Customer Reviews for

In the Meantime: Finding Yourself and the Love You Want

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will definately get you through a tough time!!!

    This has to be one of those books that every woman who has every had their heart broken has on her library shelf ready to hand off to one of her girlfriends who is in need. Iyanla Vanzant completely opened my heart and my mind to new ways of thinking after I had my heart broken and needed mending. This book is powerful and inspiring and will always been a book I turn to in times of need!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    2nd times a charm.

    My first go around at trying to read this book, was more than 5 years ago; I was way too emotional. Having healed some, it was not only reflective, but it also showed me how much further I need to go. Because I was emotionally available, this book can helped me greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Is Absolutely Amazing

    After going through breakup after breakup and having unsatisfactory friendships after friendships I was fed up. My mom bought me this book and even though I wasn't a big fan of the self-help genre, but I gave it a shot and was NOT disappointed.

    Iyanla speaks from the soul. Her colorful examples of people who go through things that we've all be through really help you see that you're not alone on this journey to find the love and happiness that we all deserve.

    I laughed, I cried, I was on the edge of my seat, and most of all I learned.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone trying to find meaning in their life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Best book I've read

    This book helped me so much. I've never had a book touch me so deeply. I recommend this book to anyone looking inward for answers. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2006

    THE 'soul searching' book that everyone should have on their bookshelf

    I first read this book 15 years ago, after my father died, I found out that my boyfriend at the time was not returning to the states (and that he was practically engaged to another woman), and I got into a horrific car accident that I walked away from. The author speaks the truth, and some things that she says will hit you with a ton of bricks, leading you to have an 'a ha!' moment. It is a book that I have reached for time and time again, and each time, after reading it, wonderful things DID happen... including reconnecting with my husband after not seeing him for 18 years (at the time).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    excellant

    This book really touched me , I gave it to a friend of mine , but I know right now he is not ready to read it, when he is ready like I was , then it will hit him , but in the 'mean time ' he is doing what he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    I also can't believe I waited so long to read this!

    A friend of mine gave me this book when I was having trouble in my marriage a few years ago. A friend of hers had given it to her because she found it so wonderful. Well, my friend got her relationship issues worked out and didn't read the book, but she thought it might be helpful for me based on what her friend had told her about it. Six months ago, knee-deep in a divorce, with my world upside down, I rediscovered the book on my shelf. I was sobbing by the middle of the first chapter. I read in only a few sittings. I highlighted all relevent items (half the book) and then I had to re-read the book. I've read it twice and, BarnesandNoble.com can be my witness, I've bought about 10 copies for all of my friends who I thought could benefit, and one for my therapist. A friend who is also going through a divorce called me the other day to thank me for sending it to her. She is now going to read if for a second time. She excitedly told me that this was a life-changing book for her, too. Now she and I sound like diciples of Ms. Vanzant. A truly wonderful book. I will continue to buy them for those I see who have found themselves In the Meantime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    A light of inspiration

    The heart felt, messages within this book,have been such a gift to my heart and soul. The author has spoken to my soul, it has many times so moved me through the healing that is so cleansing.This book could have not come to me at a better time.When the student is ready the teacher comes Blessings Iyanla

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    On A Spiritual Journey

    You must be ready to open up to everything when you read this book! It helps you recognize who you really are and how important it is to trust God. God must play a very important role in your life to allow your soul to just open up! Once it's open, not only you will know it but the people around you will see a change in you. This book is wonderful and will help you cleanse your soul. I'm always telling people about it! Iyanla if you are reading this, I thank you so much for your inspiration and strength for writing such uplifting books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    LOVING YOURSELF AND GOD

    i am a 43 year old woman, mother, ex-wife, ex-girlfriend. this book can help us look at ourselves and be honest with who we are and what we want. i found myself doing exactly that and no longer being the chosen but the one who will chose what and who i want in my life. i like the spirituality in the book. this book is an excellent source of information without trying to tell you what to do. i don't typically like self help books. this one is truly a book of knowledge and inspiration because of the love you have to find within yourself and the true meaning of loving yourself and God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE!

