BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In the Time of the Butterflies

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A high school student who loves history!

When I read this fantastic, innovative, and well written novel, it gave me a new insight on the history of the Dominican Republic. I had never before heard of Truilljo or the Miribal sisters. Not only did it give me great information (and a great movie as well!), but ...
When I read this fantastic, innovative, and well written novel, it gave me a new insight on the history of the Dominican Republic. I had never before heard of Truilljo or the Miribal sisters. Not only did it give me great information (and a great movie as well!), but it also gave me inspiration. As a young woman, I know that I can achieve many things, just like Minerva did. I highly recommend this book for all who want a good book to read, want to learn, and want to become inspired.

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

!

Thanks to the MANY rude, hateful inconsiderate plot spoiling posters who revealed every detail of the book, especially the fool that quoted long passages from the book...thanks for ruining the book. Each and every one of you should be banned from posting.

posted by 8888649 on February 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    A good book to read

    I really liked reading this book...I thought it was really interesting...Almost everypart of this book grabed my attention!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    In the Time of the Butterflies

    In the Time of the Butterflies is a true story about a courageous family and their journey to freedom. There were the four Mirabal sisters, ¿The Butterflies.¿ Patria, Minerva, Maria Teresa and Dedé spoke across years of their own unique story. Beginning with strong education, friendships and secret crushes to torture and fighting for freedom and education. As they describe life in the mid 1900¿s in four new views. As young children the four young girls grew up in a normal house with a kind mother and content father. Their father owned a store and a farm. And when the girls were old enough they began their education in a private sleep-away school. At school Minerva learns more about the unfair ruler Trujillo, and begins to question her religion and her thoughts about him. As time goes on and more problems with Trujillo develop the sisters try to ignore it and move on with their children and husbands. But when most of the sisters join in a group against Trujillo they put their lives as well as their children¿s lives on the line. Through their lifelong adventure the girls are forced to learn new codes and prison language to keep them alive. The sisters learned who they could trust and who they couldn¿t. ¿Not only was there nothing in the world we could do to save the men, there was nothing in the world we could do to save ourselves either.¿ I enjoyed reading this book, although the beginning was a little slow it made up for it in the end. It was a true story of freedom, and fighting for what you believe in, even if it means you need to make a sacrifice. It was very exciting to the point where I didn¿t even want to put the book down. I also learned a lot about what went on before my time, and in a different location. This book would be an excellent book for any aged girl looking to learn more about a different culture or even her own heritage. Publishing information: Author-Julia Alvarez, Copyright-1994 by Penguin Books USA INC., New York, NY.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Jackie

    Publishing information:copyright 1994 by Penguin Books USA Inc. New York, NY. The book In the time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez is an amazing story. It¿s about four sisters who are very different and how they drift apart over the years, but also how they pull together when their lives and families are in danger. The sisters Patria, Déde, Minerva and María Teresa each tell the story of their life, love, and dreams. They grew up under the dictatorship of a man called Trujillo. They tried to live a full, rich life with their father and mother. The family owned a farm and store. Their mother stayed at home raising the children. The sisters attended a catholic sleep in school, and begin the first part of their life. Minerva learns more about the dictator Trujillo than she ever thought possible from stories and experience. During one summer Déde and Minerva met a man named Leo, he convinced Minerva to join the underground revolution. Theirs lives changed forever at that point. As Patria and Déde married and started their life, María Teresa and Minerva went to law school. Minerva was still involved in the revolution and married a supporter named Manolo. Over the years three of the four sisters were part of the revolution. They were forced to rely on their minds and instinct to survive when their husbands were caught and put in prison. But an unexpected twist happened that through the whole family off guard. I liked this book because it is filled with action and adventure. But my favorite part would be because it¿s based on historical facts. I was able to learn about a time that I didn¿t even know existed. This book was amazing and could be perfect for any one, but it does have some situations that could be meant for adults.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    A Change

    In the Time of The Butterflies by Julia Alvarez. This story is about the struggle between four sisters during the rule of Trujillo. In the book the sisters so threw prison and set backs. They where separated from there family and kids just to be in prison fighting for what they believe in. I would recommend this book to kids that want to know what used to go on in the past and to experience what other people went threw to be able to consider there selves free. I thought this book showed the struggles of the sisters went threw to be able to be reunited in the end they had to go threw death to be able to get freedom. I would rate this book a 5 because it shows all the fights and setbacks that really did happen. I felt inspired that the sisters stud up for what they believed in. This book made me thankful to know that there are people around me that believe in fighting for what is right.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Surprising!

    I loved this book becasue it was very strong and emotional for me. Also because every character were great and Julia Alvarez is a wonderful writer. I can't wait to read another of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Latina's are unified by the need of justice

    This book really shows what latin woman are capable of accomplishing once they have a real motive to lead them by. It shows we as Latina's are strong enough to face the good and bad faces of been fair and well respected. I really enjoyed the novel as well as the movie. It fills me with pride to say im a Dominican woman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    What kind of book is this?

