Customer Reviews for

In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    This book was read in my class over 17 years ago and it still st

    This book was read in my class over 17 years ago and it still sticks in my mind. An exceptional example of perfectly written children's literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    WOW!!!!

    I read this book because my teacher wanted our class to. I thought it was amazing and so did my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    this book was a grand slam

    This book was grand slam! This book was so cool. I loved it. Jackie Robinson¿s courage was my favorite this book. I like baseball too so that made me enjoy this book even more. I recommend this book to all ages. So go out and buy this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    I loved this book it relly tought me about imigration and harship.This book is very important to me. this book made we want to be a charecter it made me want to be in that story. Al in al i think this book was awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    In this book I learned that it can be tough to come to a different state and can¿t talk the language. I learned that you can¿t judge a person by the way they look or talk. It matters what¿s on the inside. I think everyone should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    IT WAS A HIT!!!!!!

    This book was a hit in my heart!!!! I recommend this book this book for grades 3-12 grade. After I read this book I realized just because someone black doesn¿t mean they don¿t have dreams. Just like Jackie Robinson playing professional baseball. Also anther reason why I liked this book because Shirley was like Jackie by the way she never gave up! If you like baseball and enjoy adventure you should READ THIS BOOK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book was an inspiration!! It really taught me more about how hard it was for immigrants! Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson also told me the hardships of the people that were black and other back rounds. I also learned that back then when Jackie Robinson played baseball people would call him the worst names and make fun of him. This book also told me that it was hard for the Chinese immigrants to make friends. I recommend you to read this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    THE GREATEST BOOK!

    THIS BOOK IS A GREAT BOOK. THE BOOK WAS EXCITING AND ADVENTEROUS.THE BOOK IS ABOUT A GIRL WHO MOVES FROM CHINA TO AMERICA, I LIKE THAT BECAUSE I LOVE TO TRAVEL. THE YEAR OF THE BOAR AND JAKIE ROBINSON IS GREAT BOOK BECAUSE ANYONE CAN ENJOY IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book showed me that people can be very different than you. It showed me that you shouldn¿t judge a book by its cover. I think this book was a wonderful story. I thought when Shirley said the pledge of Allegiance wrong was funny. I hope others who read this book will enjoy it as much as I did and others who haven¿t read will read it and enjoy laughing and reading it with the love that I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    It is a hit!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is a grand slam. I really liked learning about how hard it was for the chineese imigrants and how one person can make a difference. This also talked about a young girl named Shirley who immigrated from China and her diffuculties and thrives through her life in America. If you are baseball fan take this book and read it and you will find you can not put it down!This book is also great because it talks about Jackie Robinson, grandson of a slave can make a difference and others who are different cultures.Read this book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    Jackie Robinson Review The book In the Year and The Boar and Jackie Robinson made me feel like I should learn more about my culture and that its hard for people when they come to a new country or state because they don¿t know how to speak that language very well. This book also made me feel like I should be nice to a person that does not know very much of that language and try to be friends with that person. In the Year and the Boar and Jackie Robinson made me a different person. How it made me a different person is that it made me feel like I should get to know a culture instead trying to make fun of that person just because of their culture. Everyone should read this book, it is the most fun and interesting book I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I read this book in a literature class at school. At first it was really boring but then as I got into it it started to get better and better. This book shows that you should never make fun of anybody because of there race. It also shows that anybody can do anything they want to do. I would recommend this book to any age!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson is a wonderful book for all ages. It is very funny and also heart touching. You can like the Chinese culture and baseball and love this book as I did. Shirley doesn¿t fit in at first, but when her classmates get to know her she makes many friends. There are many problems in the story, buy Shirley seems to get through them very quickly. This book made me feel like learning more about Jackie Robinson and the Chinese culture. I also felt like reading it again. This book hit a grand slam in my heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book is one of my first I liked because I like to play Baseball and even people who dont like Baseball will adore this book I highly recomened it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    This book was awesome! I liked it because it teaches kids to respect other people. At first it was a little bit boring but it got way, way better. I like the way the author had Shirley do babysitting. After I read it, I said to myself, what lessons can I learn from this? Lessons kids learn are that just because people look different doesn¿t mean they are aliens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    It was great!

    I thought this book was great. It didn¿t make me laugh. It reminds me of my grandma¿s migration. I was happy when she made it. I recommend this book for most readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    Marco Franco Jackie This book was the best, it¿s fie star quality. This book is about how Jackie Robinson brook the racial barrier. This book is also about how Shirley temple wong migrated from china to America. This book is great and is the best I have Ever read. I recommend this book for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    the coolest book in the world

    I thought the book was interesting because it shows me how different cultures act in many ways. In this book it explains how Shirley Temple Wong Becomes interested in Jackie Robinson and how she wants to learn about him. In the story it also explains how when she comes to NY it is hard for her because they spooked a different language. I think this book is a great book for people because you learn about the different cines culture. This book mad me feel very happy because at the end she got to met Jackie Roberson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson

    Daniel 6th grade This book was a really good book. Some interesting things was when Shirley immigrates from China to America. I also like that there was some history about baseball and about Jackie Robinson. I know that it had to be hard to move to a different place and a far place from home. This was a really good book because it shows you how hard it is to get used to a new place. I really thought it was really cool when Shirley met Jackie Robinson. Some parts in the book are kind of weird. I thought this book gave a homerun inside me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Three cheers for Shirley Temple Wong

    This book hit a homerun! Shirley¿s best on the team! When I read this book it was very exciting! There was no knowing what Shirley was going to do next. She always likes to help people but some how it always manages to take a wrong turn. She tries so hard to make so many new friends but it is very hard. But then another new girl comes and Shirley is very happy to see her. I can¿t say anymore because that would ruin the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3