Customer Reviews for

Incarceron (Incarceron Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 411 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Creative, Brilliant, Different.

When I first started reading this I was concerned. Because I knew it would be different from my usual choices for reading. Which usually were all about vampires, werewolves, ghosts, fallen angels, etc. But I am incredibly happy that I took a chance on it and read it. It...
When I first started reading this I was concerned. Because I knew it would be different from my usual choices for reading. Which usually were all about vampires, werewolves, ghosts, fallen angels, etc. But I am incredibly happy that I took a chance on it and read it. Its amazing!

In the beginning your introduced to Claudia's world and Finn's. Claudia lives Outside the prison, but things are not perfect for her. Her world is frozen in time, growth, progress, age, are all forbidden. And everyone has to adhere to "Protocol". Anything out side of Era is illegal, so basically technology of any kind. Claudia is the warden of Incarcerons daughter, and she has been preparing for an arranged marraige to a Prince named Caspar for many years. But she can't stand him, and desperatly wants out of the wedding. She also is very curious about Incarceron, her father never talks about it, and no one knows where it is. So she decides that with the help of her tutor Jared, she is going to break into her fathers private study. A room she's never seen and no one but her father goes into, and when he does go in he seems to be there for very long periods of time. When the chance arrives, she breaks in, but to her disappointment there isnt much to see. But she does find a crystal key, in a drawer that opened when she said the password "Incarceron".

Incarceron is a vast, dark and dangerous place. The prison watches everyone with red eyes that are everywhere. It can create, destroy, and Incarceron can even Speak. Finn lives inside the prison and has no memory of his past, but he believes he came from Outside. After meeting a woman who recognized the marking on his wrist, he decides he has to know what she knows about it. The woman tells him that she simply noticed that the mark on his wrist matches the mark on a crystal she and some others found. Once Finn gets ahold of the crystal he recognizes it as a key.

Claudia and Finn soon discover that their keys hold more power than they were aware of. They figure out that with them they can communicate with each other. Claudia immediatley decides she must help Finn Escape. And Finn finally having proof that there is an outside, with the help of his oathbrother Keiro, who is arrogant and all too aware of his good looks, And the wise Sapient, Gildas, set out on an adventure through Incarceron to find the way out. Just as one legendary man named Sapphique was said to have done long ago.

This book is suspensful and inspiring, it is a book that will stay with you after you've finished. And I believe that some of the most powerful lines were delivered by the prison itself. Like when it said, "Can you even dream of being trapped inside your own mind, watching only those that inhabit it? They made me powerful and they made me flawed."

I highly recommend this book to anyone, and I hope that this review was helpful.

posted by Amber17 on February 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

A Non-Vision Visionary

The initial idea for Incarceron was amazing, but I don't feel that Fisher executed that vision very well. I think she just tried to cram too much into the novel, and didn't take the time to expand on certain ideas. I never got a clear picture of Incarceron, so I am left...
The initial idea for Incarceron was amazing, but I don't feel that Fisher executed that vision very well. I think she just tried to cram too much into the novel, and didn't take the time to expand on certain ideas. I never got a clear picture of Incarceron, so I am left disappointed.

If you want an excellent read in this genre, try Hunger Games by Collins!

posted by BluHawk on February 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    I bought this book because of the The London Times review on the cover that said, "One of the best fantasy novels written in a long time." I think it was a good read but I don't think it lived up to that review. Incarceron was a challenging read. At times I was confused and really had to focus to grasp what was going on, especially in the beginning. It takes a while to come to an understanding of the terminology and to catch your bearings to understand the world inside this book. It seemed at times that Fisher had too much going on with not enough explanation. She definitely takes liberties with the science fiction aspect. At times it had the feeling that anything goes, whatever the characters needed to get out of their predicament. But I like the complexities of the characters and how they relate to each other. I feel invested in their outcome and I'm definitely looking forward to Sapphique, the sequel, to find out what happens.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was a little bored with this one

    I read the first 150 pages of this book and then walked away for two weeks. I just was kind of bored with it. I think that it is just not my style of book. I also was a little confused as to whether the reader is suppose to be rotting for Finn and Claudia to end up together. Is Attia a possible love match for Finn? Does Claudia have a thing for Jarrod? I know that there is another book so I guess if I really want to know I can just read that but..I just don't know if I can do it. I can see how some might love the book. There is action, adventure, mystery, etc.So if you love it great! If you don't.I feel you.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, with an exception.

    When I first got this book, it was because the description was extremely captivating. My Dad also told me that lots of people said it was the new Harry Potter. Honestly, I think that is wrong. This book was entertaining, thrilling, and edgy, but it lacked that wow factor that Harry Potter had. When I read harry potter, I was amazed by Rowling's imagination. It was simple brilliant, the way everything tied together in the end. Incarceron is a VERY good book, but not quite as satisfying as Harry Potter, Eragon, and Twilight. The two main characters didn't interact as much as i would have liked, but the story does end well.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hmmm..

    This book over all was very well thought out. The story lacked but the imagination was brilliant. I couldn't think of a more functioning prision as the one in Incarceron. The plot was phenominal and the characters were alright. At some points in the story it was brilliant then at others it was dissapointing. But a nice fatasy thriller. It is also confusing at first but becomes all clear as you progress into the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    It's okay...

    This book is pretty good. Mostly, however, it's confusing yet obvious, and sometimes introduces details that were never mentioned before, and tries to make sense of them. Overall, the concept is fascinating, but the author mostly dulls down the wonder. If you're going to read this book, get it from the library or from a friend. DON'T pay the ten bucks for it. I hope this review helped see the TRUE nature of the book. I'm not saying it's bad, but it could be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, but not as great as planned... :(

    The cover art and summery of this book made it really intriguing but, it was confusing, the characters weren't believable, stuff was left unexplained, and the action seens could have been more intense. Don't get me wrong, it's a good book just not one for rereading. That's all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    I dont know...

