. My greatest simple pleasure is reading and I truly thank the author for that pleasure, it has been a wonderful experience. When the series is finished with book three I still will have these reads on my bookshelves, and I can get them and revisit the characters as many times as I want. A book never expires, never loses its appeal and is always there to entertain when needed.

    If you ever read a first book in a new series and thought the second book could not be as good or better wait till you read this one! What are you waiting for pre-order a copy today, I did!

    [For the purposes of full disclosure this ARC was provided by the author via her publisher. The book was received in exchange for an honest review and I have not received any other compensation from the author or publisher other than the pleasure I derived from reading about the characters in the story.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    So, *so* good!

    One of the things I enjoyed so much about Tyger Tyger was the cast of characters, and in In the Forests of the Night we not only get more of the people we love (Finn), we meet great new characters. The romance between Finn and Tea was sweet-sigh worthy in book one. In book two it ramps up to butterflies-in-the-stomach, kicking-your-heels-and-giggling worthy! And there's at least one romance on the side. Finn says in the last chapter of Tyger Tyger, "You can stumble down that road, pretending you can't help it. You can curl up and die of regret and sorrow for what you've done. Or you can get up and fight, even though the battle may be lost." In In the Forests of the Night we get to see Tea battle this out. There are lots of laugh out loud moments that I read over and over. ? Do yourself a big favor and read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1