Customer Reviews for

In the Water They Can't See You Cry: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book! I recommend it to swimmers, former swimmers, swim

Amazing book! I recommend it to swimmers, former swimmers, swim parents and girls/women struggling with self-image issues.

posted by 10587417 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

"Don't hate me because I am beautiful." Ok Amanda, we

"Don't hate me because I am beautiful." Ok Amanda, we get it. The book is a tell-all revealing her poor choices in life-alcohol starting in high school, sex, drugs & abusive relationships. All of these actions with no consequences-in fact the opposite- Oly...
"Don't hate me because I am beautiful." Ok Amanda, we get it. The book is a tell-all revealing her poor choices in life-alcohol starting in high school, sex, drugs & abusive relationships. All of these actions with no consequences-in fact the opposite- Olympic medals and lucrative modeling contracts. There is the recurring theme of self hatred & perfectionism tied to her eating disorder which she credits for her drive to be the best swimmer but also blames for her alcohol & drug use, her abusive boyfriends and her cutting & bulimia- taking no responsibility for her actions. This book was written to make money not to inspire young girls. For a girl with an eating disorder, this book is a trigger! Shame on you , Amanda!

posted by jorainis on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Amazing book! I recommend it to swimmers, former swimmers, swim

    Amazing book! I recommend it to swimmers, former swimmers, swim parents and girls/women struggling with self-image issues.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Beautiful

    I never read something so realistic .

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    This is a book worth reading for those suffering eating diorders, depression, self-doubt

    In this book Amanda has the courage to share personal issues that would be taboo in the world she lives in. She has had the courage to give voice to subjects that other women (and men)
    cannot, or don't have the courage to voice.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Amazing

    I was watching the Today show one morning, and Amanda Beard was on the show. They were talking about this book, "In the Water They Can't See You Cry." Amanda Beard's words meant so much, and I knew right then and there that I had to read the book. So I did, and it turns out I really really really really really really liked it. Well, I didn't like it. I LOVED IT!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    "Don't hate me because I am beautiful." Ok Amanda, we

    "Don't hate me because I am beautiful." Ok Amanda, we get it. The book is a tell-all revealing her poor choices in life-alcohol starting in high school, sex, drugs & abusive relationships. All of these actions with no consequences-in fact the opposite- Olympic medals and lucrative modeling contracts. There is the recurring theme of self hatred & perfectionism tied to her eating disorder which she credits for her drive to be the best swimmer but also blames for her alcohol & drug use, her abusive boyfriends and her cutting & bulimia- taking no responsibility for her actions. This book was written to make money not to inspire young girls. For a girl with an eating disorder, this book is a trigger! Shame on you , Amanda!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I read this at the gym working out and felt at first like it was a little too much. But like my workout I pushed on through it and SO glad I did. Amanda's story is compelling and felt like it struck a little bit of a cord with me. The battles she went through are very real some I could relate to. If you have or you know someone who has gone through some real life battles then this is a wonderful book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Amazing

    I am a former swimmer and i felt this book was amazing. It made me want to get back in the pool. I had heard about this book a while back and I'm glad i found it for my nook. I read it in 2 days. It left me wanting more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    One of the best autobiographies I've ever read

    Perhaps I am a little bias because I am a swimmer, but this book was phenomenal. Beard and Paley do a great job outlining her life and in a way that everyone (not just swimmers) can understand and relate to. I found this book to be very inspirational; same goes to Amanda as a person. I condemn her for coming out with this story so other athletes can learn and relate to her. It sometimes pains me to read books more than once (especially within a short period of time) but I've started reading it a second time as Olympic Trials is underway. Great, quick, inspiring read. Buy it!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was both entertaining and enlightening. I really enjoyed her story as a person and sports idol.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Unmatchable

    I absolutely love this book. The things she went through are unimaginable!!!!! I am a swimmer myself and know the stress but I feel exactly the same way as her. Now I know that it is normal of us swimmers. It tells of her struggles with bulimia, anorexia, cutting herself, and drugs. Very touching read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Should I...?

    My sister needed a biography and looked at this. I asked her if I could read it if she got it and she said: "Natalie, no, because she did a lot of stupid things. She cut herself-" "Stop there." I said. I knew what cutting was, and I thought, 'Why? Why would someone abuse themself like that?'
    Yes, I am a breaststroker in swimming, but I recremend more apropriate books like JANET EVANS TOTAL SWIMMING. Read my review on that book.
    -Swimmer Forever (or SwimGirl)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Did not like.

    thought this would have more depth to it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Should I read this can someone answer me

    I'm a big time swimmer on a state teem and I'm wondering if I should buy this. I just want a brief summary telling me what age this is ment for

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Worth purchasing!

    I highly recommend this book to anyone. Its very real & honest. Read the entire book in 4 hours because i couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I can't even put into words how much this book touched me. I te

    I can't even put into words how much this book touched me. I teared up multiple times while reading. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Look Into Her World

    The is a look into the life of a four time Olympic Athlete. She really bares her soul, and the pain of growing up with a Learning Disability. At first she seems to keep her inner demons under control, and is a fish in the water. We journey with her through all aspects of her life, some good and some so very hard. We go with her through her difficult High School experience, suffering from a type of Dyslexia, and getting relief and achievement in the pool.
    I loved how her Dad seem to cherish her, one time recording a book that she was having trouble reading. Of course her whole family were always there to support her when she was competing. She seemed to have it all, and yet she really didn't seem to like herself.
    You will feel so sorry for her, and her choices of relationships, where she values herself so very little. This should also be mandatory read by parents with Children at high levels of competition. One You will find this a rather compelling page turner, and I love the ending!

    I was provided with a copy of this book by the Publisher Simon & Schuster, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    the book title nailed it

    Amanda is a courageous woman for sharing her story with the world. It is a very well written book and truly conveys the depth of her emotions be they joy, fear, or pain. To share such personal trials, all the broken relationships, her family dynamics, self harm (cutting), her journey through swimming to the Olympics and back again is very insightful. It certainly opens your eyes and makes you realize life is not necessarily a bed of roses for them (Olympians) as many may think, they are after all human just like the rest of us.
    Reading how much her father loved her and the sacrifices he made for her was so incredibly touching. What an awesome dad. Her husband, to stand by her after discovering her "secret" and continuing to love her and help her through it was beyond words.
    This is a wonderful read. You truly become immersed in the book and feel as though you're right there with Amanda as she grows to become an Olympian and the woman she is today. I think many athletes can associate with with this book even if they aren't swimmers. As a former gymnast, I know I certainly can....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    Excellent story

    Amanda Beard is very honest about herself and her swimming career. She goes through the good and the bad, including occasional drug use and purging. Overall, it's a good, complete honest look at herself and her career and how's she's come out strong on the other side. A must read for any sports fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Millybear

    Amaizing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    May 20,2013

    Btw im only nine and its long course and in the 50 free i have a 34.00 and the zone time is 33.69 i am so close !!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2