Customer Reviews for

In the Pleasure Groove: Love, Death, and Duran Duran

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Great Read! If you are a fan of DD then read this.

    Like most girls in the 80's, John Taylor was my favorite member of Duran Duran so when this was due to be released, I added it to my wish list and waited.

    After reading Wild Boys by Andy Taylor, I was sure John Taylor was not going to 'trash' anyone; If anyone would have done this it would have been Andy Taylor and he did not.

    As a former catholic and self-declared survivor of catholic school too, he made statements that were so true, so to the point... I just couldn't believe that someone could explain points I have been unable to explain to others for years. Great job, John!

    His relationship with his mother was so touching; his relationship (and understanding) of his father was heartbreaking, expecially in the end. After reading this book, I am sure John entered adulthood, "kicking and screaming."

    This book almost reads like a cleansing of the soul, so to speak. It explains so much of what was going on within the band and their reaction to the 'fame monster' in the eighties. Love the band - Love the book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    A peek behind the curtain

    John Taylor appropriately chose to write this book, his life story, in somewhat of a journal style, but with an interesting balance of self analysis and openness. For Duranies, you'll love reliving the 80s, the photos, and the important band events as John tells them. For fans of pop music and musicianship, you will be enthralled by John's story of being dedicated to the craft and playing with some of the industry's very best. But have no doubt, John lived a life of drinking and drugging for many years, which I found to be the real reason for this writing: catharsis. He may not have shared every detail, but he gives a full picture of the depth of his addiction and the consequences.

    The writing style was smooth, witty (as has always been John's way,) and personal. Many times it felt like he was just telling me his story, not publishing it to the world.

    If you've got any interest in musicians, 80s music history, or addiction recovery, this book will not disappoint!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    John Taylor covers a large span of music evolution in this autob

    John Taylor covers a large span of music evolution in this autobiography of his life and that of Duran Duran, the rock group in which he still performs. It is that diverse, evolving story that speaks volumes for the success he has achieved. Yes, the audience may change, but the "real" audience has evolved with his talent and musical styles over the years.

    Taylor knows how to grab an audience. Right from the beginning, the reader is charged from the opening account of a concert performance in which the song "Tel Aviv" was played and Taylor confesses to being scared out of his mind at the almost animal atmosphere of the screaming, violent crowd. How does one play and what is it about the music that creates such a wild response to the group's music?

    We are then led back even further to the very start of his life, through his education, interest in music at first without any thought about actually becoming a rock star, and more. The terrific part of this next section is that he chronicles how the music evolved from simple chord music on acoustic guitar through the time of the Beatles through to rock music...to punk rock...., etc. For those who are older, it will bring back some great memories; for those who are younger, it might make them curious to check out the "older" music.

    Then comes the beginning Duran, Duran, playing as introductory music for other more famous singers and bands....then comes evolving success. Plenty of unknown and fascinating details follow about different and better instruments that were used, as well as how the other band members adapted, left, and joined, leading up to the present band members. There's a very riveting section on how drugs and booze almost blew the whole success chance out the window and a very painful part of how it broke him down. Fortunately, it didn't end there...

    Absolutely great biography about a singer, composer, producer and band leader who clearly is "passionate" beyond belief about his art. Read it and enjoy the music you will hear and the interesting guy you will come to know so much better as you read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Duran Duran was my first love for music, their music helped me c

    Duran Duran was my first love for music, their music helped me cope with the difficult life I endured.  John Taylor's posters adorned every inch of my bedroom wall.   I was 9 when I first heard their music and saw them on tv, I am now 40 and I love them even more.   To read this book brought back so many memories of good times when all my troubles were erased thanks to a wonderful band and the most incredible bass god ever!!!! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommended!

    If you were (and still are) a Duran Duran fan, you need to read this book! John Taylor (my all-time favorite) does not hold back on his experience as a 21 year old coping with sudden fame and fortune as a member of the biggest band of the 80's. He starts off with his childhood and goes through the present day. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    IS there something we should know?

