Customer Reviews for

In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 757 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(225)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(77)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Very good book

This was a very good book that kept your interest throughout. The only criticism I have is that there were some issues that seemed paramount to the story that were never resolved. I hate when authors do that!

posted by 1837634 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

descriptive - may contain spoiler alerts

I have to agree with many reviews posted. The book was overly descriptive about irrelevant details, whereas one of the biggest mysteries was never resolved (perhaps a sequel). The back story was just a red herring for the main event it seems, and was poorly intertwine...
I have to agree with many reviews posted. The book was overly descriptive about irrelevant details, whereas one of the biggest mysteries was never resolved (perhaps a sequel). The back story was just a red herring for the main event it seems, and was poorly intertwined. The fact that the ending wasn't a "happy" one made for an interesting read. I found myself liking the main character all the way through until the end, where the arguments between him and the female main character were borderline ridiculous. Could have been written better. All in all, interesting concept, and may be next time, less time should be spend on description of nature as oppossed to actually addressing the story. I can usually get through such a book in 2 days, this took nearly a month.

posted by SkatesNYC on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 758 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    descriptive - may contain spoiler alerts

    I have to agree with many reviews posted. The book was overly descriptive about irrelevant details, whereas one of the biggest mysteries was never resolved (perhaps a sequel). The back story was just a red herring for the main event it seems, and was poorly intertwined. The fact that the ending wasn't a "happy" one made for an interesting read. I found myself liking the main character all the way through until the end, where the arguments between him and the female main character were borderline ridiculous. Could have been written better. All in all, interesting concept, and may be next time, less time should be spend on description of nature as oppossed to actually addressing the story. I can usually get through such a book in 2 days, this took nearly a month.

    31 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Good beginning then downhill all the way

    The first part of the book is what draws one in. Then the investigation pretty much goes nowhere, or in circles. There is an old mystery and a new one and both seem to be related. The old, and more intersting one, is never really solved. The new one is solved almost like an aside. I came to dislike the self-centered, whining protagonist and felt badly for his partners. I would not recommend this book as a good read.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Very good book

    This was a very good book that kept your interest throughout. The only criticism I have is that there were some issues that seemed paramount to the story that were never resolved. I hate when authors do that!

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I just don't understand!

    I turned the page and expected another chapter, but I was disappointed. The book was done. I felt completely dissatisfied. What I thought was the biggest mystery of the book remained unsolved, while the mystery that I considered the secondary story was solved and wrapped up tightly in a bow. The sad thing about this was that I was really enjoying this book. I want to slap the author for not giving me what I wanted. However, I'd recommend this book because I'd like to know what others think of it. Did I miss something? Was I in a fugue....???

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I will start off my review with another review listed on the back of the book "Even smart people who should know better will be able to lose themselves in these dark woods."-Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review. I guess I'm not

    smart because I did not get lost in the woods and prefer the books that smart people know better not to read. My comment to Ms stasio is that the book's plot could not be further from your typical whodunit. The authors over use of detail and metaphors was a destraction, and had only built up my anticipation for an extordinary twist, sadly this book was as twisted as I-95.

    14 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing!

    I agree with many previous reviews, the descriptions were sometimes tedious and excessive. I found Rob, in the end to be whiny and annoying. The basic plot started out intriguing and then there were so many unfinished angles it lost its "thrill". I ended up finishing it only to be disappointed-what did happen "In the woods"? I can't believe we will never know. In an effort to find out, I started her second book, no mention of the woods but I am finding it to be a much better read-Cassie is a great character. Overall this one was very disappointing.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Mixed Feelings

    I really enjoyed this book. Characters well developed, good plot. As to the resolution, I am of two minds. The allusions to 'something' in the woods was never resolved which bothered me more than the fact that the dissappearance was not explained, either. I am a sophisticated enough reader to understand when something is meant to be left to the imagination. But it would have been helpful to have some explanation.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Good first novel

    I really enjoy the author's writing style. I was drawn into the story almost immediately. However, there is one really disappointing thing in this book. Let's just say, a major piece of the story line is left unexplained. She seemed to have nailed setting up the story and building the characters, but the climax and finish were a bit lacking, in my amateur opinion. However, I did find myself enjoying the main characters enough to want to run out and get the second book...so hopefully that says enough about this book and the author's potential.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    Disappointing

    I really thought this book was going to be great but was disaappointed overall. The character development was fabulous however, the story line lacked the same magic. I enjoyed the first 3/4 of the book so much that I just couldn't put it down. As the story moved along though, instead of gaining momentum it simply fizzled out. So too, did my interest.

