Customer Reviews for

In the Presence of My Enemies

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    I found this book to be very interesting and well written. It got my attention and kept me on the edge of my seat until the last page. It's a very inspirational and gut wrenching read. The Burnhams are such a great example of a very devout missionary couple who loved the people they served. It also gives you a great insight into the minds of their captors, some of whom were just teenagers. I highly recommend this book if you want to be inspired and challenged to live your faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Heart felt

    Very good book. I felt like I truely knew them. To be able to go through something like that &to not loose faith is amazing. I wish the best for there family. The family was blessed to have known Martin. What a wonderful &inspiring man of God

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    this book is great because gracia burnham is not making the things she tells about in the story up. she is actually telling of truthfull and real, historical events. I think that it is great that she was already a missionary, but it is even better that she has become a hero. it is weird how some of these situations can bring us closer to god. i did a report on this for summer reading and guess who got an 'a'? ME! i also liked it because while all of my friends were reading boring books, things that i would have literaly died reading, i had gotten a great book on a terrorist attack, survival and martyrdom. THIS BOOK IS GREAT YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    A moving touching story

    I am a missionary and I can only say....God bless the Burnhams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    ?

    ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????-??????????????????????????????????,??????????????????????????((?????????????))????????((?????????????????????))?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????''?"???????????????????/!????(@(@&@),"???????????????;:;:;;:????

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    fantastik Wonderful true account

    Will read again. Praise God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Incredible story!

    This book is very well written and tells an awesome story of faith and strength during a long trial. I was inspired, convicted, and very moved by this book. I told all my friends to read it. So good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    amazing

    Amazing story of the kidnapping of missionaries in the Philippines; an even more amazing story of forgiveness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Inspiring

    This is a really good read! Made me realize how easy my Christian life has been. Challenged me to make more of each day and to serve the Lord with gladness whatever circumstances surround me. God is faithful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    It's truly touching...

    This book helped me to view my life from a different perspective. I also liked the way the authors describe life events and their related details. It was really heart-broken Martin met his end that way after enduring such a terrible ordeal for a long year and more. It would take an enormous courage carrying on a life after losing a loved one especially having lived a life on foreign soil so many years and having spent one last incredible year together. As a father of 2 struggling grown-up children, I thank God that Gracia's children grew up well. It would be much harder otherwise even if I learned through this book that we have to take and overcome whatever comes in our way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Amazing

    Great book. Had to pull myself away at times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    More interesting than fiction... a must read

    This book was a pleasant surprise. I bought this book thinking that it might be one I wouldn't finish and would end up sitting on my shelf. But, once I started the book, I couldn't put it down. I remembered the news stories of the Burnhams' kidnapping but I didn't remember the details. Gracia is a very good story-teller and some of the details she remembers are amazing. I was surprised by the way the Burnhams' captors treated them. This book is action-packed and personal, too. I've given it to a few friends to read and they had the same reacation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1