Customer Reviews for

In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 760 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(226)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(77)

1 Star

(73)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Very good book

This was a very good book that kept your interest throughout. The only criticism I have is that there were some issues that seemed paramount to the story that were never resolved. I hate when authors do that!

posted by 1837634 on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

descriptive - may contain spoiler alerts

I have to agree with many reviews posted. The book was overly descriptive about irrelevant details, whereas one of the biggest mysteries was never resolved (perhaps a sequel). The back story was just a red herring for the main event it seems, and was poorly intertwine...
I have to agree with many reviews posted. The book was overly descriptive about irrelevant details, whereas one of the biggest mysteries was never resolved (perhaps a sequel). The back story was just a red herring for the main event it seems, and was poorly intertwined. The fact that the ending wasn't a "happy" one made for an interesting read. I found myself liking the main character all the way through until the end, where the arguments between him and the female main character were borderline ridiculous. Could have been written better. All in all, interesting concept, and may be next time, less time should be spend on description of nature as oppossed to actually addressing the story. I can usually get through such a book in 2 days, this took nearly a month.

posted by SkatesNYC on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Peeling an onion. . .

    I come late to Tana French, but no less eagerly. Her writing is lyrical, methodical, and evocative of all great Irish storytellers. Sure, no one does it more hauntingly than they, and Tana French should stand proud. I read it first for hunger's sake, and then again to savor the nuances, the twists and the deliciously hidden bits that seem so obvious. Sometimes in going into the wood, we can't see the forest. . . well, you know the rest. The story's end does not disappoint: it's all there---a dark, quick shadow.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    mysterious

    In the Woods is a fantastic read. The story is about Katy Devlin, a twelve year old girl, who is found murdered on a nearby archaeological site. The detectives assigned to the case are fairly new, and one has a strange attachment to the site she was found. In fact, when he was a twelve year old boy, he lived by that same wood, and his two friends went missing and were never found. Was it a murder that stems back to that time twenty years ago? Was it an unrelated act of sexual abuse? The mystery unfolds as the novel sends you into many different ways of thinking. The end may surprise you, if not, keep you wanting more!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling Debut Mystery Novel

    This novel's first chapter features one of the very best opening paragraphs I've ever read - and I've read great books like a fiend for the past 39 years. Tana French's writing throughout is superlative. Very descriptive, evocative prose. Funny, too.

    The two detectives, one of whom narrates the story, are terrific characters - especially likeable and engaging - and I got very caught up with the two of them. Some of the other characters are particularly good, and often amusing, without crossing the line into caricature. The story is well-paced and detailed - so suspenseful that I found it nearly impossible to put down.

    My only complaint is that occasionally, during the first third of the story, the narrator makes self-referential comments that interrupt the flow and would do better to have been edited out. Here are two passages whose final sentences feel too self-conscious and interrupting to me:

    1. "One of them ... had got bored and started melting stuff onto a broken CD with a lighter flame. The result ... was surprisingly pleasing, like one of the less humorless manifestations of modern urban art. There was a food-stained microwave in one corner, and a small inappropriate part of me wanted to suggest that he put the CD in it, to see what would happen."

    2. "[One of the characters] struck me as the type who would say just about anything if he thought it would make you happy. I wished I had thought of asking him whether the guy [a suspicious-looking person] had been wearing stilettos."

    Those small flaws aside, the novel is absolutely terrific. A real page-turner. If you enjoy a good mystery as well as beautifully descriptive writing, this is for you. After reading this and French's _The Likeness: A Novel_, I'm very much looking forward to _Faithful Place: A Novel_.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Amazing read

    Complicated story and could not put it down. These is not an easy read with a happy ending, but the characters are fully formed and the story is engaging.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I absolutely love this book and its characters, the descriptions

    I absolutely love this book and its characters, the descriptions of Dublin and the areas around it. Tara French is an excellent Irish story-teller. While the ending was a bit of a surprise (I thought I'd missed something)I figured it would carry over into a next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    avoid if you like tidy endings

    But choose if you love richly drswn characters and great prose

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    The book was flippin amazing

    The book was amazing
    Every turn held a new secret and that pulled me in
    I was kinda pissed off Cassie ended up with Sam
    Anyway read this story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Read the book

    I read this book when it was first published five years ago. I found it really compelling. True there are many descriptive passages and details, but I found that to add to the enjoyable complexity of the entire book. This is not your average who-done-it with a quick and easy read. It is dense reading, but well-written....more reminiscent of the density of Gillian Flynn or Wally Lamb. Readers who like that kind of close, intricate writing will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Hip hip...

    Poop durrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr merp merpity merp

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Love this series, gripping and exciting.

    Love this series, gripping and exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Suspensful, creepy, and thrilling

    Great book, I picked it up when borders was closing. I love murder cases and stories of that nature. I fell in love with the book, couldn't put it down. French really goes into detail with everything, it's like you ARE the main character. Definitely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Great book!!!

    I am an avid reader, but get tired of the same old crime/suspense books. I bought this book on sale, mostly because I liked the cover. I could not put it down! Half way though the book I found my copy was missing about 30 pages. I had to go back to B&N to exchange it, luckily they still had a couple copies left. I took it home and finished it the next day. Usually I can figure out "who dun it" about half way through a book but this one kept me guessing until the end.
    I have to give the author credit for being brave enough to write an "unhappy" ending. It was a breath of fresh air. The only predicable part of the book was how the relationship between the two detectives would end. I would recommend this book to anyone would likes crime/mystery fiction, but would like to try something a little different. I loved it and will definately re-read it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can not recommend this author enough.

    Tana French is a wonderful find in a new author. I started with In the Woods and absolutely loved it. I wrote down her name, hoping to find her next book as soon as it came out. The Likeness did not disappoint. She transports her readers....and makes them believe. Anxiously awaiting her next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    E. Ice

    Ice crept in...very very quietly. She was down in a hunters crouch, her eyes set sharply on the mouse five tail lengths before her. She crept forward, ears flicking for sounds. Gathering her haunches, she lept, using her powerful hind legs to leap. Landing on the mouse with a soft thud, she finished it off. "Voles voles voles," she hummed her favorite prey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Everyone read this review

    All of u should stop posting things about sex on here this is a public place for everyone and you are ruining it. I am with the waterford public police and everything that has ever been posted on here about sex will be traced and every poster who posted that will be fined 100 all the way to 1,000 it all depends how bad the comment is. Also any one under the age of 18 will have this go on their permanet record. So you better hope you dont get caught Thank you for your time Also there is one more thing keep comments for a certain book on that book. But do not worry people who do the other book thing are not introuble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Will not disappoint

    Captured my interest from the beginning and kept it.
    If you are a mystery reader you should enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Eyes

    Drops the kitten

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Dakota

    Stalks a large rabbit, pouncing on it and locking his jaws into it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Doom

    Your welcome. Pads back too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Ethan to becca

    Go to res 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 237 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12