Customer Reviews for

In the Tall Grass

Average Rating 3.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Felt a bit like Children of the Corn

This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find...
This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find Joe Hill (Kings son, btw) creepy. Something about his stories always make my spine tingle. Stephen King is a favorite of mine, and I am looking forward to the release of Doctor Sleep.

posted by 9181105 on October 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Bad news

What a rip off ! $4 for 40 pages? You should be ashamed!

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Save your money

    Certainly not worth $4.00 for only 40 pages of actual story. Best to wait till it becomes part of a collection, which I'm sure will happen at some point.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    $4 for a short story is a little disgusting.  Check it out at th

    $4 for a short story is a little disgusting.  Check it out at the library instead for free.
    Good story but not worth the money

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Just ok

    I buy every King book on my nook and alsoin hardcover, for my library. For four bucks it was fine...the real treat was the exerpt from his next novel...A SEQUEL TO THE SHINING...I wont be able to wait until 9-13

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I'm a die- hard SK fan, and have to say, this is a waste of 3.99

    I'm a die- hard SK fan, and have to say, this is a waste of 3.99. The story was very choppy and also, the gore in it, was more "upsetting" than horrifying terror to me. I realize this was a short story but I expected more from THE MASTER. For what it's worth, I do also enjoy Joe Hill's stories as well, and this was seriously lacking, but an author can have an "off" story now and then... just was really let down, as I was looking forward to a good read, and this was not it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Eh....

    Eh....okay...for a short ass story ha ha. Sorry king

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    very creepie

    it was too much Stephen King creepie story for me. Did not like the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Short story, not a book

    I was disappointed after purchase to find this was only a 40 page short story with sneak peeks of two upcoming books filling the other 20 pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Don't waste your money.

    So disappointing. I like King's novels but his short stories always seem to be lacking. I'm not sure this one even really had an ending, maybe King and Hill forgot who was to write the end?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    interesting but predictable

    was expecting more from the story. it was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Good Read

    good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Had the potential to be interesting, but fizzled. Too short to c

    Had the potential to be interesting, but fizzled. Too short to command much attention. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Confusing

    Very confusing and not a very good read. Not their best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    Did not like this one. I read about half of it and it just kept

    Did not like this one. I read about half of it and it just kept getting gorier and less and less interesting as I read. I finally stopped and just skimmed through the last part of it, hoping that I would find some kind of sign that it would eventually get better. Before you buy it for the Nook, be aware that it's just a short story, not a full book. I actually love most of Stephen King's books and I have read every single one of his published books, but this one was awful. Either Joe Hill's influence is strong on this one. I did try one of his books and did not like it and am hesitant to try more of them after this 2nd try.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    PoppyStar

    We're at 'frozen north' results 3/4/7/14 (quadruple result!). Read the info at 'pocket rough guide' almost all results. It's impotant info!ap

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2