Customer Reviews for

In the Service of the King

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Passionate & Sexy!

Laura Kaye is an author to keep your eye on folks! She knows how to write a story that catches your attention at the first word and leaves you wanting more with the last.

In The Service of the King, she weaves a tale born from an historical background, but takes plac...
Laura Kaye is an author to keep your eye on folks! She knows how to write a story that catches your attention at the first word and leaves you wanting more with the last.

In The Service of the King, she weaves a tale born from an historical background, but takes place in present day, with a young girl that has been raised to know that her destiny is to be an offering to the Vampire King. This is necessary to keep him and his guard strong in order to protect society from the evil beings that killed Shayla's older sister, so she is more than willing, nay, even eager to make this sacrifice.

Kael, the Fair, King of the Vampires, detests that he must partake of the proffered, and has vowed to do only what he must, without making any permanent link between them. Once he sees Shayla, his body and mind betrays him and he cannot resist her.

I took this book to bed with me to read - and my husband kicked me out! He said I was squirming around like I had restless leg syndrome, LOL! Well, his loss - that wasn't my problem. This story was HOT! I couldn't quit reading it until I finished it, and I'm pretty sure I'm going to be reading it again - and again! Laura knows how to make a gal wish she was with an Irish vampire who knows his way around a female's body ;-)

posted by GenaR on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Written and edited well but

I felt something was missing. Conflict. But it is a short 70 page story and is very hot.

posted by Vera64CR on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Passionate & Sexy!

    Laura Kaye is an author to keep your eye on folks! She knows how to write a story that catches your attention at the first word and leaves you wanting more with the last.

    In The Service of the King, she weaves a tale born from an historical background, but takes place in present day, with a young girl that has been raised to know that her destiny is to be an offering to the Vampire King. This is necessary to keep him and his guard strong in order to protect society from the evil beings that killed Shayla's older sister, so she is more than willing, nay, even eager to make this sacrifice.

    Kael, the Fair, King of the Vampires, detests that he must partake of the proffered, and has vowed to do only what he must, without making any permanent link between them. Once he sees Shayla, his body and mind betrays him and he cannot resist her.

    I took this book to bed with me to read - and my husband kicked me out! He said I was squirming around like I had restless leg syndrome, LOL! Well, his loss - that wasn't my problem. This story was HOT! I couldn't quit reading it until I finished it, and I'm pretty sure I'm going to be reading it again - and again! Laura knows how to make a gal wish she was with an Irish vampire who knows his way around a female's body ;-)

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Finished this book in only two hours. It was such a hot read. will read more from this talented author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    A Fantastic Short Story!!

    Carla's Review:

    When I read the synopsis of the book, I was a little skeptical of how Shayla is eager to give Kael, Warrior King of the Vampires anything to please him. I thought the story was going to be farfetched. Why would a woman be willing to give this Vampire King, someone she never met, anything he wishes, including her virginity? But damn! Laura Kaye blew me away with this wonderful story!!

    Kael can only have the blood of a human virgin or his mate. He lost his mate 300 years ago to the Soul Eaters and he is determined to never take a mate again. Every few months he goes through the Night of the Proffering in which the Proffered (a human female virgin who has trained many years for this one night with the King) is brought to him so he can feed. Kael dreads this night but knows he must feed, because his warriors will not feed until he does. Kael and his warriors need their strength in order to fight against the Soul Eaters, so even though he hates it, Kael will feed from the Proffered. This time he finds the Shayla waiting for him and Kael's life will be forever changed.

    Shayla (also known as the Proffered) has dedicated her life to the cause of defeating the Soul Eaters. Soul Eaters are evil vampires that drain the blood from humans and consume their souls by drinking through the last stutters of their heart. Then they rip out the heart and eat it. Kayla's sister was brutally raped and murdered by Soul Eaters, and since that day, Kayla has decided she would do whatever she could to aid Kael and the Vampire Warriors in their fight against the Soul Eaters. Since Shayla knows she could never fight and kill them, she decides to become a Proffered and aid the Warrior King of the Vampires in any other way she can.

    I LOVED this story. Once I started it, I could not stop reading it until I was finished. Even though it was a short story, I felt that it was not rushed. I loved the chemistry between Kael and Shayla. I also loved Liam, Kael's right hand warrior and the only person close to Kael. I hope that he will get a story of his own. My only complaint is that I wish this was not a short story because I would have loved to read a full length novel of Kael and Shayla.

    I give "In The Service Of The King" 5 out of 5 stars.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GraveTells Review: Steamy & heartfelt, In the Service of the King will enthrall and excite!