    LOVED the charaters. The story, not so much.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Realistic and Believable

    This book was a good read. What I enjoyed most about this book is that it was very realistic and believable. The characters were well developed. I was easily able to relate to the emotions of the characters.
    The narrative made me feel like I was part of the novel. So many books disappoint me with an unrealistic ending but Into the Woods did not disappoint me. The story was true to life, with no easy answers, and left me wanting more. So I bought the next book in the series “The Likeness”.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    You'll hate yourself for wasting your time!

    What a colossal disappointment! The only reason I stuck with the somewhat predictable story was to get some resolution on the tragedy of the character's childhood....it never came! The plot is good, but predictable and the author is far too wordy for my taste. Don't waste your time on this one!

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Peeling an onion. . .

    I come late to Tana French, but no less eagerly. Her writing is lyrical, methodical, and evocative of all great Irish storytellers. Sure, no one does it more hauntingly than they, and Tana French should stand proud. I read it first for hunger's sake, and then again to savor the nuances, the twists and the deliciously hidden bits that seem so obvious. Sometimes in going into the wood, we can't see the forest. . . well, you know the rest. The story's end does not disappoint: it's all there---a dark, quick shadow.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Interesting Read

    The title and the haunting-like cover art of this book, "In the Woods," leads the reader to expect a sort of thriller. After reading the synopsis on the back cover, the reader is further intrigued by the idea of a psychological thriller to be unwound. However, the book takes the reader on a road of discovery along with the main character to solve a murder of a little girl that brings on suspicions of a link to a twenty-something-year-old case of three young children, where two mysteriously disappear and only one survives, the main character. The survivor, Adam Ryan, assigns himself to the case of the murdered girl to somehow solve his own forgotten history of that nightmarish day in the woods.

    Although the book's plot offers a few unexpected twists and turns in relation to the case of the murdered girl, it is more of a study of the main character and how he grew up dealing with this horrific event that stained his life and his search for answers. To some, this book may drag a little with irrelevant details, but it provides the reader of a clear picture of every step of the main character's thoughts and reasoning.

    This book does not necessarily end the way the synopsis leads one to believe, but it is an interesting journey with the main character in attempting to fill a void in the memory of his own past.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    mysterious

    In the Woods is a fantastic read. The story is about Katy Devlin, a twelve year old girl, who is found murdered on a nearby archaeological site. The detectives assigned to the case are fairly new, and one has a strange attachment to the site she was found. In fact, when he was a twelve year old boy, he lived by that same wood, and his two friends went missing and were never found. Was it a murder that stems back to that time twenty years ago? Was it an unrelated act of sexual abuse? The mystery unfolds as the novel sends you into many different ways of thinking. The end may surprise you, if not, keep you wanting more!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling Debut Mystery Novel

    This novel's first chapter features one of the very best opening paragraphs I've ever read - and I've read great books like a fiend for the past 39 years. Tana French's writing throughout is superlative. Very descriptive, evocative prose. Funny, too.

    The two detectives, one of whom narrates the story, are terrific characters - especially likeable and engaging - and I got very caught up with the two of them. Some of the other characters are particularly good, and often amusing, without crossing the line into caricature. The story is well-paced and detailed - so suspenseful that I found it nearly impossible to put down.

    My only complaint is that occasionally, during the first third of the story, the narrator makes self-referential comments that interrupt the flow and would do better to have been edited out. Here are two passages whose final sentences feel too self-conscious and interrupting to me:

    1. "One of them ... had got bored and started melting stuff onto a broken CD with a lighter flame. The result ... was surprisingly pleasing, like one of the less humorless manifestations of modern urban art. There was a food-stained microwave in one corner, and a small inappropriate part of me wanted to suggest that he put the CD in it, to see what would happen."

    2. "[One of the characters] struck me as the type who would say just about anything if he thought it would make you happy. I wished I had thought of asking him whether the guy [a suspicious-looking person] had been wearing stilettos."

    Those small flaws aside, the novel is absolutely terrific. A real page-turner. If you enjoy a good mystery as well as beautifully descriptive writing, this is for you. After reading this and French's _The Likeness: A Novel_, I'm very much looking forward to _Faithful Place: A Novel_.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No idea how this could be a bestseller

    I picked this book up yesterday and after the first page I forced myself to read the first chapter to at least give it a chance. However, I think that is all I can force myself to read; I am bringing it back today. I agree that it is overly "wordy"/descriptive and sounds like this author was just plain trying to hard.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Disappointed

    Too much was unfinished. Im shocked this is on b and n top 100 list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Amazing read

    Complicated story and could not put it down. These is not an easy read with a happy ending, but the characters are fully formed and the story is engaging.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I absolutely love this book and its characters, the descriptions

    I absolutely love this book and its characters, the descriptions of Dublin and the areas around it. Tara French is an excellent Irish story-teller. While the ending was a bit of a surprise (I thought I'd missed something)I figured it would carry over into a next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    avoid if you like tidy endings

    But choose if you love richly drswn characters and great prose

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 758 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38