    I wish i could give this book more stars, it changed my life. before this book i was a person with no self love, who felt lonely and wondered why i never had a fullfilling relationship, why i always settled for less than the best. Well trust me this book will answer all of those questions. I have recommended this book to everyone i know and it has changed their lives also. You must read this!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    Highly Recommend to Anyone

    Iam in my mid twenties and going thru some problems that very few people can relate to. I took this book in an airport, I was desperate for some help. I myself do not read self help books because i dont find them to help at ALL. With this book though, helped me to 'change my mind' and have a different view about my life and everyone else that lives around me. I highly recommend this to anyone, not just people who have problems but just everyday living. Ms. Vanzant I NEED to MEET you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2003

    A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO LOVE YOURSELF

    when i first ran across this book in the library and started to read the outline of it I KNEW it was a book i NEEDED to read as well as wanted too.. then as i began to read it I began to learn about this incredible person I am and who I was capable of becoming nomatter what came my way.. this isn't a book u can just read in a couple of days like a novel, but self examination like the Bible (the book of instructions) you have to take some in and chew it and digest it, the bitter and the sweet. this book has changed my life as a woman, a wife, a mother, a friend, as an individual all together it has taught me to enjoy who i am the good and the bad, it has allowed me to see how much i have to offer... to myself and whomever wants to share. i have been purchasing this book for so many people and promoting it constantly, so Ayanla if your reading this i want my cut...so often times when i find myself feeling like im in the meantime of things in life i pick up the notes i wrote on this book and read them over and over again until i find the surface of "free"dom in my life, mind body and soul...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2002

    This book reaches out to YOU!

    When I was first introduced to this book, I was in the basement. Now, I find myself on my way to the 2nd floor, constantly 'cleaning' and finding new things about myself. Thank you, Iyanla!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    living a lie

    If you have to make a choice out of a bunch of books I say pick this one. The reason is 2 weeks ago I was in the same plight, my choice of course was this one....very enlightening! you'll be surprised some of the suggestions she'll make to improve not just your romantic life but your life in general. personal experience-thought I knew a lot about ladies well guess what, I was wrong besides, I thought relationships was my feild, I thought I was a guru, offering advice here and there---wrong again, just find out what exactly I'm talking about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Suddenly Dawned on

    My life was falling apart(I thought)when I separated from my finace and called off the wedding. But the day I purchased this book was when my real life began. Iyanla has a way of bringing you back from what ever it is keeping you stuck in the mud of fear and pain and not loving yourself. Thanks Iyanla God blessed you truly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    In the Meantime Love yourself

    After running around the book store for an hour, I decided to get this book. I was at a point in my life where I need some direction and wasn't to sure where I should head next. What I should do in the meantime, then I found my answer. Every time I am tempted to display, basement behavior, I reminded myself that I should be in the attic, and this is not the way people in the attic behave. Learn how to handle the meantimes in yourself, READ IN THE MEANTIME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    Life touching

    This is a great bool for all types of people. I have noticed even in some of her titles they say for black women and stuff. I am a 19 year old white female that has been through many of her early experiences in life. My father is an alcoholic, but was not until I went missing he turned to alcohol for comfort so when I was found 4 years later it did not matter to much to him. On my arival home I was mealested by a famiy member that was the only type of comfort I knew was love I was only 5 and had been shown that sex is the way. It has caused many problems and is also hard to cope with Iyanla by the Grace of God has helped me to become who i am today, I am not at my strongest peek but if I was what whould I be learning?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2001

    I couldn't seem to figure it all out by myself....

    I came across this book by chance, and I was delighted by the insight and helpful advice. So many things that she wrote about had to do directly with my life and my past and present relationships. Most of all I gained a better understanding of myself, and why my life has always felt not quite complete. I loved the little stories about other peoples relationships, I could really relate to some of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    CLEVER ANALOGIES FOR FINDING AND KEEPING LOVING RELATIONSHIPS

    I like Iyanla clever writting style very much. In a fun and light manner she presents ways in which you can look at what works and what doesn't work in your relationships. By 'cleaning our windows' and 'cleaning out the refrigerator' and so on, we can see what we have in our lives. Another great book I recommend is called 'Working On Yourself Doesn't Work' by Ariel and Shya Kane. This book has enabled me to create a lasting passion and enthusiasm for my work and relationships

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5