Customer Reviews for

In the Meantime: Finding Yourself and the Love You Want

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    In the Meantime: Finding Yourself and the Love You Want

    I recommend this book to everyone, regardless of age, background or religious beliefs. Although, I believe that you will not reap the full benefits of this book if you are not ready to accept the TRUTH-and I was not , one year ago when I was first introduced to this book through a friend (Murchelle Bates). Now, that I am ready, I feel that the book truly opens your mind to explore and come to terms with yourself. It has helped me to realize who I have become based on the experiences I have encountered throughout my life, and has given me the strength and knowledge to apply these situations to work for me; ultimately making me the person I knew I could be. I have re-learned to put God first in my life, therefore allowing my needs to be forfilled in accordance to the divine will. My tip to you, is to take time out of the day to 'do you'. I have started a routine every morning which consists of yoga exercise when I first wake up, followed by 15 minutes of meditation, then ending my 'morning ceremony' with prayer. I find that no matter what I am confronted with that day, I can have closure, because I am relaxed and I have put my faith in the Lord so that he can fight my battles. Feel free to e-mail me.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2001

    Change Life

    I am a 34 year seperated from the one whom I thought who knew about love.I read this book and cried. I have never found anyone who told me about myself other than this book. thanks for letting me love my self when there was no one around and finding out what true love is all about. I have learned to love myself. I have also start changing my life from the basement to the top floor. Oh what a mess i've found. The mess include people whose suppose to be friends and so on. I have turned a new leaf.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Got me through a rough time...

    This book is the best relationship book ever written! I am now happily married, but about five years ago this book showed me my true worth. At that time I didn't know, that love was not abusive and painful.It inspired me to move pass the "basement" of my thinking. I now feel worthy of love, and desired as a women. This is the book I recommend to all my friends going through a rough time in a marriage or relationship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Learn to be comfortable with yourself!

    I read this book about eight years ago and I STILL recommend it to my friends to this very day! This was so useful to me at the time; I was very codependent and prone to anxiety attacks - you'd never know by looking at me now. I learned that I had to be comfortable with myself, even when alone. (f you don't like yourself, why would you expect anyone else to like you?)That comfort turns into confidence, and that confidence helps you lead an independent life, not to mention, it is attractive to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2005

    Awareness rules!

    I found this book on my partner's nightstand and begin reading it over candles and a hot bath. A beautiful book, written with ease and I laughed several times upong hitting page fifty! I tried to sneak it away but my partner refused (we live apart). Guess I will have to wait or go buy my own copy. Trust me, this Author is telling the truth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2003

    what took me so long?

    I had this book for 2 years and did not read it. After asking my friend many questions on my issues in regards to relationship, her answer everytime to me was 'You need to read in the meantime' after my finals last year spring I read it! 'Oh my god!' This is the first book that took me 3 months to read, reason, I had to read, put the book down, digest, cry and be willing to face my bad habits and change them.' Everything that was happening to me was because of me! me! me! warning! You cannot read this book unless you are willing to face the truth about yourself because somewhere in this book you will be revealed! first you will be resentful, then a little angry at Ms. Vanzant, then you will either start from the basement upwards or dig from the basement and go below. Ms. Vanzant thank you for revealing your experiences and putting yourself out there. I thank you from the buttom of my heart. Fear is like a bad curse if we are not careful it will consume the very best of us. It begins with you. Stop blaming everyone around you, take responsibility for your own actions. 'work in progress'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    Finally, I can see the truth mystery of one of God's chosen ones....

    My mind and soul has truly been resurrected!!!! For many many years, I was lost believing that since I borne 4 children by the time I was 21 that I was accursed!!!Now, over 10yrs later, I can TRULY relate to Iyanla with the term 'In The Meantime' I spent most my life in DEAD END relations even a DEAD END marriage to someone I should have never even opened myself up to....Through it all your book help me to see that it is normal to be 'in the meantime' while God is cleaning us up for the truth LOVER in our life..Thanks, Iyanla for saving my MIND.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2000

    A REVELATION

    I READ THIS BOOK IN ONE DAY. SHE HIT ON MANY THINGS I WAS FEELING AND IT HELPED ME TO REALIZE THAT I AM A VERY NORMAL PERSON. WHAT AN EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    Major selfhelper

    I could not put this down. As a young black female this book helped me realize that the issues that I thought others had were actually my own. It also gave me a way to make myself a better person.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Love Yourself First

    I do believe the adage is true, in order to be able to fully love others, you have to be able to love yourself. This book opens up the great plain of understanding how to do just that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    The encounter with love

    I loved this book. After passing by some relationships, people need to find and love themselves. The love comes to our lives, and we need to have self steem to encounter it. Iyanla pass us messages of peace, calmness. You get less anxious after reading this book and you find out that love really comes to our lives. Iyanla tell us how to clean our minds. I loved her book and I would like talking to Iyanla about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    In the Meantime: Finding Yourself and the Love You Want

    When I first read in the meantime I found myself in the basement of love. This book really helped me to realize in order to find true love from any one else-I must first love myself. After reading this book I applied everything I read, and that is when true love walked in to my life. I am very happy and I love myself dearly. I have a new love in my life (Damon) and he loves me just as much as I love myself. I am still working my way up to the attic. I truly love myself-I love Murchelle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Love it

    Excellent book to learn from ang grow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended - Great read especially when things are bad for you

    This was very inspiring and helps you look at things in a different way. As human beings we blame others for our problems and never take the time to see our part in it and this helps you do that. This is helping me see things clearer in my own life. Great job Iyanla!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    This book was AMAZING ! Definitely one of my favorites and consi

    This book was AMAZING ! Definitely one of my favorites and considering the fact that the list only consists of two books including this one, you know that it was really good! 
    I had to choose a book for my class reading and this was recommended and I do not regret taking the risk at all! I learned so much about myself and about love that you
    would think we all know already but in actuality have not come to grips with in completeness. This book is for young girls going through self esteem issues, for young women 
    having relationship issues, for married women who are having some issues within themselves, this book is for everyone and guys, why not? I absolutely  recommend that if you 
    looking into it, to give it a go, you will not be disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    This book is an easy read.  It is about having realistic expecta

    This book is an easy read.  It is about having realistic expectations in relationships, taking time to learn from past relationships.  It encourages you use your time being single as an opportunity to grow and accept yourself as opposed to looking for relationships to fill that void.  It also encourages the meditations on God's love and learning how to love accept and give unconditional love to others. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    I purchased this book over 10 years ago,read two pages and put i

    I purchased this book over 10 years ago,read two pages and put it down, I should have continued but I wasn't ready. Now I that I am faced with one my of most difficult challenges, and I knew I needed to reevaluate, I have started reading again. I think things happen at a time when you most need it,and I needed it most now. I am able to understand and appreciate the guidance. Thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Life changer!

    I have never written a review on anything much less a book! But i could not keep the secret of what an amazing, eye opening, life changing book this is. If you are feel like your at a stand still in your life and something has to give.... do yourself a favor and read this book! Ive read it twice and passed out several copies to friends.... one of a kind!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    I read this book right after college in my 20's great book

    Clear the clutter in our minds and souls and hearts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Not self-help but self-discovery

    When I first read this book, I was amazed by how much this book described me, where I was, and what I was feeling. It is a must read for anyone who is questioning their place in the world and where to go from here. I would not describe it as a self-help book but rather a book about self-discovery. I recently let a friend read the book and it brought her to tears. I hope curiosity makes you pick it up because you will find it difficult to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5