    That 5 is actually a 4.5 (but I figured 5 was closer than 4 =) )... The culture of In the Service of the King is reminiscent of the Midnight Breed series, where all the vampires are born male, cannot be made, and their mates lives are extended by drinking their blood. Kael, warrior king of his vampires, must feed from a virgin human female every three months or risk losing his immortality and the strength of his humanity. If that weren't pressure enough, none of Kael's vampire warriors will feed until he does... so if he continues to sacrifice his own welfare by putting off the ritual, so will they. The Proferring, the ritual night of sex and blood-taking, reminds Kael of all he has lost and his heart fears to take even a chance on finding another mate. Kael. Mmmm yummy, alpha, vulnerable Kael. Ms Kaye knows how to write a gently commanding yet scrumptiously tantalizing hero. In contrast to the sexy king, Shayla is the perfect combination of sweetly submissive and confidently demanding. I loved her graceful courage, her thirst for knowledge and sensual abandon. These two burn up the pages, even when they're not in bed! The sex is SEARING. Achingly passionate and deliciously unbridled. I might have made a few little sighs of my own just reading it, but if you asked, of course, I'd never admit to such shenanigans. *wink* There is an elegance to Laura Kaye's writing, subtle descriptors and skillful turn of phrase, that enhance and imply and insinuate, all without leaving the text feeling bloated or flowery. Heavy on the relationship intrigues, with no fighting or violence at all, this story fairly flew by. In the Service of the King is a novella that concentrates 100% on the connection between our two stubborn soul mates, yet still leaves open a few intriguing avenues to expand the series. Final thoughts: Whether you're already a fan of Laura Kaye's passionate, heart-wrenching style or a new reader looking for your next fix, you absolutely must read In the Service of the King! Laura is fairly new to the PNR scene and has already garnered several awards, both for her books and on her merit as an author, so come see what all the fuss is about and move this smokin' hot novella right to the top of your TBR list!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Wonderful story, romantic & very passionate. I couldn't put it down. Loved it :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Sensual and Fun

    Laura Kaye captures the essence of two people discovering they can't live without each other in her newest release, IN THE SERVICE OF THE KING. Shayla is strong-willed and determined, a perfect match for a king who has been hurt but longs for love. Shayla's and Kael's journey is heartwarming and sexy, and their feelings for each other, although pre-destined, come across as very realistic and convincing. Fun sensual scenes and interesting setting, too. It's a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Amazing author

    This is my third Laura Kaye story, and I have loved all of them. This one has the feel of a historical, but has a contemporary heroine. For a different type of vampire story, read her Forever Freed. For a different type of paranormal hero, read North of Need.
    Enjoy.
    MM Pollard

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Aaron to all

    Im nvr coming back to the nook world evr agian see ya all nvr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Dark

    K gtgtb bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Emilee

    Walk in wearing black skinny jeans a neon pink tanktop and a pair of black boots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A short, hot steamy read. Shayla wants to help the vampires in a

    A short, hot steamy read. Shayla wants to help the vampires in any way she can after losing her older sister to Soul Eaters while Kael doesn't want to get attached to anyone so he doesn't suffer lost again. The development between these two was interesting and seeing a glimps into this world, will be interesting to read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Love

    Love Laura Kaye and this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    In the service of the king

    This book was great I only wish it was a little longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book was kind of short, but it was such a great read that it sucked me in and I couldn't stop reading it. I like how Laura wrote about the special Proffering. It was such an intense thing that it needed its own book. Shayla and Kael drew me in with their own agendas and situations that they brought with them. I like how Kael was man enought to admit when he messed up and made it! Kael is so HOT!! I am a BIG fan of Laura's and all of her books are definite re-reads for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Awesomely HOT read!

    The was a short read, coming in at about 78 pages, but wow, what a packed little story it was! I was thoroughly impressed with how much the author accomplished in such a short amount of pages. The world she creates is pretty amazing and the characters are complicated and really likable! Kael, Warrior King of the Vampires, is chocked full of intrigue and hotness! He literally steams up the pages! Add to that, Shayla McKinnon, the sexy Proffering, and you have a terrifically salacious combination of lasciviousness and imagination that makes up this amazing read.

    The only downside, I wish it had been longer. I could totally see myself entrenched in this impressive story! Though we get a hefty amount of background story, I would love to read more about their history and more so about Kael's past adventures given how old he is!

    Seduced by the Vampire King (Vampire Warrior Kings #2)is scheduled to come out around June 1, 2012. That is a definite add to my TBR list! Can't wait!

    Note: In the Service of the King is the first book in the Vampire Warrior Kings series by Laura Kaye. I won this book from the "Love Is In The Air Blog Hop Giveaway" from Book Monster Reviews. A special thank you goes out to Carla Gallway, the owner of Book Monster Reviews, and to the author for the opportunity to win this terrific read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Well written

    A fun quick read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    In one short novella, Laura Kaye manages to create an entire vampire culture, seamlessly blending the ritual and antiquity of Kael's life with the tradition and modernity of young Shayla's. Both have their own agenda, but their instant and life altering attraction for one another becomes their priority. With wonderful detail and page turning intensity, Ms. Kaye, as always, manages to engross the reader in the characters themselves, blending steamy, mouthwatering sex with deep, believable emotions. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Steamy & heartfelt - a can't miss!

    The emotional depth of this book took my knees out from under me. I love that in today's world, the heroine is a virgin, saving herself for the vampire king - and it is BELIEVABLE! The king is tortured and living only a shadow of his life without his mate. The twists and heart-wrenching turns these to go through will keep you up reading all night. And did I mention the hot-as-it-gets sex? Royalty, eons of sacrifice, jewels, blood, burn up the sheets sensuality and vampires - this book is everything you want from a Harlequin Nocturne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2