Customer Reviews for

In the Presence of My Enemies

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    A Modern Missionary Classic

    For a year our small prayer group prayed for Martin and Gracie Burnham while they were in captivity. To read the inside story of this couple who lived through the terrorist nightmare the rest of us just dread is overwhelming. It is a privilege to hear her struggle, her survival, her appreciation for her husband's quiet encouragement in her own words. The details of how they made it that long is remarkable and in a strange way uplifting. I'm sure Gracia would rather be Martin's wife today than a national Christian author, but she has left a legacy that will inspire another generation to follow the Burnhams to ends of the earth to tell people Jesus loves them. For this reason Martin didn't return home, but Gracia did. Don't read this book unless you expect it to change you. Is has to!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I found this book to be very interesting and well written. It got my attention and kept me on the edge of my seat until the last page. It's a very inspirational and gut wrenching read. The Burnhams are such a great example of a very devout missionary couple who loved the people they served. It also gives you a great insight into the minds of their captors, some of whom were just teenagers. I highly recommend this book if you want to be inspired and challenged to live your faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Heart felt

    Very good book. I felt like I truely knew them. To be able to go through something like that &to not loose faith is amazing. I wish the best for there family. The family was blessed to have known Martin. What a wonderful &inspiring man of God

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Not a 'pie in the sky' but gut level honesty !

    I suppose I was a little surprised to read of such open honesty. Gracia Burnham tells it 'like it was', not how she wished it could have been. She pointed out all her doubts and weaknesses and in so doing, she shows each of us our own humanity and the strength to survive. I felt more moved by the honesty of her accounts than I would have been if she had written tomes of lengthy prayers. Both she and Martin lived their faith, and in his case, died for it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Wow!

    Very inspiring! Gracia Burnham is a role model to any Christian woman! I admire Mrs. Burnham greatly for enduring what she and her husband had to go through and finding strength during a horrible, tragic experience. Her positive words and attitude despite everything are such an inspiration. Definitely a heartfelt work and a wonderful tribute to her husband. Wow!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Riveting!

    What an incredible saga of God's grace and the will to survive in the face of unbelievable odds! This is the most gut-wrenching story I've ever read and yet the most grace-filled! The Burnham's realization that God is real is one I'll never forget. Don't read expecting a warm feeling, but read expecting a miracle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    HEARTWARMING, TRAGIC AND INSPIRING

    I read the preview of this book in the newest Ladies Home Journal. Now I am buying it to read the whole book!! This book can help readers to realize what is important in this life and to make the best use of our potentials. It could also be a help to couples that are going through problems with their marriage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Honest, captivating book

    I couldn't put this book down. I know it is a cliche, but literally, 'I laughed, I cried.' What a story! Very well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    A moving touching story

    I am a missionary and I can only say....God bless the Burnhams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    ?

    ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????-??????????????????????????????????,??????????????????????????((?????????????))????????((?????????????????????))?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????''?"???????????????????/!????(@(@&@),"???????????????;:;:;;:????

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    fantastik Wonderful true account

    Will read again. Praise God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Incredible story!

    This book is very well written and tells an awesome story of faith and strength during a long trial. I was inspired, convicted, and very moved by this book. I told all my friends to read it. So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    amazing

    Amazing story of the kidnapping of missionaries in the Philippines; an even more amazing story of forgiveness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Inspiring

    This is a really good read! Made me realize how easy my Christian life has been. Challenged me to make more of each day and to serve the Lord with gladness whatever circumstances surround me. God is faithful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    It's truly touching...

    This book helped me to view my life from a different perspective. I also liked the way the authors describe life events and their related details. It was really heart-broken Martin met his end that way after enduring such a terrible ordeal for a long year and more. It would take an enormous courage carrying on a life after losing a loved one especially having lived a life on foreign soil so many years and having spent one last incredible year together. As a father of 2 struggling grown-up children, I thank God that Gracia's children grew up well. It would be much harder otherwise even if I learned through this book that we have to take and overcome whatever comes in our way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing

    Great book. Had to pull myself away at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Amazing Faith

    What an amazing read! What this young couple went through living with the enemy is beyond anything I could have ever endured. The simplest little things we take so much for granted become cherished and the fight for survival and will to live is such a strong force.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Honestly is much easier to dislike...

    ...yet Gracia¿s stark honesty endears us to her and is hopeful in their hopeless world. Their ongoing 'adventure' seems as endless as His grace and far more daunting but there¿s a quality in her soul of grace when they needed to be gracious and a strength when they needed to strong. A lethal combination. Remarkable sharing of a gut wrenching saga of loss but a true example of anticipation of challenge; the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2