    I was hesitant to read JT's book because, as a former Duranie, I didn't want the bloom to fall off the rose (for the record, Nick was my poster boy). It didn't, although it fell short in some areas where I wanted to learn more, particularly about his relationship with his bandmates during their reunion years and his experiences in rehab (I'm assuming that was by intent). Surprisingly, what I enjoyed most was his retelling of his childhood - his affection for his parents was the only thing that really humanized him for me. All in all, nothing earth-shattering is revealed, but it's a fun nostalgic read if you partied in the 80s and followed D2's career a bit too obsessively like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    The Real JT

    Witty, brutally honest, gut wrenchingly poignant, John Taylor, bass player and co-founding member of arguably one of the most popular bands to spring forth out of the MTV generation, chronicles his life as an awkward and shy teen interested in music to being part of a musical powerhouse. Through the highest of highs (literally), to the lowest of lows, this highly readable book reveals his struggles with addiction and fame at a young age, the wild times as one of the 80's wild boys, but presented in a way that was honest and touching. Recommended for fans of bands from that era and must read for DD fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    highly recommended for fans and no fans

    LIFE is a roller-coaster. His down to earth and fun writting got me hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Burn

    Nodded

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Tiger

    Tiger smiles "pkay ill go looking."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Interesting read, but falls flat of great

    First off, I am a Duranie through and through. Having grown up with them in the 80s, I was excited to crack open this book by John Taylor as I had hoped it would give me a glimpse inside what their lives were actually like. Instead, what I got was a story that read like it had gone through some heavy editing and didn't go that far beyond the stories I already know. The writing is also pretty lackluster.

    I guess I was looking for a lot more dirt. John's accounts of his childhood and how the band started were interesting and all, but given that comprises more than half of the book, I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't more 'juice' in this 'tell-all' book. To be honest, I was a bit bored, yet I turned each page with anticipation that the stories of what life after stardom was actually like for them. Maybe it's the tabloid life we live in, but I really wanted more reveals.

    If you are a lifelong Duran Duran fan like me, you are obligated to take on this read --- just don't expect to learn more than you already know about our boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Inside the mind of JT

    An amazing ride with JT. His struggles are documented so well in this book. His challenges to road of redemption and sobriety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    you don't have to be a Duranie to enjoy this book. It gives grea

    you don't have to be a Duranie to enjoy this book. It gives great insight into the rock culture, thru his experiences. john is very forthcomming about his addiction and the affect/effect it had on not only himself, but the band and his friendships. its an honest look into the culture of the 70's/80's pop/rock movement. i cant wait to get the audio version, to hear his story in his voice. a great companion to andy's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Duran Duran was one of the biggest bands of the 1980's and bassi

    Duran Duran was one of the biggest bands of the 1980's and bassist John Taylor gives readers and fans a peek at his musical influences, life in Duran Duran, and finding his own way. Expressive and poignant, John's story gets to the "heart" behind the man who continues to live a story we can all relate to.

    John opens the novel with life in Birmingham, England with his parents. Growing up, he was just a boy in the neighborhood, but when teenage John meets Nick Rhodes, the backbone of Duran Duran is formed. John and Nick pursue their dreams and soon the "boys next door" are founding members of one of the 1980's biggest rock groups.

    As John deals with fame, he comes to rely on fame's usual crutches, drugs and alcohol. His insights into the making of the first three Duran albums are a delightful treat for any fan.

    At the height of Duranmania in the 1980's the boy next door seems unrecognizable, surrendering to the music and drugs. John's story also offers hope that one can look adversity in the eye and overcome. He shares his choices, good and bad, and he shows us the humanity behind the man and his music.

    The book is easy to read and easy to relate to. Taylor talks about the height of Duranmania and the effects that fame had on him and his relationships. What I liked the most was his ability to relate a very human story behind the fame.

    "In The Pleasure Groove" gives you John Taylor, his way, his perspective. His story is highly entertaining, connecting on that "raw gut" level, just like Duran Duran's music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Must read! All new look at the JT we know and love.

    Wonderful read. Pictures are great. It as much a look at the band's rise to stardom as it is an ode to those that helped John and the band achieve their success. Beautifully honest without being overly revealing. A must read for any Duran Duran fan and anyone who loved the 80's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly recommended!!!

    John (Party Boy) Taylor from my all time favorite band, tells a wonderful and descriptive account of his life in the band and the starting of DD. The photos in the book are quite shocking and shed light on a side of JT he kept well hidden. This is a definite must read for all Duranies or just anyone who even likes the band a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly recommend - loved it!

    A must read for any Duran Duran fan. Chapters are short and easy to read - you tell yourself "one more chapter" and then relize you've read four!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    LOVED IT!!

    AS A HUGE DURAN DURAN FAN I COULD NOT WAIT TO GET THIS. JOHN IS REAL AND YOU ACTUALLY LEARN ALOT ABOUT HIM AND THE BAND. I MISS THE EIGHTIES!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2