Customer Reviews for

Inca Gold (Dirk Pitt Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Classic Cussler!

    This happened to be the first Cussler novel that I read and I have since read all of his books. Action packed from start to finished I couldn't put it down and neither will you. The combination of historical fiction, adventure, and ruthless organized crime makes the story irresistible, despite some hard to believe feats by a super computer. All in all, one of Clive's best and well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    What A Ride!!!

    I can't remember the last time I have read a book that I could not literally put down...If the constant action and adventure does not suck you in, how about something with so much going on having a very original and on going plot. With most books you read you get either/or, but not with Inca Gold. I have read this book three times already and each time I still get excited during the climax scenes. You can't do better than Clive Cussler books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    Great writer, great books, read one!

    I grew up in a house that loved to read. All except for me. When I was a teenager, I got a job at a bookstore. There I read my first Dirk Pitt novel. I have since then read a few more and can't wait to collect them all. Clive Cussler is the only writer who I've found I love to read. So if you're looking to introduce someone to reading who likes bond-esque thrills give them a Cussler novel. I promise they will enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    By Far the Best book I Ever Read

    This is only the second book i have read by Mr.Cussler. It took me two days to read over a weekend because I couldn't put it down.My first book was 'Alantis Found wich was a great book.Even the end of the book wich i thought was gonna get dull kept you reading till the last word. I also like how Mr.Cussler sticks himslef in the stories in a sly way.I deffintely recommend this book, but not to those with a weak heart.I also recommend 'Atlantis Found' wich was a great book. And as a last word i hope Mr.Cussler 'keeps'm Coming'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    WOW

    This was my first Clive Cussler book. A friend introduced me to him after our many anthropology courses about Meso and South America. I could not put this book down from the beginning. I loved the history intertwined throughout the entire book. The non stop action kept me turning the pages. I am now hooked on Dirk, and I am on my 6th Cussler book in the 3 months since I finished Inca Gold. So far, Inca Gold, by far, remains my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Treasure hunting, spies, murder, and history combined can make t

    Treasure hunting, spies, murder, and history combined can make the best of adventure stories. It never fails that Clive Cussler books bring you just that. Inca Gold is a wonderful tale of adventure and Incan history all wrapped up into one.

    Dirk Pitt is called upon to rescue two tapped divers in a South American sinkhole. What he finds is more than what he bargained for, and it leads him into a study of Sir Francis Drake and Incan gold. One of the great things about Cussler's books is how they can take different historical events and connect them with threads that are actually believable.

    Drake was known for his harassment of the Spanish fleet. In this story, he captures the richest of all Spanish galleons that not only held riches but also held the key to an even bigger treasure. He just did not realize what he possessed. In an attempt to get the treasure to his queen, Elizabeth, one of his ships with the treasure key is lost. Only the ranting of a crazed man found in the Amazon gives a hint as to what happened to the ship, the crew, and the treasure.

    A race begins between Pitt and his comrades and those of an international artifact smuggling ring. Each is determined to find the lost gold of an ancient civilization called the Chachapoyans. Ancient cities that were lost to the world are discovered as well as mummies that tell of historical voyages.

    The tale is a fascinating read and is based on many historical facts. The Chachapoyans did exist as well as Sir Francis Drake and the ship that he captured, the Nuestra Señora de la Concepción. The rest of the story is a well developed tale that gives history a little more adventure.

    Though the vast majority of the book is fiction, it is based on historical events. This is what makes reading a Cussler book so entertaining. As you read the adventure, you are also given a history lesson. Though you need to do some research as you go along to help discern the lines of where fact and fiction part ways.

    A wonderful read that educates as well. What I liked the most about the book and other Pitt adventures is that it gets me digging into the history and learn more about the people and events that are written about. The fiction prompts an inquiry into the fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    A Dirk Pitt Novel

    Just like Tom Clancy, Clive Cussler written books for young adults and adults. Each day, The Inca Gold finds into the treasure. Clives likes to read Tom Clancy books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Classic Adventure

    I was never a major reader until I picked up Inca Gold, which was my first Cussler novel. I read it straight through on a plane trip to Japan. At no point did I want to sleep or put the book down. The whole book has an Indian Jones feeling, just fun action and adventure. Certainly recommended from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2001

    CUSSLER CAN WRITE

    Another action-packed adventure from Mr. Cussler. Fast-paced adventure at its best. Great locales and a proven character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    Just One Great Book!

    This was the first book of his I've ever read...and it just makes me want to go out and buy more! Dirk Pitt is the perfect hero. I would tell anyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    Very Thrilling

    Clive has outdone himself again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    6 Stars

    Inca Gold was a truly through novel. Cussler is able to create worlds that threaten the main character but satisify the reader. I was literally unable to put it down. This novel should be given at least six stars. Feel free to e-mail me and ask questions about other Cussler works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2001

    Exciting, can't wait to turn the page!!!

    I enjoyed this book that has kept me tensed and I never felt like putting it down. Clive Cussler uses his knowledge to produce great works. Everyone should read it if they like adventure books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    Page Turner!!!

    This is the first Clive Cussler book I've read and I'm hooked! Dirk Pitt is a likeable hero everyone can relate too! I'm looking forward to the next Dirk Pitt book, and then the next, and the next.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    Breathless after 1 chapter

    There was so much action and suspense in the beginning of this book I truly felt exhausted after reading the 1st 2 chapters. My 1st Dirk Pitt book-got 3 more lined up and can't wait!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Amazing!!

    Pitt is on top of things as always. Pitt and Giordino make an awesome team. Cussler does an wonderful top of bringing all of his characters together to make a big adventure. It's a treasure hunt just to see what's going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    INCA GOLD IS SOLID GOLD

    I didn't think I have enjoyed a book this much in quite a while. This book has it all.Edge of your seat thrills, great well detailed storyline, and a great group of different types of people that blend with each other like none I've ever read before.I have only read two of Mr. Cussler's books, but believe me I won't stop untill I have read them ALL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2