Customer Reviews for

In the Tall Grass

Average Rating 3.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Felt a bit like Children of the Corn

This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find...
This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find Joe Hill (Kings son, btw) creepy. Something about his stories always make my spine tingle. Stephen King is a favorite of mine, and I am looking forward to the release of Doctor Sleep.

posted by 9181105 on October 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Bad news

What a rip off ! $4 for 40 pages? You should be ashamed!

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read from two of my favorite authors

    Stephen King and Joe Hill writing together! What more could you want? A wonderful story, characters and totally awesome read. I sat right down and reaad it immediately.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Flintkit

    A small black kit with green eyes shyly looked in.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    another great work by father and son

    for fans of King of Hill a nice short creepy tale.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Chilling story

    This short story gave me chills and I wont be visiting the worlds largest ball of yarn anytime soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Very scary

    I couldn't finish this book, like several of Stephen Kings other books this one got to me and I couldn't continue to read it. It gave me nightmares.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    loved it!

    I enjoyed this short dose of horror and I hated to see it end. How I wish it were longer! King and Hill do a great job at drawing you in and making you hold your breath with anticipation. I was totally immersed while reading and pretty creeped out as well. I could almost see and smell the tall grass. There is gore and some nasty bits in here and this one is not for the faint of heart. Not a short story I will soon forget.

    I'm glad I read this one and I recommend it to fans of horror. It one of those stories where you are afraid to turn the page, but you just have to know what is coming next. This is by far, my favorite short story of 2012. These two need to write a full length novel.

    Also included at the end of In the Tall Grass are a few chapters of King and Hill's upcoming books.

    This review is my honest opinion. I purchased a copy of this book and did not receive any type of compensation for reading and reviewing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    debs

    anything king is worth buying and reading ;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great horror short from King and son!

    Short horror story from King and son. Bother and sister Cal and Becky are on a road trip when they hear a call for help issuing from the tall grass. As they enter to help, terror ensues.

    Seriously, writing a synopsis for a short story is tough! This one is uber gory and creepy! Plus, it comes with samples of both authors' upcoming works, DR. SLEEP and NOS4A2.

    Ebook and audio only release.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Green eyes

    They look at Ice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Grassstar

    Bbl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Ice

    Looked at green yes. If youre here to attack, see if i care. If youre here to jpin, you can. If youre here to lurk, stop being a creepy perv.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    FAST READ FROM THE KINGS!!

    IN THE TALL GRASS starts out nice and quiet. Then it begins to pull you in like a fish caught on a line. It was an entertaining FAST read; I couldn't wait to get to the end. Looking for another join writing by Stepen and son Joe Hill!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Kat

    She laughs and looks at him. "You gonna kiss me or ya gonna scream your name?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Cry

    Crrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyy.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    The Tall Grass by stephen King and John Hill,

    It was a great read , I really enjoyed reading it , You ll never guess how its going to end,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Chilling

    Bought this Eshort story with high expectations and wasn't let down. Great duet - King & Hill. I wish that they would collaborate on a major novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Myigytftdghdnrnrehqhkrjhegevadttwntegegeffreeefehhqgjqwfjurjgdfhhfdcgvtghhgjqd

    Sgehehthrrffrgddg1:323$-3*@4&%$4&$

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Good

    Great book JB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Don't miss out on this short story. It is a must read.

    This book brings father and son (king and hill) together as one. Absolutely spell binding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4