Customer Reviews for

In the Tall Grass

Average Rating 3.5
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Felt a bit like Children of the Corn

This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find...
This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find Joe Hill (Kings son, btw) creepy. Something about his stories always make my spine tingle. Stephen King is a favorite of mine, and I am looking forward to the release of Doctor Sleep.

posted by 9181105 on October 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Bad news

What a rip off ! $4 for 40 pages? You should be ashamed!

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Felt a bit like Children of the Corn

    This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

    In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find Joe Hill (Kings son, btw) creepy. Something about his stories always make my spine tingle. Stephen King is a favorite of mine, and I am looking forward to the release of Doctor Sleep.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Bad news

    What a rip off ! $4 for 40 pages? You should be ashamed!

    30 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Not good

    Story ends abruptly, no clear meaning to the story, and details left undeveloped. Made me wish I hadn't wasted the money on this poorly constructed rip off. I've been a long-time King fan and must say this is the worst thing I've read with his name on it.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Gee, aren't you rich enough?

    It would of been nice to know that I was buying a 40 page not so bad short story for $3.99. But wait I also got 20 more pages of excerts from both Stephen's and Joe's new books as a bonus. This Constant Reader feels very ripped off. Shame on you.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    RIP OFF!!!

    I wish I had paid more attention to the other reviews, but being a huge King fan for decades made me excited to read this new book AND pay seven bucks for it. The actual short story is 35 pages. That's it. It doesn't even qualify as a novella in my opinion. The story line was predictable from the very beginning. I love Stephen King but come on! He has always been capable of greatness and is my favorite author. It saddens me to give this work one star, but it's deserved. Don't waste your time or money. This seemed like more of a publicity build up for Dr. Sleep.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Children of the Corn Lite

    When I hit the end, all I could think was, "that's it?"

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    I like King and his son, Hill. I have read all the books of each. But this was a rip off, just a few pages for $4 two advertisements and no ending.

    A good premise. But $4 for a flash story without a conclusion and two advertisments for future books is a rip off. Greed is bad for getting my business, hereafter if I am interested in either of these authors' books, I will get them from the library. For shame on Hill, King and Barnes and Noble. Save your money.

    AD

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    **

    I like Stephen king but felt ripped off. This should have been billed as a short story, not a book. ps Barnes & Noble, your connection (3 links later) to writing a review is too hard and not intuitive even though I already have an account with you. I won't bother with it again, so don't ask me again.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read from two of my favorite authors

    Stephen King and Joe Hill writing together! What more could you want? A wonderful story, characters and totally awesome read. I sat right down and reaad it immediately.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Solid Father/Son Effort

    I really enjoyed "In The Tall Grass", as well as the previews for "Doctor Sleep" & "Nos4A2". But while it was a fast and engaging read, it felt like it had a couple scenes/an act missing. This really could have easily been a full book in and of itself, and I hope father and son work together again to create a more complete (and full length) project.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    $4 for a short story is a little disgusting.  Check it out at th

    $4 for a short story is a little disgusting.  Check it out at the library instead for free.
    Good story but not worth the money

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Not a Novel

    This is NOT a novel... not even a novella! It is a SHORT STORY!!! Then follows an excerpt to King's new book and excerpt to Hill's new book!

    Why spend $4 for a short story? And you can read excerpts of a new book for free!

    Shame on you B & N for selling your loyal customers short!

    Double shame on you Stephen King for teaching your son, Joe Hill, how to rip off future fans!

    I've been a Stephen King fan way back when he was known as Richard Bachman and I thought I'd found a "new author" named Stephen King when I picked up "Carrie" in the early 1970s!!! SHAME, SHAME, SHAME!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Save your money

    Certainly not worth $4.00 for only 40 pages of actual story. Best to wait till it becomes part of a collection, which I'm sure will happen at some point.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Total ripoff

    Save your money. No plot. No characters. Disappointing and pointless. Terrible.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Disapointing

    Not worth its cost! This nok should of been .99! Story just stops where there could of been more. Ill be sure to check reviews better. There should of been something stating the shortness of this story. Live and learn

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Great Book- I could not put it down until the very end will be buying more Joe HIll books in the future!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Nice little horror story

    Great short story perfect for a night of reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Flintkit

    A small black kit with green eyes shyly looked in.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    another great work by father and son

    for fans of King of Hill a nice short creepy tale.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Chilling story

    This short story gave me chills and I wont be visiting the worlds largest ball of yarn anytime soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10