Customer Reviews for

In the Still of the Night: The Strange Death of Ronda Reynolds and Her Mother's Unceasing Quest for the Truth

Average Rating 3.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I would recommend this if you are an Ann Rule fan

I was intrigued with the story and Ann Rule's writing, as usual, was great. But she usually ends her books with some kind of closure or verdict. I am a huge Ann Rule fan, but it left me a bit unsatisfied because we do not have an answer, verdict or closure in the end.

posted by 4666192 on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

I am a big Ann Rule fan,and this book does not deliver. Her style,as usual is stellar,but I expect resolution by the end of the story she has told. There is not only no resolution,but it is also extremely frustrating, because we know Ronda Reynolds' murderer and we know...
I am a big Ann Rule fan,and this book does not deliver. Her style,as usual is stellar,but I expect resolution by the end of the story she has told. There is not only no resolution,but it is also extremely frustrating, because we know Ronda Reynolds' murderer and we know that he or they are walking free. I for one,do not want to read another story like this from Ann Rule unless there is closure at the end. Ann,I still love your writing and your meticulous research,not only of the main characters,but of every nuance of the story; the backdrop where the story takes place,the individuals' backgrounds,etc.There is no one better at what you do.Please give us closure in the next book!

posted by bookjunkiesmom on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Very disappointing

    I am a big Ann Rule fan,and this book does not deliver. Her style,as usual is stellar,but I expect resolution by the end of the story she has told. There is not only no resolution,but it is also extremely frustrating, because we know Ronda Reynolds' murderer and we know that he or they are walking free. I for one,do not want to read another story like this from Ann Rule unless there is closure at the end. Ann,I still love your writing and your meticulous research,not only of the main characters,but of every nuance of the story; the backdrop where the story takes place,the individuals' backgrounds,etc.There is no one better at what you do.Please give us closure in the next book!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    I would recommend this if you are an Ann Rule fan

    I was intrigued with the story and Ann Rule's writing, as usual, was great. But she usually ends her books with some kind of closure or verdict. I am a huge Ann Rule fan, but it left me a bit unsatisfied because we do not have an answer, verdict or closure in the end.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Usual Good Writing by Ann Rule - Disappointed by Ending

    Ann Rule, as usual writes another very good true crime story. I was very surprised to find out by the end, that closure was not obtained fully by the mother. Very disappointing, but will continue to read Ann Rule, as long as her next novel has a wrap up.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Another Ann Rule classic!

    This book really puts you in touch with victims families but also adds all aspects of everyone involved. Another good read by my fav "Ann". :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    M axxmkko

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Great story - I couldn't put it down

    I got so involved with the story of this mothers' struggle to find the truth of her daughters death that I didn't want to put my Nook down! Ann Rule is such a gifted writer and she makes all of her True Crime books read like novels. I want to know the 'end' of this story...who did kill Ronda???? Her mom deserves to know and justice must be served in this case.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Highly recommended

    If you are a true crime buff you won't want to put your Nook down. I have read just about everything that Ann Rule has written and, as usual, she didn't disappoint. She always delivers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Not every story has a happy ending

    I am very glad Ann wrote this book to help Barb Thompson gain a larger audience in her unending quest for justice for her daughter!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    love it

    im a big ann rule fan. the only thing that kind of sucked was the ending. i totaly get why she wrote the book just wish there was more to the story. someone is responsible for the murder and i hope one fay her family will get justice.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    Worth Reading

    I have read all of Ann Rules books and did not like this one as much as any of the others. Just wasn't suspensful. I do understand why she wrote the book, so everyone will know Rhonda Reynolds story and I believe it needed to be told.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    One of my favs

    I really couldnt put this book down ann rule did it again!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    $17.99 for an e-book!!!

    I don't think so! Especially for a book with the so-so ratings of this one. Sorry, Ann Rule.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Poorly researched

    For an Ann Rule book, short on facts long on emotion. Poorly written and belongs on the fiction shelf.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Not an ending?

    Is the ending left open? By a previous review I suspect I do not want to read the book. I love Ann Rule for bringing closure to all these horrible crimes. I gain satisfaction in knowing that there was justice. She also sometimes updates us on her website years later on her truth-based characters. I hope to see some more good reviews to convince me to buy.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Wanting more

    Wonderful book. Hope she has a follow up once this case is solved. Stupid of cops thinking she killed herself. Evidence shows and proves that Rhonda was murdered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    While this book may not have had the ending that readers expecte

    While this book may not have had the ending that readers expected, the book gives insight into the terrible case of Ronda Reynolds murder. Rule is compassionate in telling the story and gives justice to Ronda and her mother Barb even if the case hasn't been finished quite yet. I hope that Ann Rule will be able to finally set the record straight about the death. Moreover, I hope Barb gets the justice she deserves. Perhaps then Rule can finish the story that has captivated readers for the past 14 years. A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Disappointment

    If you like true crime then Ann Rule is your girl. I have read several of her books and found them riveting. But this one. not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    I you are a fan of Ann any of her books are "must reads&q

    I you are a fan of Ann any of her books are "must reads"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Interesting story

    Not my favorite but decent. It's amazing to "hear" Ann's voice as she recounts the mysteries so I feel as if I'm a detective on the case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Disappointing

    I have read all of Ann Rule's books. Usually it is a safe bet that the book will be interesting, informative and a bit educational. This book did not even have a point. I understand that Ms. Rule felt bad for the victim's mom, but that is not sufficient reason to write a book, hardcover no less. I pre-ordered the hardcover edition and was looking forward to a great read. Not only was I disappointed, I was angry. I had spent about $30 on a book that, at best, should have been a paperback. In the future I will not pre-order Ms. Rule's books. I will wait until they are published, go to the bookstore and read several chapters before I decide to invest the money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9