    It jumps around to much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I went into this not really knowing what to expect. I had a lot

    I went into this not really knowing what to expect. I had a lot of people tell me that the book was ZOMG FANTASTIC and they loved it, while I had another group of people tell me that it was alright.

    I have to side with the people who told me it was alright.

    Why? Well, I have to admit - I LOVED the world Catherine created. I was easily sucked into that; the world inside Incarceron, the court politics outside of it, the Era they were stuck in. That was fantastic.

    But one of the main parts of the plot (Giles/Finn) was sadly predictable. As the book went on, it was easy to pluck out what was going to happen. I only missed one plot point involving Claudia, but even then I wasn't overwhelmed by it.

    I connected to Claudia and Finn, which was a good thing - they were the main characters of the story, after all. I didn't really like any of the other characters, Jared aside.

    And I didn't get into the writing - I was more into it at the beginning then I was at the end, surprisingly, though the action picked up as the book moved on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Interesting

    I was a bit confused in the beginning.... Okay I was really confused! Although, it turned oyt to be a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    There definetly was a twist...

    This book was a good idea, but the execution was slightly askew. I often found myself skimming over whole paragraphs that were nothing but analogy, and hoping that there would be some more clear description of action instead if "she felt as if her world were like a _________" and "the leaves swirled like a ______ ________ in a ________ " for chapters it felt like. Check out The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross or The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima :) hope this was helpful! Also read or reread The Hobbit before it comes out in theatres this winter!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    It was worth reading I really wasn't in love with the book. I th

    It was worth reading
    I really wasn't in love with the book. I thought the begining was really slow. But it picks up evencauly. I didnt hate it though either, it not one of my favorites. Its not really my tast, but it was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    incarceron

    the first hundred pages r really confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Unique but forgettable

    The cover of "Incarceron" was the first thing that got my attention. Its beautiful shining key against a dark background made it stand out from the usual flowers, eyes, and brooding models. I've read many books where I could accurately predict what would happen after reading a few chapters or even the back cover.."Incarceron" isn't one of them. This book hooked me from the start and I thought I had the characters, their motives, and Incarceron's secrets figured out but I was constantly surprised. Catherine has created an imaginative yet believable world full of I-didn't-see-that-coming twists. If you want a book that is completely different from anything you've ever read, this is the one. No vampires, shape shifters, witches, fairies, or teenage love triangles in the plot but even without the usual it's a worthwhile read. "Incarceron" is full of suspense, mystery, action and adventure where the character's hopes and fears will have you rooting for their victories. This book did have its drawbacks for me. It's not easy for me to read books that have words with questionable pronunciations and "Incarceron" has enough of them such as; Sapienti, Comitatus, and Jormanric. I spent a few seconds longer than necessary trying to figure out how to say them correctly. I want to read the sequel "Sapphique" to see what happens to the other characters. That being said I give "Incarceron" 3/5 stars. I liked the uniqueness of the story and would recommend it to others but it isn't a favorite and I know I won't reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Hi!

    Hello people of the NOOKnet! I am wondering, what is the minimum age I should be to read this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Pretty good second one sapphique is way better!!!

    The beginning of this book is so boring but once you get past that towards the middle it gets interested its not a book i would read again though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    entertaining but...

    this book kept me reading the enitre time! i did enjoy it very much but it did have some emotional chemistry between characters that really never blossomed. adventurous, but lacking in depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very slow and dry but an interesting concept and world

    The world building and concept of the book was very interesting. It took me by surprise when I found out all is not what it seems Outside. However, it disappointed me as well. It never occurred to me that it was in a futuristic setting and that little surprise took me a while to get used to. I did like how Incarceron had different types of scenery and settings, literally it was a little world of its own. That was interesting and a fascinating read.

    The political intrigue within the Haavarna Court was interesting and fun to read. I liked how Claudia managed herself through all the mind games yet still managing to keep herself intact and alive. I really did enjoy reading about Claudia. She had the wits and the determination to keep going. Finn, I didn't really enjoy reading so much. I'm not sure why, he just didn't really grow on me as a character. Keiro on the other hand was a much more entertaining read even though he had flaws that made him look like a total complete jerk. He was more exciting to read about than Finn.

    Despite these well done characters, and the concept of the story was interesting and different, the story started off a little too slowly for me, and it got confusing at times. What frustrated me was, there were so many questions I had, only to find out after reading 448 pages, that none of the questions really were answered and you're back to square one. So not only was the book dry, you're left with a wide open ending. Although the pace did pick up in the last half of the book, this could have definitely been a better read. I'm really not sure why it took so long for the plot to move forward, but those that want a quick story won't find it here.

    Am I going to read the sequel? yes. I did not read 448 pages for nothing. Call me stubborn, but despite slow movement of the plot in the book I still want to know what happens. If it weren't for such well written characters I probably would not have continued reading this book until the end. However, I do encourage those that want something different to read to pick this up. It's most certainly something I haven't read before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Nice

    I was very lost at the beginning of this book. It didn't help that it kept switching point of view between two characters in two separate worlds. I did enjoy it once I was halfway through. If you can hang on until then, I think you'll like it. I will be rereading this to make sure I didn't miss any information that might be vital to the plot of the next book. This book was slightly predictable, once I knew what was going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    it was okay

    This book was okay. I have definitely read better ones. The story seemed to drag on a bit and I found the characters a little boring. Some people might like it, but I thought it was okay. Not brilliant, but fine. The story and setting is interesting. I recommend it as a simple read if you are just passing the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4