Customer Reviews for

In the Tall Grass

Average Rating 3.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Felt a bit like Children of the Corn

This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find...
This is a short story, ~ 42 pages. Then there is an excerpt for Stephen Kings new book, ~9 pages "Doctor Sleep" and and except for Joe Hills new book ~ 9 pages "NOS4A2". For a total page count of 61.

In The Tall Grass was fast paced and somewhat predictable. I find Joe Hill (Kings son, btw) creepy. Something about his stories always make my spine tingle. Stephen King is a favorite of mine, and I am looking forward to the release of Doctor Sleep.

posted by 9181105 on October 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Bad news

What a rip off ! $4 for 40 pages? You should be ashamed!

posted by Anonymous on October 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    **

    I like Stephen king but felt ripped off. This should have been billed as a short story, not a book. ps Barnes & Noble, your connection (3 links later) to writing a review is too hard and not intuitive even though I already have an account with you. I won't bother with it again, so don't ask me again.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Solid Father/Son Effort

    I really enjoyed "In The Tall Grass", as well as the previews for "Doctor Sleep" & "Nos4A2". But while it was a fast and engaging read, it felt like it had a couple scenes/an act missing. This really could have easily been a full book in and of itself, and I hope father and son work together again to create a more complete (and full length) project.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Great Book- I could not put it down until the very end will be buying more Joe HIll books in the future!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Creepy short story

    Good, classic King short story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Average SK

    Average short story with a usual SK theme. Felt very much like I had read this before, but short so the boredom did not have time to set in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    One CrazyMama says:

    Knew this was a short story. Purchased it anyway because it "grabbed" me. Maybe King and Hill could come back to this and expand on it some time in the near future. I was left wanting more, therfore, I gave 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Not bad

    It was a good story but even being a short story it seemed to drag. The ending part seemed a bit out of place then came back on track for the final couple pages. Did not read the two story samples yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Not my favorite short story...disappointed

    I'm not a big short story fan but I really enjoy both Joe Hill and Stephen King, I'm sorry I wasted my money on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Expected a Full Length Novel

    Somehow it wasn't clear to me that it was not an actual novel, but a slightly long short story (maybe not as long as "The Langoliers", for King fans). Since one doesn't sense the end of the book coming as readily on a nook, I was taken by surprise.

    Hill is still relatively new to me; if you are a reader of Stephen King's books, you know he has a fairly wide "ick" range. This is one of the edgier things he's participated in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Meh

    Its was just okay. Nothing to get excited over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2