    Instead of honoring the historical significance of the sisters, the book is just a fantasy about being a little girl going through the hardships of growing up. Not worth the time to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    amazingly and beautifully haunting

    i read this book after reading THE FARMING OF THE BONES by Edwidge Danticat (which is also a very powerful read), and i was moved to tears after reading IN THE TIME OF BUTTERFLIES. i was so touched for what they sacrificed for not only themselves but for all those on the island. this book also humanized martyrs and for that - i will recommend this beautifully written book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    Very moving

    Latin American literature seems to be an untapped wealth of emotionally charged stories like this one. I have read it several times and each time I get wrapped up in it and finish it in 2 or 3 days, usually in tears. A beautiful historical fiction story based on a fascinating history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    Incredible

    This book was a wonderful read. When I finished reading this book I wanted to cry out. I was angry at the inhumanity, I was proud to be from the same country as these women, and I was upset that I had never been told this story before. Wonderful book. Must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    OUTSTANDING MUST READ

    I picked up this book from a recommended library shelf and found one of my favorite books. This book is beautifully written and gives us an insight of what those times were really like. It's sad story shows us what an aweful experience so many had to go through for the desire of freedom. A definite must read for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    A Great Read!

    In the Time of the Butterflies is a wonderful book. I read it for an 11th grade reading assignment, and I absolutely devoured it from the first page. It is wonderfully written and a touching story. It was especially appealing to me because of my familiarity with the Spanish language and customs; however, its lessons and themes transcend all nationalities, and I recommend it to anyone who's looking for a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    A beautiful tale based on a true story..

    Julia Alvarez is a great writer, captivating the true essence of life, ambitions, love, and most importantly, freedom.. Although this story is tragic and true, and the heroines were so unfortunate in the end, they accomplished something that many women would carry with them.. They stood up for themselves and were courageous.. Thanks to this writer, today women all over can understand and relate to this pain and struggle also agaisnt political repression. Julia Alvarez is one of my all time favorites. i love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    Courageous, Exciting, Beautifully Written...

    Several years ago, my daughter Jessica was assigned 'In the Time of the Butterflies' for a ninth grade course in Language Arts. I decided to read the book myself after several friends of mine raved about it. I have to say that this book is excellent! The writing style of Julia Alvarez is different in that it takes me to the Dominican Republic in its detailed descriptions. I loved the way she developed each character, individually then as a group. I would recommend this author and this book to anyone looking for a book that transports you in time to a place where dictatorship ruled and a quest for freedom and patriotism lives in the hearts of men and more importantly in woman. Great book for understanding the human condition in a sister isla Dominican Republic. I would also recommend it as a womens studies book or Latin American studies book! Bravo, Julia me llevaste a la isla en un tiempo de revolucion y esperanza.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    In the Time of the Butterflies

    Julia Alvarez did an excellent job telling the fictional story of four, real-life sisters. Her writing style is unique and unlike anything I have seen. She portrays these women so well, I feel like I know them personaly. Each character has a different personality but they are all connected by the same tragedies. Alvarez takes the reader into the four different minds so one gets every perspective of living in the Dominican Republic under the rule of Trujillo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Look Deirdra

    ¿In the Time of the Butterflies¿ is a breathtaking book by Julia Arvartez. It teaches readers about the fear of evil and how a whole community of people can be influenced by a dictator. It brings up disscussions of things that would have othrwise been left alone and provideds readers with an incite on the various occurences that have happened in the Dominican Republic¿s past. The story of the Mirabal sisters suddenly comes alive and you live each moment of their lives with them. From volley-ball games to prison cells, Arvartez demonstrates the hardships that the rivals of Trujillo (the dictator) were presented with. With vivid detail Arvartez dicribes the lack of justice and the hopelessness of the general public in the Dominican Republic. Personally I found the story as one that hadn¿t happened in the past, but one that had just ended. It showed me how much power a single person can have and how much of a difference they can make. I felt as if the Mirabal sisters had been my bestfriends and when they were killed I couldn¿t belive it. Julia Arvartez has created a magnificent book that readers will remember for the rest of their lives.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Beautiful and sad

    I at first thought I was reading a novel, only to discover 1/2 way through that this was based on a true story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I loved this book. to be honest this book ranks within my top 5

    I loved this book. to be honest this book ranks within my top 5 books I've read. The way Julia Alverez makes the lives of the four sisters just
     project itself into my head is just amazing. its like im watching a movie of the book as I'm reading it. This book kept me reading. i was so
    entranced at times that i was reading at the most like 2 to 2 1/2 hours. the thrill and mystery that is in this book is amazing. so if i can humbly
    recommend strongly that you buy this book and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I'm a 15 year older high schooler and "In the Time of Butte

    I'm a 15 year older high schooler and "In the Time of Butterflies" was the perfect book for me to read. The Dominican Republic is my favorite country so I liked the fact that it took place there. My favorite character overall was Dede because of her strength to keep her marriage together. It's important to keep a family rather than going against one. I still love Patria Mercedes, Minerva, and Maria Teresa because of their courageousness. They stood up for the women in their country and I loved that. It was tragic when Patria Mercedes
    Minerva, Maria Teresa, and the driver, Rufino De La Cruz were killed. They left behind all their children. I like the way the book was set. Every chapter being narracted by a different sister. This book was educational. It taught me and explained to me the hardship women went through years ago in the Dominican. The MIrabal sisters were just 4 of many women who stood up against the dictatorship of El Jefe Trujillo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Los Mariposas

    I was assigned this book for Honors 10th Literature . And I can honestly say this was a good read , even though it took me awhile to finish with other school work , but it was VERY worth it !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12