Customer Reviews for

In the Kitchen

Average Rating 3
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very good writing

    Set in London, this book is about Chef Gabe Lightfoot, and his very stressful life. Plagued with girlfriend troubles (all his own fault), work troubles, and family issues, his life is spiraling out of control. On top of it all, he makes some startling discoveries about his childhood, and himself.

    I was really torn on this book whether to give it three stars or four. I ended up going with the four stars since the writing is so good. The plot itself, while interesting, got a little too contrived for me with the political and philosophical discussions of a few of the characters. At times I felt as if the author was using the book as her own personal agenda, rather than just letting the story unfold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    LOST INTEREST

    I STARTED THIS BOOK TWICE, DID NOT CARE TO CONTINUE READING, JUST NOT INTERESTING ENOUGH. I DID READ BRICK LANE AND LOVED IT, THIS ONE WAS JUST NOT COLORFUL ENOUGH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Not quite good enough

    Gabriel Lightfoot is a 42-year-old executive chef putting in his time trying to revive the less than stellar restaurant at the Imperial Hotel in London, while waiting for the financing to finally make his dream of opening his own restaurant come true. The book begins with an interesting premise, but the more I learned about Gabriel's life both in and out of the kitchen, the less I cared what happened to him. His life seems "not quite good enough' in all aspects...and then the body of one of his kitchen staff is discovered - an accidental death or not? Just when it should have become more interesting, it got bogged down. Reminiscent of a meal that wasn't good enough to even finish."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Immigrants in Britain

    There were some good parts to this story. I did not care much for the descriptions of cooking science and weaving. The author must have felt compelled to keep that in the book after doing the research. The most interesting were the host of immigrants working in the kitchen, and the peripheral issues of human trafficking and virtual slavery.
    It is really hard to fathom the relationship between Gabriel and Lena. Why is he so fascinated with her, and why does he believe that there is a possibility that she could possibly be interested in him romantically. I thought the lack of any description of their sex acts beyond the very early foreplay by Gabriel made it impossible to understand this attraction by Gabriel. If the author would have described their interplay during sex, it would have given this aspect of the book much more substance.
    I did not much care for the end of the book, the last 70 pages or so. It seemed like there had been not enough earlier that would have predicted it. It should have been a more gradual process to lead to that behavior from the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Out of this Book

    I really hated this book. I did not like the characters or the writing or the plot. Neither the main character nor the peripheral ones were interesting. And I wanted to throw myself on a loom with all the weaving description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great chef novel--there aren't enough of them

    Undoubtedly realistic novel set in the kitchen of an upscale dining establishment in today's London. The characters are classic--no doubt their types can be found in any number of commercial kitchens in any major city of any western country. This felt as real to me as some of the chef memoirs of recent years and as funny. I liked the book even better than her breakout success Brick Lane. Author Ali has enormous talents and deserves great success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Highly Recommended

    This is the first book I've read by this author. She is fantastic. The story and the characters are fascinating and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A complex and bewitching novel written in elegant, flawless prose

    In "Brick Lane", Monica Ali showed great promise of a talented writer with formidable narrative skill. The novel was short-listed for the Booker prize. In her new novel "In the Kitchen", her second novel and third book ("Alentejo Blue", a collection of stories, was her second book), Monica Ali has proven that she is quite capable of writing a follow up worthy of praise.

    The novel starts rather slowly, but the pace gains speed and the narration gains momentum, as the novel progresses. The second half of the novel is extraordinary, with many bewitching passages, and here the reader gets glimpses of an astonishing and magical writer.

    This book could be considered as three stories weaved into a lively novel, or three strands of a story braided as if to create a lovely plait. Gabriel Lightfoot, the protagonist, is executive chef at London's Imperial Hotel. The first story is Gabriel's relationship with his long time girlfriend, Charlie, an attractive, red-haired singer at a club. The second story is Gabriel's affair and fascination with a beautiful and rather mysterious woman from Belarus, an escaped sex slave named Lena. The third story is Gabriel's relationship with his father, who has been diagnosed with cancer. And all three stories revolve around the central incident of the novel: a porter - an illegal immigrant from Ukraine, is found murdered in the basement of the Imperial Hotel.

    Through realistic descriptions of a busy kitchen of a fancy restaurant, and uncontrived, smooth flowing dialogues, vivid descriptions, gripping passages, and the magic of her pen, Monica Ali has created an absorbing and entertaining novel. And I think "In the Kitchen" will enhance her reputation as one of the important English writers, and a master of English prose.

    Yesh Prabhu, Plainsboro, NJ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1