Customer Reviews for

Inappropriate Men

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Short and simple - did not like this one. Way too much language, sex and the like. I was just darn annoyed that a married woman honestly started an affair with another guy.

    If you are a fan of the vulgar, this one is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    I thought it would get better .......

    This book had its moments of humor and Sidney is a somewhat funny, powerful character. The best parts of the book were her cooking and interaction with friends such as Parker and her brother Adam. Other than that, I was superbly annoyed with her constant immoral adultery, whining and poetry. I skipped through all the poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Thought I was never going to get through it

    At first this book was witty and funny with rather clever writing. However, after about a third of the book it seemed to drone on and never seemed to get to any real plot except for Sidney's tiring rantings about Geoff. I was rather annoyed that Sidney spoke of almost nothing else. I wasn't sure if I would ever make it through the entire book but I trudged through as I hate to start a book and not read to the conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Best Chick Lit

    Stacey Ballis has really outdone herself. This book made me laugh, cry, and hungry all at the same time! I read it in two days, and I can't wait for Sleeping Over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    I had high hopes

    I really did have high hopes with this book. I was excited to finally have a novel based on a 'real' woman. I'm really not sure what happened, but halfway through the book I just got very annoyed with Sidney and just couldn't get myself to finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Ever laugh so hard you dropped the book?

    'Cause lemme tell you, I did that several times while reading this one. And when I wasn't dropping the book, I was dropping my jaw at the guts of both the main character and the writer. I love that the heroine is vulnerable, and still able to kick a little butt when necessary...I love that she writes poetry and cooks and buys little tables and does all those little things we all do, things that take a character from just a fictional creation to someone you wish you could hang out with (and I mean that less in a 'How come strong-but-silent-brooding-heroes only exist in romance novels?' way, and more in a 'Dang, what a cool girl!' way). The plotline is great, the writing sophisticated but not stilted, the ending is deliciously ambiguous (maybe a sequel?), and the characters (obviously) are human and irresistible. This is a fun, worthwhile, substantial book, and anybody who doesn't read it and fall in love instantly is crazy. Or has bad taste. Or both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    I would rather watch paint dry

    I was so hopeful this was going to be a great new book in chick lit, boy was I disappointed. I only made it half way through the book. The poems got on my last nerve. The character was an obsessive baby. I would not let my dog read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    Pack A Lunch!

    Be prepared. Once you start Inappropriate Men, you are not going to want to stop. Keep food and beverages nearby, turn off the phone, and settle in for a book that is going to make you laugh out loud, get a little teary-eyed, and most importantly, root for the heroine with all your might. The perfect way to kick off your Spring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    A must read!

    I loved this book! The story is fresh and exciting, the characters relatable, and it makes me miss my old home town of Chicago! I would recommend it to anyone who is tired of the same old chicklit. Keeping my fingers crossed for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    This book is a treat without calories!

    It is hard to believe that this is the first book that Stacey Ballis has written. Not only is the format clever but the character development is outstanding. You feel like Sidney, the main character, is sitting in a chair next to you telling you her life story and you just don't want her to stop. I just did not want the book to end, but I also could not put it down. Finally, one night I nodded off to sleep with about 50 pages left to go. I was looking forward to spending an hour or two sitting outside the next day with Sidney seeing how things ended, but I could not wait. I woke up at 3 am that morning and had to finish. And the ending was even better than the beginning. So instead of reading the rest of the book that day, I sat down and made a list of everyone I thought would like the book and either sent them a copy or an email telling them where to find the book. Stacey Ballis is an author that is worth keeping your eye on. My single life was so boring compared to Sidney's, but I could still relate to it. Anyone who has ever been on a date or knows someone who has will find themselves identifying with Sidney at some point in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Real Life

    In real like woman aren't a perfect size 0, with perfectly unattached (and desirable) gorgeous men falling at their feet, they don't have a clothing budget that rivals the national debt of some countries and they do quite often break the rules. Sid is the perfect real woman, so she's a size 24 - who cares? so her marriage fails - who's hasn't? so she gets involved with a married man - obviously this *does* happen... I loved the quick pace of the book and the backstory reflections, the poetry perfectly captured Sid's moods - I found it to be a very enjoyable read... great job, can't wait for the next one !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    FANTASTIC READ!! A MUST BUY!!

    This book was outstanding. A must read for women everywhere!! I will definitely read anything by Stacey Ballis. She is coming out with a new book in April 2005 called 'Sleeping Over', I can't wait. Excellent, Excellent, Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    Loved it, loved it, loved it!

    I'm not much of a reader. I lack both the discipline and attention span. However, I LOVED this book!! It didn't even feel like I was reading. It was almost as if I was sitting across from Sidney, just talking about her life. A life much like mine that it was almost scary. I felt as though I was reading about my own life. The struggles Sid had with her married lover floored me, because I am in a similar relationship. Her feelings about Geoff I could really identify with. Anyway, Stacey did a wonderful job with this book...and I look forward to reading more from her in the very near future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2004

    This is chicklit with a brain!

    I keep reading chicklit novels, hoping I'll find one as smart as the women who are supposed to be reading them. I found this book in the store last week, and decided to take another chance. Am I ever glad I did! Sidney, the book's heroine, is smart, funny and dealing with problems that any woman who is or has been single can relate to. I cheered out loud for her when she finally...well, I'm not going to give that away. I say, treat yourself to this book! You won't be sorry, but you may be unable to go back to most chicklit again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Fantastique!

    This book was so great - it was such a nice change from the same-old-same-old chick lit! Makes me want to visit Chicago and visit all the cool places she wrote about. Check out the author's website for some of the great recipes you read about in the book. Can't wait for more books by Stacey Ballis!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1