Customer Reviews for

In the Time of the Butterflies

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A high school student who loves history!

When I read this fantastic, innovative, and well written novel, it gave me a new insight on the history of the Dominican Republic. I had never before heard of Truilljo or the Miribal sisters. Not only did it give me great information (and a great movie as well!), but ...
When I read this fantastic, innovative, and well written novel, it gave me a new insight on the history of the Dominican Republic. I had never before heard of Truilljo or the Miribal sisters. Not only did it give me great information (and a great movie as well!), but it also gave me inspiration. As a young woman, I know that I can achieve many things, just like Minerva did. I highly recommend this book for all who want a good book to read, want to learn, and want to become inspired.

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

!

Thanks to the MANY rude, hateful inconsiderate plot spoiling posters who revealed every detail of the book, especially the fool that quoted long passages from the book...thanks for ruining the book. Each and every one of you should be banned from posting.

posted by 8888649 on February 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    I loved this book! You must read the Authors notes first, I too

    I loved this book! You must read the Authors notes first, I too have three sisters so can relate to the love and bond sisters have, also good view of the government in the Dominical Republic at this time. Highly recommend this book, Julia Alvarez can tell a story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Great Story of coming of age

    Great Story of coming of age

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    SOO GOOD

    This was mandatory reading for my AP 11 english class, & it was so worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Interesting story, not impressed with writing

    The story line was fascinating, and I wanted to keep reading to find out what happens next. I love that the story was written from different characters viewpoints. However, I found that the story was not well written. This may not have been entirely the author's fault. There were many, many erros that appeared to be typos, that perhaps occurred in transferring the book to electronic form? It greatly interrupted the flow of the reading. In addition to the errors, the author failed to get me to fall in love with the characters. With a story this exciting the book should have been impossible to put down, yet it was not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    A friend of mine in Costa Rica recommended this book to me years

    A friend of mine in Costa Rica recommended this book to me years ago but only now got the chance to pick it up.  And I'm glad that I did!  Any woman can relate to one of the Mirabal sisters, and if you have a sister you certainly can relate to their relationships.  I loved the way it took you through their lives in the time of Trujilo to when they were old enough to do something about it.  It's suspenseful and deeply inspiring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    WOW

    This story, the hearts and lives of this family AND a people became so real to me in these pages! It will stay with me forever and I am honored to know of this time in history! To the author-your gift of storytelling made the hearts and the lives of these women so real! More real than any factual biography could have ever done! I commend and thank you for an amazing piece of work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Review

    This book was very hard to read because it was not well written and it was not proofread at all. There were so many errors that it was very difficult to read and/or absorb. The story line was okay, but I get very annoyed with the poor punctuation, grammar, spelling, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Slow and plodding

    I kept reading but I am not sure why. There were moments of story that compelled me, but not a lot. It was anther story of bad people mistreating and abusing good people and while this one was based on true events, but fictional people, I never felt invested. Perhaps it was because the story managed to be told in first person by people who died before the end of the book, but I did not feel invested in the characters. I have good friend from the Dominican Republic and she has never mentioned these historical details. Perhaps someone from the islands where this occurred might find it more compelling-or maybe not. I generally find historical novels interesting even if I am not connected to the location. This book just did not inspire me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Sierra

    Welcome to the Emo RP. Bios are in the next result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Excellent Historical Novel

    I really enjoyed this book. It caught me up in the story and I was reading it every spare moment I had. It is a true story and I learned a lot about the history of the Dominican Republic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Good Story, Long Read

    This was a little difficult to get caught up in but the atmosphere was a great experience. I really like how each sister got to tell her own part of the story so you really got to know them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Comment

    It was a great book and it gave me incite to a different world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Good

    Exceptional story, eye opening, educational, emotional
    If you like historical novels, read this.
    One bad thing:
    Typos ALL throughout. Often I would be replaced with 1 or the letters rm or rn would be replaced with m, etc. Still easy enough to read, just a little distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Absolute inspiration

    Strength, courage, and stubbornness all wrapped up in one girl, Minerva. Best book from when i was in high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    AP World History The book In the Time of the Butterflies is

    AP World History

    The book In the Time of the Butterflies is great and inspiring book that has has good storyline behind it. It is about a girl Minerva who lives in the Dominican Republic in the 1960's, and her goal is to end the country's suffering from communism. The Author, Julia Alvarez, is writing this based of a story that sums up her life because she was actually born in the Dominican Republic around the same time as her character Minerva. Alvarez speaks through Minerva and explains the hardships and that she faced while fighting for her country's rights. (Keep in mind that in this time period women had very little rights, and for her to go against the leader, form a rebellious group was extremely risky and every time she engaged in an act, she was putting her life on the line.
    I would recommend this book to all teens and up because not only does it talk about history but it tells an inspirational story of women taking action and standing up for not just their rights but the rights of their entire country. And don't worry, those who are looking to see if this book has romance in it; there is and it really compliments the story and gives you relief from the hardships but at the same time grief because there is no such as thing as a perfect love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    The book is based on real life, but the book reads itself as if

    The book is based on real life, but the book reads itself as if it were fiction. Talking about the Dominican Republic's history on Trujillo’s dictatorship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    a good read

    Good book. Sike! I dint even read it, YET......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Good read.

    Well written good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Unusual plot

    Good book, plot was different and main character well-developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Fabulous Read

    Great from beginning to end. Great writing, and really got to know each of the characters. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 12