BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In the Night Kitchen

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Still a Wonderful Gift!

This book continues to enthrall children even in this day of automation and animation. Should be on every child's bookshelf.

posted by readingissharing on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

should kids read this?

I was shocked when I read this. Being a teacher, I do not believe this is an appropriate book for children as young as 3 as is suggested. The sexual innuendo is blatant. I am not one to read into things, and yet even I, my parents, and my fiance found this book to be...
I was shocked when I read this. Being a teacher, I do not believe this is an appropriate book for children as young as 3 as is suggested. The sexual innuendo is blatant. I am not one to read into things, and yet even I, my parents, and my fiance found this book to be disturbing. I am at a loss as to why this book has won the Caldecott Honor.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Still a Wonderful Gift!

    This book continues to enthrall children even in this day of automation and animation. Should be on every child's bookshelf.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The First Time, I Laughed All the Way Through

    This story I discovered in a Smithsonian Museum shop and was happy to see it's still popular with children at Barnes and Noble. My brother and I had a coloring book, too. <BR/><BR/>It's definately memorable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Again! Again!

    This book is fabulous. The detail and care with which the illustrations were done is spectacular. My 2-yr old has had me read it at least 2 dozen times so far, and we've only had it a couple of weeks. The charming illustrations keep me from getting bored, too! BTW: We're not afraid of naked toddlers I guess that's why we don't live in North Dakota!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    Another Sendak classic

    Just like Really Rosey and Nutshell Library, this Sendak book is memorable because of its illustrations and its rhyming and catchy songs. Everyone who's read it remembers Mickey's trip to the baker's kitchen!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    2 Generation Favorite

    Not only was this my husbands favorite book but it was also one of my son and daughters favorites. It is a great book and lots of fun to read for the kids and adults. I would recommend this for kids of all ages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for the imaginative child.

    This is a great book for my 5 yr old boy. He also loves to cook so it has the extra bonus theme to it. The illustrations are very colorful & full of detail. Some may be put off by the part when the little boy falls out of his clothes (he is anatomically correct). Overall this is an engaging & fun book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    A book every parent should read to and with their young children

    I learned about In the Night Kitchen during a Childrens Literature class I was taking in college back in the 1980s. I bought it, and my young children fell in love with it immediately. We read it so many times that soon they were reading it with and to me. The illustrations are great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    my 2 year old loves this book!

    It's now in our bedtime book rotation. What's great is that my son now knows the story well enough to finish the sentences. A classic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    should kids read this?

    I was shocked when I read this. Being a teacher, I do not believe this is an appropriate book for children as young as 3 as is suggested. The sexual innuendo is blatant. I am not one to read into things, and yet even I, my parents, and my fiance found this book to be disturbing. I am at a loss as to why this book has won the Caldecott Honor.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    My almost-2 year old loves this book which we originally got fro

    My almost-2 year old loves this book which we originally got from the library on recommendation from my sister in law. Our boy now will say &quot;QUITE DOWN THERE!&quot; and quote other parts of the book, he enjoys it so much and requests it most nights-- we are having to buy our own copy. I was a bit shocked at the nakedness of the boy when I first saw it (I had never heard of this book as a kid myself), but that's my hangup as an adult and not one my kid has any issues with (what toddler cares about nakedness? Kind of the point when Sendak wrote it, as is my understanding). If you have an issue with seeing the front of a little boy 2 or 3 times, you might not like this. But, I bet your kid won't notice or care about that part, and will just love the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Cockadoodledoo!

    My two year old loves Micky. You can hear him help read the "Quiet Down There" and "Cockadoodledoo" parts throughout the house. A fun and funny story. Micky is naked through some of the story, so be warned if such things bother you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Watch out for the illustrations

    I was excited to get this book by Maurice Sundak, he is one of my favorites, however, I was a little taken aback by the illustrations. Perhaps I'm being a bit over catious, but I felt the full frontal nudity on the little boy was a lot overboard. I was very uneasy sharing this book with my preschoolers until I drew some boxer shorts on the little boy. So parents and educators beware of the nudity in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    You'll love in the night kitchen

    In The Night Kitchen By Maurice Sendak In this story a boy named Mickey goes on an adventure to the night kitchen. This is a very funny book. The pictures are my favorite thing about this book. My favorite part that happened in this story was when Mickey poured the milk in the cake batter. This is such a good book that it won Caldecott Honor. This author must be liked a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    Just Buy It.

    This was one of my all-time favorites as a kid. Reviewing the artwork now as an adult, I'm every bit as impressed. Where the Wild Things Are is superb, but in my opinion this is even better (however I would not be surprised if I was in the minority in this opinion.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1