Customer Reviews for

In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A Sweet and Triumphant Story

    A quick and fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For my 3rd grade daughter who is adopted from China, this was a great book to read.

    My daughter is now enjoying reading books about children whose families immigrated to this country (from Asia or Europe), leaving family behind. I had enjoyed reading some of Ms. Lord's adult books, so I was interested in reading this book with my daughter. My daughter asked a number of questions about situations that came up in the book ("why did he say that?", "what is XXX?", etc.) so I knew she was listening and engaged. There is a wonderful passage where the little girl recites the Pledge of Allegiance as best she can, given that she is still learning English. The book is written in a very straight forward manner and from the perspective of the little girl, so very accessible to elementary school children. However, given the wonderful discussions my daughter and I had about some of the passages in the book, I would recommend the book be read with a parent or in school. I donated our book to my daughter's third grade classroom, as it tied nicely into their China unit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    its a eye opener!

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson a little girl named Shirley Temple Wong sails out from her home in china to a new land called America. Her new home is in Brooklyn New York. Shirley has many wonders about this new land and curiosity but unfortunately Shirley doesn¿t know any English so it¿s very difficult for her to make new friends. But once Shirley hears about baseball that becomes her priority she falls in love with it. Shirley has a new hero Jackie Robinson an African American baseball player for the Brooklyn dodgers. Now at this time it was 1947 and Shirley would sit and listen to the radio and hear him play she loved it, she very fascinated by this sport. Shirley would go to school and think about baseball. She played it at school with the other kids she wasn¿t great at it because for one thing she couldn¿t really understand the kids but she tried. Later on in the book Shirley realizes America is the land of opportunity and able to achieve your dreams. The book was very humorous and interesting some parts weren¿t the best but I enjoyed it and I¿m sure whoever reads it will enjoy it to. So yes I would definitely recommend it to all ages. I liked that I really it into it I felt like I was inside experiencing what Shirley was doing and how she didn¿t understand English and just loving baseball and learning. I also liked that the book teaches about how America was the land of opportunity and shows how a black man the grandson of a slave can achieve so much and make a big difference In America. So yes go and find out more about this great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book was great, it was boring at first but then it got better. It nice to get a feel of what it was like to come into a new country and have to deal with a new language and culture. It was also a humorous book. It was a grand slam story and I think u should read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson was a fantastic book! I loved reading it so much! It was about a Chinese girl who moves to America with her mother. She has a really hard time learning English and speaking it. At first she didn¿t have any friends, but then she played baseball. She loved playing it and listening to it on the radio. Then she makes a lot of friends. This was a heartwarming story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    The year of the boar and Jackie Robinson is a great book because the book made me realize that even a black man who is a son of a slave can make a difference in the world because if Jackie Robinson hadn¿t tried to change the world¿s thoughts than Barry Bonds wouldn¿t even be playing in the MLB. I also loved how Shirley stood for herself because she didn¿t know English at first. This book made me feel like America wouldn¿t be the same if Jackie Robinson hadn¿t stood up for himself, just as Shirley did in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson was a good book, the first chapter was hard to understand. After that it was really good. I think it was a good book because it taught me a lot about immigrants. I think a lot of people can relate to Shirley by feeling like no one understands you. That is why I think In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson was a good book. It was a good book because it has good description about things. I think this book is a well told story about a young girl named Shirley. She moves from China and it is hard for her to learn the language. Her family likes it in America. Those are my thoughts about this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book was great, it was boring at first but then it got better. It nice to get a feel of what it was like to come into a new country and have to deal with a new language and culture. When I read this book I felt like I was traveling with Shirley and I was feeling her hardships. It was also a great book because I learned about the first African America to play baseball. If u want to learn more about this book u should read it is a great book. It is a grand slam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    In the Year of The Boar and Jackie Robinson was an ok book. I have read better books but it still was a good book to read. It made me feel happy to read this book. I couldn¿t wait to read the next page. This book was about a Chinese girl who came to America. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson was boring, the first chapter was probably the worst. After that it was really good. I think it was a good book because it taught me a lot about immigrants. I think a lot of people can relate to Shirley by feeling like no one understands you. That is why I think In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    The year of the boar and Jackie Robinson is a great book because the book made me realize that even a black man who is a son of a slave can make a difference in the world because if Jackie Robinson hadn¿t tried to change the world¿s thoughts than Barry Bonds wouldn¿t even be playing in the MLB. I also loved how Shirley stood for herself because she didn¿t know English at first. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book shows how it is for pepole to come to a new country and not speak the language and still fit in.If you like baseball historty it shows how Jackie Robinson.Broke the coler bayreer and how good a baseball player he is.It shows how the Chinees lived and thier culture.You should read this book its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    It was the best book with your class. It hit a homerun in my heart and it brought sadness in my face. This book shows that Shirley Temple Wong what it is to be a American in Brooklyn, New York. It shows Shirley learns to play stickball with friends and learn English in school. It also shows how Jackie Robinson plays in the major leagues with the Brooklyn Dodgers. This is my review about this book In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    heart warmer

    This book is a great book for many reasons. One because it shows people how much trouble people who immigrated during this time had to go through. Two because it shows how many people in America love competive sports. And three it has a lot of ups and downs but no matter what happens you can always get through it. This book is definitely a heart warmer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book was a great book, I liked it because I learned more about what it feels like when you are coming from a different a different country to America. This book was very interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone. If you like baseball then you will enjoy this book. I think YOU should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    my review

    I read this book in 5th grade at first the book was boring but it started to get better I am in the 6th grade now but my friends who are also in the 6th grade still say it was a good book so I recommend it to everyone form 4th grade- 6th grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    An Amazing Book

    I read this book for my Children's Literature class. It's a wonderful book. The descriptions beautifully blend cultural details into the story line. It's a story any child can relate to since addresses feeling a little out of place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    The best book I have ever read!!!

    You should read this book. i read in my 6th grade class and even my friend from China understand what Shirley Temple the girl is talking about. You might not understand the first chapter because it is the writers point of veiw but, if you like violence this will be a great or wonderful book for you to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    GOOD BOOK!

    In the Year of the boar and jackie robinson is a pretty good book. If you are a fan of baseball read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2