Customer Reviews for

In the Moon of Red Ponies (Billy Bob Holland Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Read this book and you'll search for his others.

    Always exciting and kept me on edge. This entire series is well written and I especially enjoy the humanity and frailty of Bill Bob. Burke's scenic and emotional descriptions are unmatched by any writer I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Maplejay

    She sighed and padded in after seeing Thymedust run out. "Velvetstar?" She said gently, sittin gin front of her and lowering he rnow soft amber eyes to eye level.

    •Maplejay•••

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Wishbreeze

    (^_^ Orionkit, Stormkit, Cloudkit and Dreamkit.)~Wish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Jaguartooth

    He padded out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Dreampaw

    ((Yeah Dreampaw isn't ready to be a warrior yet..))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fawnpaw

    She mews "velvetstar?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Thymedust

    "Velvetstar. I love you. I couldn't love Rabbit meat more then you! You are pretty, and you are my love. Faithseed may of been flirting, but i only inhanced it with trying to be friendly. Velvetstar, it all changes here. Will you be my mate." He rested his muzzle on her head. <br>
    •~&#8366hymedust~•

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wolfsun

    Velvetstr can i do he hunting posts the weekends are basically the only time i have to rp because of school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fawnstep

    I could do hunting posts, but they will be updated later in the evening.
    ~Fawnstep's RPer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I enjoyed the book albeit I will never buy another James Lee Bur

    I enjoyed the book albeit I will never buy another James Lee Burke book without first reading several chapters and maybe not after. I got my NOOK after having serious eye problems and retina surgery that has yet to resolve the issue. I have adjusted the type face to the style and size that is best for the one eye that I primarily use. It is disconcerting to have my comfort destroyed by either the author's or the publisher's capricious use of a tiny type font for three or four words at the beginning of seemingly randomly chosen paragraphs. I used a magnifying glass to get through this book, but I will not repeat the effort. An explanation is due to purchasers of this book, but for me even that is inadequate. I feel that my purchase of both the NOOK and this book was abused by what is probably a writer's ploy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reason to give

    What I like about James Lee Burke is his ability to portray his cast, 'heroes' and villains alike, as real people, men and women you could meet in the street, in your own life. Underneath, however, they have these troubled history and souls, often culminating in violence, again as well for good and bad characters. As in his Dave Robicheaux novels, he makes his protagonist out as people you want to explore, touch, get in touch with. I bought this book as a gift, I have it myself, so this goes to show how I like it : I don't recommend it, I give it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    The Weakest of the Lot

    I dislike weak main characters. Billy Bob is completely ineffectual and incredibly weak in this fourth outing. I don't mind flaws in a main character, but Billy Bob was too wishy-washy in this story. He spends most of his time wringing his hands or passing out empty threats. The one time he actually goes into action turns pathetic. Lucas and Temple remain the strongest characters in this series, with Wyatt running a very close second. Billy Bob needs to be much tougher if this series continues. The secondary characters were relatively annoying, and overboard self-righteous. My suggestion to Mr. Burke is to shelve the politics, or at least be more subtle about it. This story broke under the weight of the message he obviously was trying to get across. My head still hurts due to the hammer Burke kept hitting me with as I was reading. Mr. Burke is too good a writer to fall under mediocrity, and this story was mediocre at best. However a mediocre Burke novel is still better than no Burke novel at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    Complex Burke

    The title of this book brings to mind the Southwest and Native Americans. It was set in the Bitterroot Mountains of Missoula Montana, a place I would never have known there were reservations. Mr. Burke writes a story that involves many characters and many happenings and you need to pay attention to so you don¿t lose track of who, what, where and when things are happening. In The Moon of Red Ponies, Billy Bob Holland is a lawyer who gets involved in the troubles of Johnny American Horse and his girlfriend, Amber Finley. There is a cast of players to keep straight, such as, Wyatt Dickson, Senator Findley, Darrel McComb, Greta Lundstrohm, the DA, a less than scrupulous lawyer, Seth Masterson, and Billy Bob¿s wife, Temple and son, Lucas. Johnny¿s cause as an activist for land preservation as well as the rights of his Native American brothers has Johnny up against those with money, power and political connections. Johnny has past military service and that, combined with his teachings as a Native American provide plenty of tactics to keep him one step ahead of the bad guys. Unfortunately, he has become a drunk and this makes him a good target on which to pin the break-in of a research unit. Wyatt has been released from jail and is back to cause trouble for the very people he was sent to jail for trying to murder ¿ Temple Holland. Wyatt found Jesus in jail and between that and the ¿chemical cocktails¿ he takes, he wants to help Billy Bob catch the bad guys. Billy Bob doesn¿t trust him any father than he can throw him and Temple just wants him to leave them alone. Darrel is a good cop that had become rough around the edges and has blurred the lines between good and bad. He gets involved with Greta who leads him down the primrose path but not quite all the way to the end before Darrell catches on to what is happening and makes a last ditch effort to prove he really is the good cop he has always been. The reader, Tom Stechschulte, has a voice that provides each character with its own unique inflection and tone so it is easy to know who is speaking. James Lee Burke describes the mountains and streams; a little of the life on a reservation; and what can happen when money and greed come together. It is a story that is involved and complex. He leaves the story with the problems Wyatt causes unsolved ¿ maybe so he can write a sequel? The ending is less than resolved in this writer¿s opinion but does not leave every question unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    Burke writes another winner

    I hate coming to the end of a James Lee Burke novel because I realize I am back home in my boring suburban life. No other author transports you into his world better than Burke. You hear the wind in the pines, smell the smoke of the campfires and feel the touch of the strong characters he creates. It seems funny to call his writing beautiful as he can write some of the most violent scenes in crime fiction. But does anyone write better, more believable, dialogue than James Lee Burke? Billy Bob is the perennial 'feet of clay' hero given new life by an author that cares more about character than 'creating' plot twists. Want to truly enjoy his work? Read the book (I suggest slowly) then get the book on tape out of library (unabridged, naturally) and have it read to you while you walk the dog or drive to work. You will enter into another world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Teriffic thriller

    Former Texas Ranger Billy Bob Holland and his wife Temple relocate to Missoula, Montana where he opens up a law practice. However, Billy Bob is a bit stunned to learn justice did it again as the state freed the most dangerous person he ever met, psychopath Wyatt Dixon (see BITTERROOT) on a technicality. Though concerned that the crazed Wyatt might target him or Temple, he never expected the man to arrive at his law office needing a lawyer to represent his horse-trading business.----- Meanwhile, someone steals important documents from the Global Research lab. The police believe former Gulf War soldier, part Lakota Johnny American Horse and his girlfriend Amber, daughter of U.S. Senator Romulus Finney, are the thieves. Billy Bob takes on Johnny as a client while Detective Darrel McComb targets the half-Lakota veteran perhaps because he desires Amber. Cold-blooded multi millionaire CEO Karsten Mabus will hire anyone to do anything to obtain the papers including killing Billy Bob and his family.----- The violence is typical of Jamie Lee Burke as events spin out of control sort of like a tornado with innocent people being hurt by the spinning funnel clouds of subplots. Most interesting is Wyatt as he struggles with the help of legal drugs and Jesus to control his maniacal behavior. Billie Bob remains the same person wanting a little peace in his life, but somehow is always the eye of the storm as he learns that Tip O¿Neill was right that ¿all politics is local¿ inside the Burke norm of a fabulous ferociously brisk thriller.----- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2