Customer Reviews for

In the Lake of the Woods

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    In the Lake of the Woods review by samuel Goichman

    In the Lake of the Woods by Tim O'Brien was a well crafted tale [much like O'Briens other books] about a former Vietnam Veteran, who later turns into a politician who ran for governor. The loss of his wife in The Lake Of The Woods, damages him mentaly which then leads you to be sucked into his thoughts about the possible reasons for her leaving, and the events that might have occured which would result in her loss. Each character represents a part of O'Brien, and the loss of that part during the war. All of his books involve the Vietnam war which was a major part in O'briens life. In The Lake of the Woods is no exception and still remains in a very high standard.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2001

    Lake of the Woods

    An excellent book which contains many themes relevant to most everyone. It allows the reader the freedom to determine what happened so that there are endless possibilities. The haunting idea that single events follow us till the end is one that which sends chills up my spine. An incredible book which I will be reading again shortly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    OutCast

    Shook out her pelt and bounded back to camp. [Kk.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    DeepThorn

    He smiled and gingerly jumped off,"all done." [Gtg bb asap. I'll be at main camp though]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Good novel, not my ordinary read

    I LOVE literature and every aspect of it. I, at first thought this book was a weak fact VS. Fiction story, but boy i was wrong! This novel was forced upon me for Eng 102 and i disliked it uptil the middle section. Very detailed, and the ending left it right where it should be. Are you a cynical person who thinks the worst of man, or a humanist who believes there is good in everyone. I truly believe Kath and John made a heaven of a hell and started over in the most oddly profound way. Just my take on it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    @ review #1

    Your moms execution was poor, this book is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Slow

    I found this book to be a tad slow and boring. The story itself was a good one but it's execution was poor.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Stunning

    This book will absolutely twist and turn you. O'brien's unique style is perpetually engaging to the point I could not put the book down. This unimaginable book has completely changed my perspective as a reader

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2007

    absolutely original: unique format

    I read an exerpt of one of O'Brian's works in English and became interested in reading Lake of the Woods. It's an interesting read, definitely, and does not follow the format of a conventional suspense mystery. The chapters alternate between 'evidence' and 'hypothesis.' The evidence chapters present actual pieces of evidence regarding the crime, and the hypothesis chapters are O'Brian's idea of what could have happened. For the first few chapters, I'll admit I only skimmed the evidence chapters, but as you proceed through the story, the evidence chapters are what makes the book. In the Lake of the Woods is an amazing blend of historical fiction and murder mystery. Granted, the disturbing stories regarding the My Lai massacre and the background on the main character's childhood are not what a reader expects from a suspense novel. However, O'Brian takes a fresh approach, delving deep into the pschye of a disturbed man, trying to make sense of his life experiences and most definitely succeeds in doing so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Quite boring

    This book was alright but it was very slow and boring. There was just too many interviews and stuff. You would think this kind of story would be suspenseful but in my opinion, it wasn't. I wouldn't reccomend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    O'Brien great author- for first time reader of his work!

    My first reaction to the book 'In the Lake of the Woods' was that I didn't want to read but it was an assignment.So , I forced myself to read it than when i got to about the 3rd chapter 'The Nature of loss', I couldn't put it down, I took it with me everywhere I went.Well, expect the bathroom.LOL! At some parts I was offended and frustrated at what John said or did, but than I got over it because I wanted to get to the ending and know what happened to Kathy. It's a great book and I will read others. I do recommended this award winning book to others if they are into a true story about the abuse of history. And what happens to you when you pretend to much in real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Don't Read this Book!

    Quite simply, this is the worst book I've ever read. If my English teacher would not have assigned this book, I would have put it down after the fourth page.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2002

    In the Lake of the Woods

    I was unable to put this book down. I felt myself being drawn into the characters more than ever before. John and Kathy are the perfect couple, despite their twisted tendencies. The images of Thuan Yen are haunting, yet oddly beautiful. This is a book I could read many times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    Brilliant!

    When you or your children were young, odds are that you read at least one Choose Your Own Adventure book. Remember those? You would read through and choose whatever ending that you saw fit. Tim O'Brien crafts an adult Choose Your Own Adventure novel in The Lake Of The Woods. This novel was assigned to my literature class this past semester, and I can honestly say that it was the first novel that I not only read because I had to, but also because I enjoyed it. The author does not answer questions, but asks them. He opens doors for the reader to walk through. Ten differrent people could read this book and arrive at twenty different conclusions. The novel begins, and can get, rather confusing. But stay with it, you will be glad that you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Classic O'Brien

    In The Lake of the Woods is a profoundly astute novel. O'Brien's character development is given in a rather unusual way, yet he manages to give the reader their own perception of the lead characters. It is truly a book that can not be put down, it envelops the reader in the story. The powerful imagery and strong use of detail take the reader straight to Vietnam, they stand beside him as he surveys Thuan Yen. You begin to feel that you know the characters on a personal level. O'Brien's characteristic writing style keeps the reader on their toes until the end of the novel, where all the pieces of the puzzle finally fit together. It is where 'the mystery finally claims us'. An imaginitive book, most definately a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    An Awesome work of Fiction

    Tim O'Brien is one of the greatest authors of the twentieth century. He is compelling and subtle. In the Lake of the Woods is a novel, not about plot and character so much as life itself. O'Brien has a way of getting to the heart of the rhetorical questions of everybody. He draws you in to the novel with a force so strong that it cannot be put down. He leaves you without answers, and yet you are satisfied at the end. John and Kathy Wade, a young couple, are staying in a cabin at the edge of Lake of the Woods. John has just lost a major election because of his role in Vietnam, and the two are trying to escape from life. Then Kathy mysteriously disappears. This novel is like a winding snake through exerpts from interviews and books, both real and fake, pertaining to them, and also through various hypotheses reguarding the whereabouts of Kathy. A novel that must be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    Book works at many levels

    The genius of this book is how it forces the reader to examine all those things that are so important to us as human beings: who we are, what our relationships are with others (especially significant others), the nature of good and evil, our endless fascination with the idea of mystery. Tim O'Brien manages this with a haunting economy of writing that not only contributes to the 'thriller' aspect of this novel, but is also evocative and and riveting. A must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2